We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, very nice staff”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Only stayed one night but it is a great hotel in this price range.

The location is beautiful upon the banks of the Ping river, nice pool with in-pool bar and great buffet breakfast in the morning. Staff is well trained and English level was overall good. The rooms are very spacious and we had a nice balcony with view on pool and river.

Interesting to know is that there are two free shuttles daily to the night bazaar at 6pm and 8pm which is very convenient.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    174
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
152
372
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On the advice of our travel agent daughter and also the quality reviews of Tripfinder we selected this hotel and have not been disappointed. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite, just wonderful. It is the size of a large apartment, large dining and lounge rooms, four poster king bed, spa bath and three tv's. We were on the top floor overlooking the pool and river from the large balcony. The balcony has a day bed with sumptuous cushions a swing chair as seen in the AeroplaneJelly ads and a round table with two chairs. A great place for hanging out for a drink or a good book.

Good points

Wonderfully, attentive and happy staff always with a true smile and always there to assist in any way.

Very clean and tidy with lovely house maids

All the benefits of a 5 star hotel

Suggestions

Expand the food choice of the breakfast menu, fairly bland after a 10 night stay and ensure that food does not run out. Needs another cook in the kitchen to get things moving faster.

More shuttle services into town as the hotel is a distance away requiring a tuk tuk or taxi to get there. At the moment they offer a 6pm shuttle one way.

Clean the black mould from the roofs as it is making the hotel look ageing.

Instead of just a one person piano player why not have some themed evening such as local music and dance. There should be much more entertainment offering a glimpse into the local culture. The benefit to the hotel would be more guests using the dinning facilities and putting some life back into the hotel at night.

Get the full fox tell package where you can choose a variety of movies, sports and doco's if you like them. A weekly entertainment guide so that guests can plan their stay. At the moment there is only one movie after another but no guide as to what's on.

On the whole we are loving our stay here but believe that with just a little bit of creative thinking major improvement could be made.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd or 4th floors and pay the extra for the deluxe suite. There are so many go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyme, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel has been a wonderful experience. It is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating- they were always willing to help out with directions, travel arrangements and transportation. I have seen many hotels while walking around the city ( new and ancient city) and i am so glad I chose this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avidindoorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first stay in Chiang Mai was at the Ratilanna.........I've been around to a number of resorts in Thailand and this is one of the best. What a stunning hotel from the moment you entered the foyer and the excellent service that was provided, If you can get it, ensure you reserve the suite as it is very large and almost like an apartment. Everything about the hotel was excellent including facilities and service. It was the low season so not many people there and felt like we were only ones being waited upon. Seriously though, anyone that finds a fault with this resort either needs to get a life or is extremely 'picky'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were spoilt. The staff go out of their way to help you, they are friendly and very polite. The whole place is spotless and our room was amazing and the nicest place we have ever stayed in. They went out of their way to make up our room at night time and leave little lollies, and treats each night. We stayed here for our honeymoon, we came back to our room to find a beautiful bunch of roses and a cake that had In chocolate writing " happy honeymoon". After 5 nights we had to leave, but we didn't want to, we felt like home. It's is a very special place. The food is outstanding, the laundry service hassle free. The staff are always busy and working hard, the whole place is so clean. Checking was hassle free and the initial tour was informative and direct to the point. This place deserves 10 stars.. Outstanding!! We will be returning in the future!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently spent nine days at this resort with family( two boys aged 9 and 14). Only a short trip from airport, we were welcomed with usual cool drink and cool washer. The resort is situated on the river and a short tuk tuk trip into town (100 baht). The decor in the resort is beautiful in a traditional Thai way. Our room was very large ( deluxe suite) with king bed in one room and two roll away beds in living area. Our children loved the pool but no other facilities for them eg. Table tennis. I would have to say it was more of a couples resort. We didn't have any problem with noise although you do hear music in the evening from across the river or down the road. Breakfast was adequate, coffee was good and gym/ sauna/ steam room was great. Staff were lovely, helpful, friendly . We did have to move room as toilet didn't work in first room, I didnt have a problem with having to repack and move but I feel it would have been good service if we had received a little note or call from duty manager to apologize. I would say the only slight disadvantage to this hotel is the fact you have to take tuk tuk everywhere and that's not a serious problem! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This accommodation exceeded our expectations in many ways. This beautiful, tranquil ,very classy hotel is a gem in Chiang Mai. It may be a little out of the way of the hub bub ( only a little ) but that was the attraction for us. A tuk tuk costs only THB60 - 100 to most places in the town and in the evening there is a free shuttle laid on by the hotel. The breakfast was delicious. Our room was very large, the bed about 7.5 feet wide and the bathroom an indulgence. Lovely grounds, nice pool, tasteful decor and fabulous customer service. One evening we enjoyed the buffet in the restaurant on the ground floor which was well worth it. Just choose this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing