We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service &perfect design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chiang Maan Residence
Ranked #187 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice service &perfect design”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The housekeeps are so nice ,help us booking the spa,posting cards and much more.The design is vintage and characteristic,we like the room 2 so much.Everything is good,the sound insulationonly is the only drawback.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the pictyre one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It could be a little trickle to find but it's fully worth the trouble. 3 min walk from the famous wat. It's a traditional wood house with very dream like rooms! Minimal but all basic amenities. The hosts were very helpful in advice on sightseeing And even made us warm home made bread one early morning when we needed to head early on a tour. 10 min walk to a good bunch of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is my second time here and everything still looks good.
Located in the old city gate and easy to find food around.
And walking distance to walking street on Sunday night.

The uncle owner is very kind and helpful.

The room is ok but sometime during the summer may have a lot of mosquito.
Please ask the uncle to prepare the room for you to prevent this.

Room Tip: Room no4. is larger and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songkhla Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I chose this place based on previous reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The service was great, the rooms spacious, clean and tasteful, the shower hot and the little oasis that is the Residence a really nice place to come back to after a day sightseeing.
Easy to get tuktuks and buses at the end of the road (don't be scared to haggle), breakfast is a few minutes walk away to get something decent, but the little kiosk almost next door is handy for beer and random snacks.
Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelvinHopkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We family (I, sister, father and mother) went there in March 2012. We arrived there by 7am, the owner, a retired-teacher couple, allowed us to early check-in without any charge (and they also offered us a late check-out). There are only 4 rooms, contemporary Thai-northern style, designed by their daughter who is an architect. We love the place even there are no fridge, hair dryer, bathtub, television (another room has it) and breakfast. But when compare to the price and how the owner accommodated us, this is the place! Anyway, they have a common small kitchen where you can use fridge, microwave and utensil. As other said, the owner was very helpful and friendly, he drove us to look for a rental car (with a good rate) and also drove us to bus station on departure date. We really had a good experience there and will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pornpimolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Located inside the old city, about 15mins walk from the happening area, Thapae gate. This is a small guest house, with contemporary design and warm feeling. Owner, an old couple, was very friendly and helpful person.

Pros: Free wifi, clean, hot shower, the is a 7-11 store about 5 mins walk from the GH.
Cons: Mosquitoes in the room.
Btw, no hair dryer and hair shampoo provided, kindly bring your own if you need it.

If you have a bike driving license, it is cheap to rent one in Chiang Mai, which will allow you moving around conveniently.
If you like quite place, this is a good option. Otherwise, you should look for a hotel near Thapae gate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at a number of hotels on our trip, and the couple that runs Chiang Maan Residence are by far the sweetest, most helpful people we stayed with. They were so accommodating and friendly. We stayed there twice during a trip around northern Thailand; we were originally planning on trying out two different hotels in Chiang Mai but this place was just too good. The design is incredible - modern and very warm; it feels like you've got a private bungalow in someone's beautiful home. If you stop in Chiang Mai without staying here you're absolutely missing out!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are a little more private and have a great layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.9 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charcoa Bed and Breakfast
Charcoa Bed and Breakfast
#209 of 736 in Chiang Mai
163 reviews
12.9 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Maan Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Maan Residence

Property: Chiang Maan Residence
Address: 23 Soi 1 Rachapakinai Rd. | Sripoom Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chiang Maan Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Maan Residence is a boutique accommodation. It is an old wooden house renovated to be a nice place to stay. Located in the old city of Chiang Mai (next to Wat Chiang Man). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiang Maan Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing