We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiang Mai Thai House
Ranked #333 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location in Chiang Mai, especially to watch the Flower Festival. The only downside was that the internet was very spotty. Also for $30 something dollars you could probably find a nicer place with breakfast included, because the price at this hotel does not include breakfast. Rooms were clean and showers Luke warm. Tours we BOOKED here were well run. Got my visa for Vietnam easily here. Nice pool at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 537 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Clean Hotel in good location. The cheapest room was 400 baht, which was ok for the standard they are offering. But tey are pushy when it comes to trips. What you want to buy and where do you want to go ae their first questions. And their trips are overpriced! You can buy cheaper trips in many agencies around town. When we wanted to stay day or 2 longer they first say no problem, but once I told them we don't want to buy any trips the room was booked and the only one they have left was for 1000 baht. Hotel was quite empty at that time but it didn't matter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarikaaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Good location , close to the center of town and also nit very far from the night market.
The rooms are clean and the service is good.
There is also a swimming pool. And a 7-11 a few minutes walk away.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kar808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

OK for the Price

We chose to stay at this hotel because it was walking distance to the old city without the old city prices or noise.

The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. The staff were friendly.

Unfortunately, it was not possible to make an outside call on the phone in the room – I had to go downstairs and pay 40 baht to use a phone in the lobby, all within earshot of the front desk.

The wifi barely worked either n the room or in the lobby. Web pages took a long time to load, and often they would not load at all. This made it impossible to use Skype to call out. While there were desktop computers in the lobby that did have a functioning internet connection, I was not about to do anything that required a secure connection on a public computer.

The shower stall had both a rain shower head and a regular shower head, but the hot water did not work with the rain shower. There was minimal water pressure on the regular shower read, making it difficult to rinse your hair. The hot water was provided by a hot water on demand system which you had to turn on when you started the shower. Difficulty in understanding this system may be behind some of the complaints below about a lack of hot water.

The hotel is on a quiet older street and there is no much else around. While the hotel can call a taxi for you, they recommend that you walk five minutes to a main road and hail one.

The hotel has a concierge desk that will book you into tours around Chiang Mai.

However, prior to arriving in Chiang Mai, we had already found a wonderful licensed private guide through Viator. The guide, Chayanisa Singhasen (“ Lanna”) accompanied us on a two day program that allowed us to see the sites that most interested us. We benefited greatly from her knowledge and expertise, and learned and experienced far more than we would have with a group tour or a taxi.

http://tourguides.viator.com/Listing.aspx?Country=Thailand&Region=Chiang+Mai&City=Chiang+Mai

On balance, if you do not need wifi and are on a budget, the hotel is more than acceptable. As for ourselves, should we return we would likely pay a little more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EFOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I`m traveling for 2.5 years now and that was my third time to Chiang Mai. Before I was always around Low Season. this time tho I needed a room in the evening coming down from the north and everything else was booked out. Some other travellers recommended this place to us. What a joke. The guys working here are just interested in one thing, your money. I never stayed in a place like this and normally Thai people are unbelieveable friendly and helpful. I`m well aware that there should be something like a "farang price" because it`s just fair, I do disagree with ripping people off. Especially when we caught them cold handed overcharging us (800 baht for a room), they offered another "special price" which was 100 Baht more. Trying to joke their way out of it. This is not about the money, I really don`t care if I pay 200 Baht or 1000 baht a night but I can`t stand it when someone takes the pi$$ just because they can. Anyway, first thing on the next morning we left and stayed somewhere equally nice for less than half of the money.

Room Tip: just avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laudimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Accomodation is good and cheap. Location is great. Service is not so good, they can be quite rude, for example: they wouldn't admit they got our food orders wrong. Don't eat here: it often takes over half an hour to get your food, and it's not that good. Go to a food market instead! They can be pushy up on arrival and get you to book tours when you're still sleepy from travelling: it is a good idea to just wait a little and look around before booking anything.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMvE188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The inn is located within 10 minutes walking distance of the old partially walled town. The inn itself is extremely clean and well kept considering the amount of guests! The cost of this hotel is exceptional paid 180€ for 5 nights including breakfast. If you just want a clean bed, very clean room a reasonable shower and you're not fussy for breakfast then go for it! Of course I can start criticising the place for a slow wifi connection (incl) the pressure in the shower is not that great, the lights in the bathroom are dim, the towels are extremely thin.... etc these are all undoubtably irrelevant considering the cost!

Room Tip: room 111 is located on the road so it can be a bit noisy in the mornings and is accessed by a rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VallettaYozhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#130 of 392 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#119 of 392 in Chiang Mai
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#45 of 392 in Chiang Mai
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#15 of 933 in Chiang Mai
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kamala's Guesthouse
Kamala's Guesthouse
#108 of 801 in Chiang Mai
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Thai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Thai House

Address: 5/1 Thapae Road Soi 5 | Chang Klan Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $21 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Thai House 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Mai Thai House" is located in the center of Chiang Mai, but on a very quiet street. We have over 15 years of guest house management experience, and a well-trained and friendly staff here to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We have high-end amenities such as Teak wood furniture, laminated floors, western-style bathrooms, a beautiful swimming pool and a high-speed internet room. We are happy to share traditional Thai culture with our guests, and we can accommodate you in enjoying activities such giving gifts to the monks in the morning and participating in Thai festivals and shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Chiang Mai Thai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiang Mai Thai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing