We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whats all the hype about?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Whats all the hype about?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Deluxe Room.

Whats Good

1. Very large bedroom with wifi access. Looks clean. Very large big bathroom with separate bath and shower.

2. Peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. This is a smallish hotel and for for those wanting some peace and quiet, this would be suitable.

3. General decor of hotel is good with wooden floors everywhere.

4. Friendly welcome from staff at reception and lady showing me to room.

5. Had room service one night and thai noodle curry was delicious.

Whats Not Good

1. At night seems like a ghost hotel. Bar almost deserted and totally lacks atmosphere with a guy playing Elvis songs on the piano. Not a great Thai evening experience.

2. Its a river setting but the river is underwhelming. Lot of the rooms at the side of the hotel look on to each other and you need to swivel your head to see some of the river from your balcony. At the front of my room when i go out into the corridor is a very shabby looking collection of derelict warehouses next door to the hotel.

3. Pool area has about 15 sun lounges which fill up quickly. Due to space no room to put other chairs round the pool. Get there early if u want a spot !

4. Gym is spacious and ok. Running machines old and need replaced. Hotel offers gym membership to locals so it can get busy in morning.

5. Breakfast Ok but food left open so small flies evident, especially on fruit.

6. Location not great. Need transport to the tourist areas.

All in all is Ok but I have stayed in far superior hotels for equivalent money in Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blademan940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    173
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
146
368
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We are currently staying at Ratilanna Hotel at the moment for our second visit. From the minute we walked through the door the service and smiles never stop as per our visit 3 years ago. The hotel is about 5-10 minute ride from the Old City but not a problem as taxi and tuk tuk
are very inexpensive 100-120 baht. The hotel is on the Ping river and very luxe. The rooms are beautfully furnished and very large, comfortable and quiet. the bathroom is large with a fountain and television at the end of the bathtub. The pool area lounge is a delight to sit and have a few drinks looking over the river.

The food for breakfast is very fresh and a good variety every day. The staff are very friendly and helpful and cannot do enough for you, always with a smile. Ate night the bed is turned down with a Northern treat left for out enjoyment. We will be very sad to leave this wonderful hotel again, but it is the hotel we will always choose when staying in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff were beautiful, friendly, very helpful and always had a warm smile. The breakfast each day had a great selection to choose from and was always fresh. We had lunch one day sitting overlooking the pool which was really relaxing. We were given a complimentary dinner which we used on a Friday night buffet. We never normally like buffet type meals but the food was beautiful. Our room was big and beautiful with spa. We have always said we wouldn't really go back to a place we'd visited because there are too many places in the world to see but after a couple of days at Ratilanna I was wanting to come back already.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novices46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel in July 2012 with our two 9 year olds and could not have been happier.

The hotel itself is beautiful and very well located. The rooms are spacious and clean with very good facilities and the bathrooms are fantastic. The hotel is a great size and feels very intimate with the staff quickly recognizing you and making you feel welcome. Swimming pool was lovely. The beds were also super comfortable.

The breakfasts were awesome and the staff were so friendly. The restaurant at the hotel was very nice however for some reason not very well patronized by guests. The concierge was of great assistance.

Staff always made sure they translated for us to taxi drivers to ensure they knew where we wanted to go.

Really could not recommend this more highly it was exactly what you want from a hotel to ensure that you have a nice relaxing stay. We would go back to Chiang Mai just to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattTash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our first impressions were WOW! This hotel is spectacular in every way. I know everyone says the staff in Thailand are friendly but here they went out of their way to be helpful and interested in you as an individual. The rooms are amazing with huge lounge, bathroom and bedroom. 3TVs in our room, one even in the bathroom! and a waterfall as well. The setting is beautiful by the river and the kids spent plenty of time in the large pool. Breakfast was great, sitting outside watching the river slowly passing you by. The BBQ dinner which was being promoted when we were there was OK but not brilliant. Would definately say stay here if you are heading to Chiang Mai, it is simply perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel made our stay in Chiang Mai very SPECIAL!! It was MAGIC!!
Everything is spectacular, but specially the mornings offering at the dock of the hotel....MAGIC!
Food, rooms, service, lobby, pool and the location are all EXCELLENT!
The spa was one of the best massages in Thailand in a great setting.
The hotel is a very special place to make your vacations really memorable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMayrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is magnificent, absolutely gorgeous. We had a standard balcony room with lovely day bed outside. Rooms great, restaurant lovely, breakfast buffet tremendous, lazing by the pool lovely. Boutique hotel with not too many rooms, all with views. The pool was a bit cool in the winter, but still swam every day. The staff are fantastic. Front Desk, concierge, housekeeping, pool boys, and restaurant staff and chefs could not do enough to make our 4 night, which turned in to 7 night stay fantastic. Great view over the river. Tuk Tuk to anywhere only 100 baht and only 10 minutes from markets and old city. Nice restaurant next door with live band lots of fun. Thank you all the staff at Ratilanna who made us feel like we were at home every day.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the eastern wing. All rooms open up over the pool so I couldn't im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
3.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 33 Chang Klan Road,Pa Daet, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the banks of the Mae Ping River, Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai captures the essence of the destination's Lanna ancestry that subtly appears in its architecture and interior decor. Ratilanna Riverside Spa Chiang Mai is only minutes from the airport and the city's popular night bazaar offering the ultimate indulgence of a five-star urban sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Chiang Mai
Ratilanna Riverside Hotel Chiang Mai
Sofitel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing