We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, lovely cats :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regina Riverside Guesthouse
Ranked #449 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, lovely cats :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Regina Book & Coffee is a gem among the very expensive restaurants on this street. From outside it looks like an old curiosity shop, you enter, cross the shop and reach the lovely, peaceful garden on the river front. The food is excellent value for it's price and the plates are generous. As a cat lover, I could stay there for days. The cats didn't disturb us, but didn't reject some cuddling or food ;) They weren't also camera shy. The music played in the background varies from Chopin to Elvis, very relaxing. Not to miss.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizilkedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Regina Riverside is certainly not 'fast food'. Come here to relax and watch the comings and goings on the river and the market on the opposite bank. The restaurant is interestingly laid out: from the front it does not look like a restaurant at all and the dining area is at the back, in the garden.

The food is just heaven. Clearly freshly cooked and simply delicious. My wife and I ate to our fill, plus a drink for THB 200, so excellent value for money as well.

I have docked 1 star for the roaming cats. I love cats, but I'm very wary of what you can get if they bite. I am still happy to visit again, in fact my taste buds will demand it of me.

Enjoy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickyCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visited this cafe two years ago and loved it , so was keen to go back . Had lunch the first day in Chiang Mai and while the food was ok the cats out back are out of control .
On my last visit the cats are part of the character of the place but its gone to far . We had 4 cats jumping on our table trying to take food of our plates at once - hey I'm a cat lover but its gone to far

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We didn't stay here but spent a lovely evening at the cafe. We spotted the garden from across the river and were immediately on our way. Loved the entrance with the old chests and lamps. They have a beautiful garden right by the river…perfect spot for tea or beer! And if you love cats, this place is a bonus. It has all sorts of beautiful cats dozing around the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoojaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gribbz
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay at the guest house but did have lunch here. Food was cheap and tasty. The setting is in need of spruce up. Lots of cats wandering around the place but didn't bother us. A good option if staying close by but wouldn't go out of my way to go here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gribbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Didn't stay in the guesthouse but did drop in for lunch. Loads of cats but were pet lovers so that was fine. Property seems in disarray and messy. Paperwork and mass amounts of dusty things everywhere. The property itself is very old and could be quite quaint, but it's not. Very plain and basic picnic type tables with rough surfaces to snag your clothes on and get splinters are in the garden area at the river. Most of the grass is gone, it's just dirt floor.

The food was tasty and good. SomTam was 50b, Macaroni and chicken 70b from memory and the tamyam soup was 95b, bottled water 10b. See photos of the food

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarksFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rooms decorated with 50s memorabilia. The accompanying restaurant/coffeehouse has lovely seats by the river - relaxing and beautiful. It is not a hotel but a guesthouse so no round the clock service. Must love cats to stay here, and be willing to venture to market across the river for breakfast options but I thought it a nice place to stay for $20/night

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
sala lanna Chiang Mai
sala lanna Chiang Mai
#68 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette
0.1 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#39 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Bedtini Guesthouse
Bedtini Guesthouse
#150 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
B2 Riverside Colonial Hotel
B2 Riverside Colonial Hotel
#558 of 809 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Riverside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Riverside Guesthouse

Property: Regina Riverside Guesthouse
Address: 69-73 Charoenrat Road | Wat Ket district, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing