We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel. Not a good solo place. Good amenities”
Review of M.D. House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M.D. House
Ranked #208 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is not a hostel, so don't come expecting to meet folks here. The facilities are nice however, and include a computer room, book exchange, and weight room. The location is excellent and rooms were relatively basic but clean. It was probably too nice and lonely for my purposes, and the pool was being chemically treated throughout my stay (though it did look enticing). You can certainly do worse for a hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for six nights at the end of our month long holiday.
Great location, lots of restaurants close by.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Two pools but at the time only one was working but it was a very quiet time, so one was enough. The other was being fixed as we were leaving.
Great friendly staff. Joy on reception was wonderful, spoke english very well.
Mrs Pedang on the Tour Desk was a great help with everything and arranged some great tours for us.
A street away from the weekend street markets and about 5-10 minute walk to the night market.
Would stay there again if I returned to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: We looked at a number of rooms, all pretty much on a par. Went with the 700 baht room, due to lengt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8place2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

the location of md house is very good. The staff wasn´t rude or unfriendly but it felt like the owners only wanted your money, ( she gave the impression that previous guests who stayed there may have left without paying which is unfortunate ) the wifi didnt work for the most time and when it did it was pretty slow, ( most wifi in chiang mai is slow so it didnt bother me that much ) the pool was quite dirty. ( same thing here alot of the "cheaper" places who has a pool dont maintain them well enough ) During the 5 nights we stayed there they "cleaned" our room one time but didnt give us any towels. They have free breakfast which is good but i didnt eat it so cant say nothing about it. I think its a litle bit pricey for what you get I have stayed at both 3 and 4 star hotels in chiang mai and booked 2 rooms at the same cost. But the location is very good, nice if youre a bigger group and want to stay in the same room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Room was basic and shower wasn't the best but apart from that I can't fault it. Lovely staff, free Internet, swimming pool and good location. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

MD House is in a great location, close to the markets, restaurants and bars filled with live music. Its in walking distances to lots of beautiful wats and close to main streets to access a taxi or tuktuk when needed.

The pool is nice to have on a warm day and the rooms were spacious, with free internet access throughout the property.

The ladies working at the desk were very helpful and knowledgeable when it came to choosing a jungle trek and signing up and getting a tuktuk for a good price to go to the tiger kingdom and wat doi suthep (which are a big further of a journey). They provided free storage for my backpack while I was on the three day jungle trek which was very nice to have!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I was planning on staying here for four nights, and only ended up staying one. The photos and corresponding rates on the website depict this hostel as much more upscale and boutique than it really is. Instead of a leafy courtyard and a well kept pool and nice rooms, there was a concrete courtyard, gross unclean pool, and very uncomfortable non-homey rooms. The beds were hard as a rock and the window was tiny. The room and hotel had no ambiance, and the staff weren't friendly or helpful at all. The location is pretty good, but the rooms, hallways, and pool are downright depressing. The included breakfast and coffee were pretty good, however.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smelvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great location near the old town and in close walking distance to everything you need. The staff was very service minded and they gladely helped us to book our Flight Of The Gibbon zipline adventure which i also recomend higly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Espen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#133 of 389 in Chiang Mai
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#205 of 788 in Chiang Mai
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#20 of 788 in Chiang Mai
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Twenty Lodge
The Twenty Lodge
#72 of 910 in Chiang Mai
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Chiang Mai Hotel
At Chiang Mai Hotel
#74 of 788 in Chiang Mai
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#39 of 788 in Chiang Mai
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M.D. House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M.D. House

Address: 18/6 Rajvithee Rd, Amphur Maung, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $27 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M.D. House 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we offer clean quiet private room (toilet ensuite), swimming pool, gym, free internet, great location, convenient to 7-eleven atm restaurant taxi market by walking, 24 front desk, satellite TV, many people to join talking at the front pool, tour-desk for booking tour to any where in chiang-mai chiang-rai maehongsorn. hope to see you all enjoy living in chiang-mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your M.D. House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m.d. House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing