We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German groups and Ex Prime ministers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“German groups and Ex Prime ministers”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very pleasing, very nice staff, lovely pool, bad location, polite German group of 20, very annoying group of men including ex prime minister, improvised karaoke making the restaurant unbearable and police and security in every corridor 24 hours a day. But they gave us a free lunch because we had to cancel our dinner because of the noise. Over all. Very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik Valdema... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    175
    45
    11
    11
See reviews for
156
378
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and two children (20 & 16). We all found the hotel to be very relaxing, the staff smiling and helpful, rooms well appointed and great food in the restaurants. Looking forward to returning there when possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KASW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I visited the Ratilanna last weekend for the Songkran water festival and it was a great experience from start to finish. Only a ten minute drive from the airport we arrived to check in and received a mini tour of the hotel from a very friendly member of staff. On being shown to our room we were stunned by the huge bathroom complete with personal water feature next to the bath alongside a TV! Bedroom was truly 5 star with a big cosy bed, warm wooden flooring/traditional room feel plus a balcony with a sofa big enough for two to relax in the sun. Breakfast was very good including eggs cooked to order, both Thai and Western options on offer plus cereal, salads, freshly cooked pancakes and toppings. The pool area was really luxurious comprising of a large pool including jacuzzi and a sheltered area with comfy seats for a drink in the evening. Whilst the hotel is a couple of Km outside of the city centre we walked on both days which took approx 30mins or its a short Tuk Tuk (100bhat) ride away, which we felt was worth it since it increased the peace and tranquility of the resort. For those who enjoy a late night tipple in a more lively bar there is also a bar called the sisters which is literally next door to the Ratilanna and stays open late with live music.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangkokBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for three nights when visting Chiang Mai in March 2013. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the service was equally as impressive. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated with such beautiful wood work. I could not have been happier with my stay here. I would cetainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Chiang Mai area. Oh and if you want to go over to the night market they can take you by shuttle so I wouldn't worry so much about the distance to the market. Overall just excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toya6878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Chiang Mai in November 2012. The hotel is centrally located and right on the river, with close proximity to the markets and all that Chiang Mai has to offer. The rooms are huge, with classic Thai style decor and all of the amenities. Our room had its own lounge and dining area, and also a balcony with lovely chairs looking over the large pool. The food and drinks service at both the restaurants and pool area was excellent, as was the quality of food, although the breakfast was at times a little lacklustre. My only criticisms of the hotel were that there is only one elevator (at one end of a long hall), and this makes for a lengthy entry and exit. Also, the staff were all very young, and while enthusiastic, were perhaps not as attentive or professional as one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. I have paid much more for lesser accommodation, and the Rati Lanna rates high on my list of hotels to stay at in Thailand. Overall, we have stayed in Chiang Mai 20 times over the years, had a great stay at the Rati Lanna, and will no doubt return on our next trip to northern Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ra_The_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked this hotel not really knowing what to expect ! Our room was the largest we had ever stayed in and the bathroom was to die for - a waterfall in the wall !! Food was wonderful as was the service. Eating on the terrace made each breakfast and dinner a perfect experience. So many perfect little touches around the room. Superb - definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowstag21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just kept walking around saying, "Oh my God!" over and over. The room was a corner room overlooking the infinity pool that gave onto the brown river beyond. Everything that other reviewers have said about the waterfall in the bathroom, the balcony, and the other amenities, I heartily agree with. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They arranged transport to the amazing Night Market. The temple in the hotel was beautiful and peaceful. It was an oasis in an otherwise busy, rather dirty city.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,980 reviews
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing