We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #71 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We booked the Parasol Inn via Agoda for only two nights, at a good rate, but ended up staying longer and returning to stay again. The hotel staff are extremely helpful, polite and friendly, always willing to assist with any problem or enquiry. They were kind enough to store our unneeded luggage while we were away travelling for a few days. The rooms are very spacious, attractively decorated and very clean. Only some minor touches are needed as far as paint repairs etc. Our bed was a huge king size and very comfortable. Located at the intersection of the Sunday night markets and being in central Chiang Mai, makes the hotel ideal for shopping and commuting to other places in the city. Included breakfasts are provided by the cafe adjoining the hotel and the menu is limited to 4 options, with which we had no complaints. There are no safes in the rooms but the staff will store any valuables securely for you at reception for 30 baht. Hair dryers can be hired for a one off minimal fee of 50 baht. Massages are available in the lobby or private room, the prices are very reasonable and the massage ladies are very good at what they do. We have already recommended Parasol Inn to fellow travellers.

The Parasol Inn is also just around the corner from a few cafes & restaurants (turn left out of the entrance and left at the corner juice bar) which are ideal for lunch and dinner. Our favourite was The Garden, on the left hand side of the road. Meals start at around 60 baht, the service is great and the food delicious. If you would like a good steak, try walking a bit further to the Coconut (something?.) For 185 baht we ate a big serving of fillet steak, mushroom sauce, chips and salad.

Pros – Price, location and cleanliness
Cons – No coffee making facilities or lift (4 floors)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    144
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
41
136
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I stayed here with an ISV group. The hotel was in a great location, and the rooms were very comfortable. It has hot showers and western flush toilets. I would definately recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinnie_winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aonang Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

very pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff...after some problems with the AC we were upgraded to a very nice and large room.We would definetely stay at the parasol again..thank you for a nice stay

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krabimichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.a.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at the Parasol Inn for three nights in July, 2009. The hotel lobby was quite nice with a sitting area, travel/tour information, a fairly cheap internet, and in-lobby massage for super cheap ($4 for a full hour neck and back massage). The rooms were clean, a good size, and the air conditioning worked great! The free breakfast was held right next door and was quite tasty -- free coffee/tea, eggs, bacon, fruit, toast (good enough to fill you up til lunch time). The staff at the front desk were also quite nice and helpful -- they would help to arrange outings (we purchased Flight of the Gibbons tickets, as well as the Night Safari tickets from them) and also give good advice about how to get around town. Location of the hotel is quite good as well, as it is located right next to a very nice temple and some tasty local restaurants, a mini-mart, and a cute night market. All in all, a great stay for a great price! Next time we are back in Chiang Mai, this is the hotel we will be using again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonKeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

This was our 2nd time back to the Parasol Inn, which is located in the center of the walled city. The location is perfect for visiting the temple district, and it's a 15-20 minute walk from the Night Market and river restaurants. It's at ground zero for the Sunday walking street market, which is one of the best in Chiang Mai. There are some great restaurants around the corner, as well as the best place to get a Thai "ancient coffee" in town. The rooms are simple, but nicely decorated and with all the imenities you need (A/C, fridge, TV, laundry, massage, etc.) Breakfast is included in the 1290 baht standard room rate, and the staff has always been very helpful and friendly to us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#103 of 381 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 736 in Chiang Mai
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#37 of 736 in Chiang Mai
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 736 in Chiang Mai
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cozytel
Cozytel
#19 of 736 in Chiang Mai
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel in the center of Chiang Mai City old town. Right infront of sunday walking street. Easy access to all temples and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing