We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viraporn's place
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$113
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$86
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
$84
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$550
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$375
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$96
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
$59
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
211
115
26
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
115
26
10
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 369 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having a stayed here twice in the last year, I would definitely recommend it. Fred and David, the two Frenchmen who run it are a delight. Super friendly, helpful and fun. The bar and tea/coffee self service area are run on trust, with a cash book system. Teas and instant coffees are overpriced and the breakfast is just ok but to be honest, possibly better round the corner! The rooms are simple but adequate. Don't stay here if you want a power shower! You will have to settle for a trickle of water instead. These are a few small negatives but you have to remind yourself this is a budget place. It is very friendly, safe, clean and incredibly well located. It also has good free wifi. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The guest house is located between 2 roads.....try for a middle room if you want no street noise. Top floor gets very hot in hot season.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Absolutely zero regrets booking a room at the CM Blue House.

Clean rooms, friendly service, great breakfast, everything was wonderful. The best part is David and Fred, the owners. They were very helpful, offering tips about things to see, excursions they thought we would like (and more importantly, which ones they thought we wouldn't like). On top of all of this, the rates are very reasonable.

The location is perfect, right in the old town, right next to markets, restaurants and some clubs near-by. Rooms are basic, but clean, which is what we were expecting. If I have to nit-pick one thing, is that the wifi was spotty in our room, as we were on the top floor, and at the end of the hall. Even when at the bar, it was a little slow, though I don't know if there were just a bunch of people using it at the time.

This is just nit-picking though, and we would return without hesitation, we loved our stay at CM Blue House!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, try to get a room in the middle of a floor, as the wifi is better.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at three guesthouses in Chiang Mai and CM Bluehouse was by far the best. I rented a private room with AC, a double bed and a TV for 500 baht a night, which is competitive for the standard.

I called to book the room two days in advance as Chiang Mai was busy during the Chinese New Year period. When I arrived there was a slight mix up as the wrong name had been taken down on the phone. However, this was resolved quickly and in a friendly way. The owner operates a trust policy with drinks and there are many places to sit and have a beer with fellow travellers. The guesthouse is in a great, central location too.

The room was big, clean, comfortable and quiet and I couldn't fault anything. There was even a fridge and two fans in the room!

Overall a really pleasant experience. I'm travelling on my own so places like this are a dream when you find them. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey_Forrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue House during our visit to Thailand in December. The rooms were great value for the money and the location was excellent to walk to many temples, restaurants and a nice market. We stayed in a room near the staircase and had wifi at all times. There is also a nice garden area/restaurant for relaxing or using wifi. The standout at the Blue House was the staff. Each and every person there went above and beyond to help us plan day trips to Doi Suthep and some lesser known areas that they thought we'd enjoy (and we did!) I would highly recommend this guesthouse if you're looking for a cheap but excellent place to stay in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If you want to have wifi in your room, ask for one near the stairs (and wifi router).
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnewman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What I liked most about this guest house is the location. It's in a really busy little soi with lots going on, and is very central for everywhere in CM. Despite that, the rooms are very quiet and peaceful.
My room was spacious and clean, if a bit shabby - but at this price nothing to complain about. I really liked that the room had 2 doors - one into the room from a wide walkway, and one that led to a little caged in balcony. The balcony isn't suitable to sit out on (there is a table & chairs out on the walkway) but it does let in lots of light and air to the room. Reception on the TV was poor but I didn't ask anyone to look at it as I can do without TV on holiday. The fridge was huge.
There is a pleasant communal area, but the restaurant was closed for most of my stay. Whilst the staff are obliging when approached, they are fairly low-key.
I would say that if you are looking for typical Thai hospitality, CM Blue House may not be for you. This GH is a little bit of France in the middle of CM. Not a complaint - just a comment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews