We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
40
36
23
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
36
23
17
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 124 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, we were in Thailand for one and a half months and this was among the worst value for money out of everywhere. We stayed in lots of other places for much less money and a nicer time. There is a lovely courtyard and the food is great, also there's self-service hot drinks which is a nice touch. The room itself is the main quibble, it was very dingy and spartan, not very clean and the bathroom door wouldn't close. Not particularly comfortable but quite manageable. Also it is a bit of a chore sorting anything out admin-wise, we had to give 24 hours notice to get anything out the safe which is annoying when the room is only secured by a tiny padlock, as we didn't want to leave anything in the room such as cameras, phones etc when we went out in the evening. If we were to visit Chaing Mai again we would find somewhere else to stay, definitely.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Eagle House II, around the corner from the original. This may not be world class luxury, but in terms of value for money in South East Asia, Eagle House (II) was fantastic. THB 250, around £5 per room per night for a double-room, ensuite with fan. The staff were friendly and helpful, organising our many tours and the fantastic on-site cooking class, which we strongly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

For 400 Baht a night you cannot complain. The rooms are clean and provide what you need; bed, fan and hot shower. I think air con was an option but we were content to just have the wall fan.
We stayed in Eagle House 1 which we arranged by email. The staff were very efficient and helpful in their responses.

We were greeted by a friendly receptionist on arrival who helped with our questions and organised a cooking course for us. We would highly recommend the in house cooking even if you chose to stay else where. We did a full day course with the chef all to ourselves. The maximum number for a class is four so even if there are others you will get all the attention you need. The day began with choosing the five dishes you want to learn to make (you can all do different ones) then a trip to the market to buy your ingredients fresh for the day. You return to the kitchen to prepare all your ingredients then the cooking begins. The chef was brilliant giving great instruction and conversation. Our top dishes to cook would be hello curry, hot and sour prawn soup, spring rolls and sticky rice with mango. You receive a certificate and recipe book to take away with you so you can recreate the tastiness at home.

As for the room it was clean, comfortable, cheap and in a quiet location with a very nice massage place just around the corner. The only negative was that "a three year old could break down the door" said my boyfriend but we felt safe during our stay.

It is also a good location for walking to the old town in the day and to the night market in the evenings.

The website states there is a pick up service but there was no one to collect us when we arrived.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Well done, you get my first terrible rating on TA!
I shuold have listened to the other reviews who mentioned the grotty roomsbehind the dodgy door fraems.
The plus point the green courtyard. But what lies beyond is very disappointing. Rules. Rules. Rules. Fill in book for your every move. 30baht for safe deposit box. Opinionated owner and the uninterested staff . The room was grotty but the ensuite bathroom was pretty decent. The door and frame rotten, just about holding together. I agree with everything everyone else has said about safety and security.
Pay just a tad more and stay a couple of doors away in a much nicer place nearer the main street (can’t remember the name).

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I went there with a friend of mine, we booked a room via email and had it confirmed. I also called and confirmed type of room we required. Once we got there, we were told by a VERY uninterested receptionist that our room is not available (it was, last evening) and we need to stay in the most expensive they had available.. The place looked super quiet, to be honest. We really wanted to do trek with them as heard some good opinions but unfortunately, we did not manage to get any information buy being handed quite unclear book with description of treks.
We just had a walk around and popped into Libra Guesthouse where stuff was attentive, friendly and informative.
I heard that a couple running Eagle is very friendly. Perhaps it is a nice place, it looks quite ok, maybe they should just pay a bit more attention when hiring stuff. It is possible to have friendly stuff in Thailand - honestly, go and check Libra...

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews