We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel experience in Chiang Mai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel experience in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Ratilanna for 4 nights prior to departing for a trip to Laos. We had a great room and the service was spot on. The breakfast overlooking the river was excellent as was the service. We booked an excursion through the hotel and we were quite pleased with the guide and the transport. We had a Thai massage in the spa; it was super. Next time in Chiang Mai will find us at the Ratilanna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankR_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    173
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
146
368
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked this resort for two nights through a discount website. Reviews on this site were reasonably favourable but did not prepare us (Thai wife & I) for what we found.

From the minute we entered the lobby we were impressed with the staff, service, layout, facilities & location of the resort. We literally high-fived once we were alone in our river view room. Could not believe we had scored such a great deal.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night. It was a Brazillian BBQ style buffet but with the meats delivered to the table. Quality and service were great and price very reasonable; certainly way less than Bangkok rates.

Breakfast is served riverside on a terrace with indoor and outdoor seating options. There is a good range of items with my only gripe being an absence of bacon and low quality pork sausages that are not in keeping with the classiness of the rest of the resort.

The resort has a boat and offers a number of short cruise options on the river. We took a romance cruise and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is pricey but worth it. It would spoil the surprise and delight of others to reveal the detail but we are sure you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoganInParasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have booked Ratilanna as our hotel during our 11 days golf holiday in Ratilanna.
We received a Deluxe room in the 4th Floor. All rooms have a balcony with a Thai Day-Bed to chill with the relaxing sound of the water fountains/games.

We particularly enjoyed the bar/lounge with river view and the relaxing ambience of the resort.

I tried a back massage and the spa has very nice suites with shower, bathtub, steam bath.
The massage was very well done as well.

The internet is free and no code is necessary, which is a great plus, even though some areas have bad coverage (breakfast area).

The breakfast buffet has a very nice choice of cooked meals, croissants, muffins, juices and fruits.

We have tried both restaurants (thai and brazilian buffet) and both had good quality food for the price offered.

Throughout the holiday, the staff was very helpful, in all areas. From the restaurants, bars, front desk, concierge,... We could have not asked more.

For Christmas and New Year they organised parties with outside guests as well.
Both were buffets, with very good food prepared in front of you, but not really my preference of event, but seems that locals really enjoyed.

We liked the location as well as it is not too far from the night bazaar, but in a quiet area.
just around the corner there are 2 local restaurants with live music (Sisters with of the singers looking like a thai reincarnation of Elvis, we only had drinks here and we enjoyed). The local restaurant Baan Rim Naan is about 200 m from the Hotel and offers very good thai food (spicy...) and is always packed with Thai guests. If you continue for another 500 meter (you need a tuk yuk) there is the Rak Than Am, which is a restaurant on the river on a rebuilt Lanna House which offers wonderful thai food (less spicy, more foreigners here).

Room Tip: If available I would rather take a room from 2nd floor or above. If you are on the first floor there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A great resort in a quiet location on the Ping river about 4km to the ancient city main gate. We booked a suite (that overlooked the pool) and were very impressed with the size and layout of the room (huge balcony). The salt water pool and facilities were very good and my wife was extreemly pleased with the massages she received in the Spa. The meals we experienced during our stay were very tasty and were aslo a highlight of the resort. Though most of the staff had a few problems with our accent they were very easy to deal with and were always doing everything they could to make our stay a fantastic experience. We were at the resort during New Years Eve and were surprised at the excellent night and activities provided by the Ratilanna staff. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the river. If you can go the extra money and book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulO750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wonderful location on the riverside & the hotel has the typical Thai ambiance, the architecture too is based on Thai style. Food is good. Fabulous infinity outdoor pool . Their restaurant is on the riverside & you can have your breakfast in the relaxing outdoor atmosphere. Rooms are large & all have a balcony. Choose a higher category of room facing the river or pool & on higher floors to retain your privacy. Do not take rooms on the ground level as the balcony is open to public. Excellent Spa & we tried all their treatments which were superb. They have well trained staff in the Spa. The Concierge Kai is excellent , please ask to do a Thai Cooking class in a Thai Cooking school but choose half day (only thing you miss is the dessert) but you can learn to cook 4 dishes replete with a trip to the local market. I would recommend this hotel very strongly. Christmas eve dinner was value for money & very good (included in our package)

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors & choose a higher category rooms which are larger & have bigger balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaladantas879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful location at the river. Our room was very big with a large and comfortable bed.
The Christmas Dinner was worth all the money. The staff is nice and helpful. I cannot find any negative impressions. I would love to stay there again.
Advice: Ask for a room towards the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the Ping River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guenterdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Our travel agent recommended the Ratilanna. Great move! The location on the river is lovely and considering how busy the city is, the Ratilanna is peaceful and serene. The rooms, food, service and ambience are all wonderful. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bono56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing