We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay a lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Western House Hotel
Ranked #133 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Quiet place, good Wifi, comfortable beds,
Friendly staff, 24 h security, English speaking TV channels, hot water and pressure shower,
Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinoandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
3
48
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great place ideally situated in a quiet Soi off a main road behind a Buddhist Temple. Friendly, clean, safe and cheap only 380baht per night per room with aircon, a bargain but the beds are just too damn hard to sleep on for a western body thats used to a soft mattress. to some I may sound like a whiner but I have been living in Asia for 3.5 yrs and I sleep on a hard mattress all the time but this place was extra hard even for me. You can find local food nearby and across the moat at night there are Thai food vendors selling tasty Pad Thai for 30 baht among many other dishes. So yes I can recommend this place but with reservations if you need a soft bed to sleep on.

Room Tip: Stay here if you are on a budget and can speak Thai otherwise checkout the backpacker area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DirtyPierreOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I was there in 4 different occasions in December of 2009. Each time I was happy to be there where I could get a clean shower, clean bed, and wifi (though you have to pay a little).

They were nice enough to let my group of 15 store all our huge packs (80-90L) and then some without any extra charge. (Maybe it helped that we had a native speaker?)

It's right by the moats, several shopping centres, night markets, and local restaurants, but far away from the main road to have traffic far away enough it's not noisy or busy.

There is free "breakfast" which is just some bread coffee, but hey, free is free. I personally drank about 2 cups every morning, and then some at other parts of the day where you technically have to pay...but I never did. lol

Anyone who says this place isn't great, maybe it's you, and not them. haha

Room Tip: There are no elevators, but all 4 times I ended up on the 2nd floor. I don't know if being on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rev217_chino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Western house hotel was great, quiet, free coffee all day and really clean. Its not in the greatest location but there is a good night market just across the moat and its within walking distance of evrything - or a quick tuk tuk ride. Wifi was fine for our stay and staff friendly enough. Only complaint is the beds were pretty hard. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71melmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stay here for four nights. It was very quiet and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I can have coffee any time in the day time for free. And also free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Por321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

I always find it tricky to follow other people's advice on hotels or holiday destinations because I tend to be quite picky... However, I am trying to be a little bit more open-minded and trusting of others' opinions... A few days ago I was attending a cookery class in Chiang Mai and got talking to this very nice girl from Florida... We were discussing accomodation in Chiang Mai and she mentioned that hers was "absolutely amazing"... "Clean and well located"...
I was planning to be back in Chiang Mai for one night after a couple of days in the countryside and jumped on the occasion: the girl seemed genuinely wowed by the place, and had only good things to say about it... I didn't take the time to check the place beforehand, and trusted her judgement... Had I checked Tripadvisor, i would only have found good comments on the place too... Well... That's what I mean when I say it is hard to trust other people's opinions: I am truly wondering how anyone could recommend this place!?
Western House Chiang Maimay may be clean, but that's about it... Unfriendly staff, crap Wifi connection, extremely noisy - once in your room, don't expect silence and tranquility, you can hear just about every door being closed in the hotel, full of noisy backpackers and not that well located...
For 400 bahts you can for sure find better in Chiang Mai... Avoid it...
Avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AntoineLondonSW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vud321, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Western House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
We are very sorry about what happen to our guest. We had a big group 15 rooms came together in that day. In normaly ,our place is very peaceful,comfortable,clean and safe accommodation with warm and cordial service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Nice clean room, aircon, fridge, couple of bottles of water per day and a little balcony (useful for drying clothes).

We paid 400B/night. No free internet, but was available for 40B/day (a little slow, not good enough for Skype, but fine for checking emails etc). Plenty of restaurants/spas give you free access if you use their services.

Located in the north of the old town, very close to the ring road, but wasn't at all noisey. Pleasant 10 minute walk to the tourist areas.

We didn't use any of the tours they offered, but they were happy to book tours for us when we gave them the flyer. All in all a really nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.4 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#148 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#141 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#175 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#233 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#108 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western House Hotel

Property: Western House Hotel
Address: 7 Soi 5 | Sripoom Road, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing