We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss?!”
Review of B.M.P. Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B.M.P. Residence
Ranked #335 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived in Chiang Mai we were met off the night bus and taken to the BMP. We had to wait a while to get our room as there were a few people to process. It was pretty early and we were offered a twin room straight away or could wait 3 hours for a double. We took the twin (A4) but it was a big mistake as it was horrible. There were stains on the walls the sheets were dirty and the bathroom needed a good scrub! The 3 day trek we did was excellent and we really enjoyed it, it was relatively challenging in parts and we visited some beautiful waterfalls. We had a great group which made the night times fun. When we returned to BMP they tried to put us in the same room but we had paid for a double so they changed it and what a difference!! This room was really nice and clean with a nicer bathroom and decor and even a mirror that was clean! So really I think this place is hit and miss as to which room they put you in! Good luck!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 482 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for 5 nights, really friendly staff which helped us arrange great tours... Good value for money on a budget we found the rooms were clean and tidy! Really nice swimming pool and easily accessible to the night bazaar by tuk tuk or walking!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire12234556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This review is for BMP House! This place needs to be closed down. The room was absolutely disgusting, the walls were filthy, the linen and mattress was torn, stained and ? unwashed. The room was full of Mosquitos, we had to go to 7/11 to buy insect spray. The water pressure in the shower was non existent, we also had to buy a bucket to wash our hair in. The toilet door was very mouldy and the bathroom was dirty.
The communally downs stairs area was very messy. The staff were sleeping all over the couches.
The receptionist was not particularly helpful or welcoming.
You have been constantly pressured into tours.
The only reason we are staying here is because we can't find another location to stay in due the the 3 day festival.
PLEASE PLEASE do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mickaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the B.M.P residence as we were in Chang Mai to go elephant trekking and go to Tiger Kingdom. The tours that we booked through the hotel were excellent, and the transportation to and from the places. The guy 'Jackie' that took the tour was very nice and really made the trekking fun! The rooms in the hotel were ok, pretty clean, decent size but the bed (the floor would have been softer to lie on) it was like lying on bricks. The breakfast in the mornings was nice. In all it wasn't a bad hotel, good base for doing your tours through while in Chang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We only went here because we were naiive in Bangkok and booked this at a dodgy agency without doing any research. The hotel was nice - social atmosphere, decent food/drinks however we did the 3day elephant trek and while we got what we wanted out of it (riding elephants/rafting etc) I would def recommend looking elsewhere.
Our tour guide 'Tarzan' spent each day insistently hitting on one of the girls in the group and at nights went off to smoke Opium in the bush, leaving us for hours at a time.
On the 2nd night we stayed in a local village where they killed a piglet for dinner (not for us just the tour guide and locals) but they did it in the most inhumane way, as an animal lover it was awful to be around.
You ride elephants on the last day, and you can just see how badly treated they are - bull hook marks in their skin and baby elephants chained up all day with only 1m to walk.
If you too have already paid for this then I would say go as you may have a better experience..but if you're an animal lover like me please support a better company!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A good hostel if you just want a base to explore the jungle. We arrived from a package booked in bangkok and had the 2day trek booked, the trek was amazing well worth doing and our guide jack was brilliant really knowledgable and fun. The thing that really let down this place was the staff at the reception and the bar, I have never met such rude people they really went out of their way to be nasty! It's a shame because this guest house could be fantastic.......I say make jack the manager!!!!!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with air conditioning.......it is so hot you can't sleep without it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Chiang Mai via overnight bus from Bangkok and we had not booked accommodation! The bmp had been recommended to us by a friend so we headed there. When we arrived (bare in mind it was 6:30am) we were sat down by Mr A and practically forced into booking a 3 day trekking trip in order to have a good deal on our room rate. When shown to our room it looked fine once he left we discovered the beds were old and uncomfortable and also the shower did not have any running hot water. We went for breakfast where we were ignored by the waiting staff in the restaurant/bar and had to ask a few times before anyone came to serve us. The next day we left for our trek unaware that you would need to be an athlete in order to be able to complete! We walked for 6 hours through rivers and vertices jungle in flip flop before we reached camp for the night. The second day we walked for 6 hours again this time it was a combination of up and down hill to the middle of nowhere! On the last day we final got to go elephant riding and bamboo rafting which has to be the highlight of all the 3 days. (Also I'm sure we were served rat for dinner one of the nights) when we arrived back to bmp we were given the darkest room on earth when we woke up in the morning we were unaware of the time it could have been the middle of the night! We checked out and found a nicer hotel round the corner for cheaper! Please watch out for the jungle trek unless you are physically able to do it! There is no turning back and no-one to rescue you!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jenna983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#157 of 403 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#320 of 403 in Chiang Mai
384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chomdoi House Hotel
Chomdoi House Hotel
#265 of 403 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#298 of 403 in Chiang Mai
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#278 of 403 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#125 of 403 in Chiang Mai
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.M.P. Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.M.P. Residence

Address: 45/1-2 Rajchiangsean Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 403 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B.M.P. Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B.M.P.Residence Guest House in Chiang mai Thailand. Chiang Mai Tours and Chiang Mai Trekking Let Travel Hub Take Care of your Trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B.M.P. Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b.m.p. Resident Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing