We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...and some nice-enough rooms...not cheap”
Review of Touch Star Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Touch Star Resort
Ranked #138 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After much research, my wife chose this "resort" and made the reservations...which turned out to be difficult to do for a stay a few days before New Years (when half of Thailand goes on vacation). The room we reserved turned out to be a small stand alone "box" with no windows (though some panels you could open to get fresh air, but would have to close at night for security. The room was barely bigger than the king sized bed in it.

There had been one cancelation on a larger chalet (same price), so we quickly moved.

The rooms in the newer multi-unit building were probably nicer (and a bit more expensive), but were sold out, so we didn't have a chance to tour.

Breakfast was good, especially if you asked for something freshmade (e.g. scrambled eggs) as they had a moderate variety buffet.

Overall the place was good enough, but nothing special in and of itself. What made the place special was its proximity to Doi-Inthanon (entrance just a few minutes up the road), and various out-of-park amazing waterfalls. The price was fairly high for Thailand, but not unreasonable considering the location. We would go back, with expectations set that it isn't really a "resort", just a reasonable place to stay near Doi Inthanon.

Room Tip: Do NOT take the smallest rooms (stand alone older shacks with no windows).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeattleBasedVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Touch Star Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This year I and my family have decided to stay at Touch Star Resort again…. because I was very impressed on last year when I stayed at Touch Star resort. The owner is absolutely nice, friendly and take care about all guests, that I feel warm welcome there.
The place it’s convenient location and well connect to my next place and the surrounding very nice and clean, it feels good to be there and private. My family and I really enjoy eating their foods in dining room, employees are very friendly. This night I can see a lot of stars in the sky and cold weather.. I promise I will be back again in next year.

Room Tip: Single house good for big family
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MInd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We came here as a stopover in the way back from Mae Hong Son. Yes the grounds are sort of nice but tacky and over manicured. We stayed in the 1500b rooms, way overpriced for what it is. Terrible breakfast, tiny room. Wouldn't recommend it, much better value rooms in nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkk_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and me went to Touch star resort. Staffs are so friendly and very nice place. We'll back again....so sad to check out. Good air , good foods, good place. We miss you all. See you soon!
Marry and Jeff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I'm very impress when I stay at Touch star resort, the resort very near Doi Inthanon nature park and easy to travel around resort. I love their organic plant and small garden I enjoy to shower mineral water in my room. That's very nice.

Room Tip: I love Single cottage room type
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ting0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

After a long day of driving, hiking, and sight seeing, the Touch Star Resort was a very welcomed sight. Tucked back off the main road, but well marked and easy to get to, the resort offered very clean and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price (1200 Baht, off-season, including breakfast) Be forewarned that it is very difficult to have to leave this place in the morning. The staff is so lovely, the landscape is just breathtaking. The Touch Star Resort feels like a peaceful home away from home.

Room Tip: There is a rippling creek behind the small bungalows which is lovely to sleep to. However, if runni...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I cam to stay here for one night and wait to go up to Doi-Inthanon in the next morning. I won't expected much for this resort because i though it's just resort in rural side out of town. But when we came here and stay for one night, it's more than we expected for accommodation, facilities and services.
I love that they provided for FREE-WIFI because i'm just addicted to Facebook, can't live without it.
Here is quite and beautiful view and i think here is the best resort in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jusika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
14.2 mi away
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Kaomai Lanna Resort
#134 of 388 in Chiang Mai
77 reviews
30.7 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#172 of 388 in Chiang Mai
19 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chiangmai Inthanon Golf & Natural Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bansuan Inthanon Resort
Bansuan Inthanon Resort
#7 of 12 in Chom Thong
15 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parinda Garden Resort Spa & Yoga
23.5 mi away
Hot Coffee Guest House and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Touch Star Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Touch Star Resort

Address: 130/1 Moo Baan Huay Kwow, Jomthong-Inthanon Road | Chomtong, Chiang Mai 50160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Touch Star Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch Star Resort, a tranquil destination for leisure and travel, conveniently located only 58 kilometers from Chiang Mai International Airport (Chiang Mai). At Touch Star, guests stay close in touch with nature as the resort intertwines with the natural surroundings, and the nearby famous Doi-Inthanon summit. While staying with us, enjoy our refreshing natural mineral springs, the only source of mineral water in Jomthong District, that supply water to the entire resort.Our resort offers a different atmosphere that brings people from all over the world to come and relax from time to time. At Touch Star Resort you will feel total immersion in nature, by experiencing the great diversity of species of flora and fauna native to this Sino-Himalayan region.Doi-Inthanon is the highest mountain in Thailand, covering with lavish and refreshing springs and reservoirs, which attribute to the lush tropical evergreen forests.Touch Star is the resort closet to Doi-Inthanon National Park. Due to its magnificent location which is merely 1 kilometer from Doi-Inthanon National Park's check point and only 40 km' drive up a scenic road to reach the mountain summit, Touch Star Resort could also be named Doi-Inthanon resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Touch Star Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing