We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Clean”
Review of Mandala House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandala House
Ranked #175 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, NM
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient & Clean”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a quiet street, this hotel was a short walk to food & shopping. Breakfast was simple & good with several options including eggs cooked to order, yogurt and fresh fruit. Our room was large and clean with a small balcony. I recommend getting to breakfast early to get a good table.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PranaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    138
    56
    27
    29
See reviews for
51
99
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent the first night in the old part of the hotel, which was OK, but not great. Then we moved to the new part, a bit more expensive but the rooms are really fantastic. We ended up staying much longer than expected in Mandala, because we felt so good there.
On the down side, the cleaning is not thorough every day, but most of the time people stay there 2 or 3 days, so it does not really matter. Also the staff at the reception does not speak english.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part of the hotel are better. On the front side, with the window to the street, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staff were busy serving breakfast while we arrived at Mandala House. Anyhow, one noticed our arrival, approached us and gave us a map when my sister was rummaging tour brochures on the front desk. He can speak in Mandarin, made it easier for us to communicate. We managed to check in early to a spacious triple bedroom. For the amount of money we paid, I was satisfied with the room. The sewage smell, as in other reviews, was only obvious when we were inside the toilet. In the room, or while bathing in the bathtub, the smell was negligible.
That first night after our tour to Doi Suthep and a few other temples, we walked to the night bazaar. The staff again saw us, asked us where we were heading to since its already eight o'clock, gave us the direction to night bazaar when we told him where we were going.
Considering Mandala House's location, the friendly staff, the spacious room and the value, i will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is great! It is at a good location, close to the old town and to the night bazar. It has two buildings and a small but well maintained outdoor pool across the street. One of the buildings seems newer. Thats the one we stayed in. Our room was specious, had big windows and a small balcony. The hotel is quiet and it allows for relaxation and good sleep. Since we were guests of the hotel, they let us store for few days one of our backpacks, free of charge, while we traveled further north.
I rate this place 5 stars, because: The staff was friendly; The lobby and restaurant area were pleasant; The hotel was clean; Our room had a small fridge, AC, TV and bathtub; The pool area was well taken care of.

Room Tip: The newer building has nicer rooms. For a nicer view, request a room on 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mber_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Mandala House for the majority of our stay in Chiang Mai.

Although pretty basic, the hotel is clean and located right in the centre of Chiang Mai. The rooms are modern and very good value. Overall it is very hard to fault.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahab_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaili
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visiting Chiang Mai for a couple nights and on a budget - then this hotel may fit your bill. There are literally hundreds of small hotels similar to this one in Chiang Mai. If you want to stay close to Thapae Gate, or not far from the Night Bazaar, then this place is an ok option for a couple nights. It is quiet, has a good breakfast, good wifi, a pool, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. They accept credit cards - although you'll also pay the 3% check out fee on the transaction. I'm rating this as average because of the cleanliness of the rooms. Other than that, everything else is fine, but there really isn't anything which would make you say, "stay here and not there."

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel - an old and a new. Rooms in the new portion are better. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on a G Adventure trip.

Pros:
- close to the city (10 min walk) but not too close so it's quiet
- large, clean rooms with flat screen tv, mini fridge, safe, massive windows (I believe we were in the new section of the hotel)
- there is a small pool across the road (which we didn't use)
- a few resaurants within a 2 minute walk (including one used to serving North American tourists)

Cons:
- there was a sewage smell in our bathroom for a few hours but it went away, not sure if that's common
- water in the shower ran hot and cold so you had to be patient during your shower
- it's a small hotel used by G Adventures so you may be surrounded by people only staying for 1 night as part of a tour

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#137 of 383 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#154 of 383 in Chiang Mai
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#151 of 383 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#264 of 747 in Chiang Mai
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#164 of 747 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Small Chiang Mai
The Small Chiang Mai
#140 of 747 in Chiang Mai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala House

Property: Mandala House
Address: 71 Thapae Rd. Lane 4 Muang District, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandala House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandala House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing