We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #70 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Greeted with a broad smile by a local with amazing English, we were checked in within minutes and barely had time to drink the complimentary glass of sweet grape soda.
The location can not be beat, but its true that you may pay for this with a bit of noise. We were on the top floor though so it really wasn't an issue and we are pretty early sleepers.
Restaurant is just OK, but does the trick for breakfast if you need something fast before an elephant tour or other pick-up activity. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Chang Mai.
Rooms are sparse but clean and comfortable. Bed was not as hard as the others you are likely to encounter in this country.

Room Tip: top floor away form main streets if you are a very light sleeper. The is no elevator so if mobility...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear My Precious Guest,
Thank you for your kind words of experience during your recent stay at my Parasol Inn Hotel, it was indeed a pleasure having you stay. The window renovation is on it's way to completion, check the website by mid-April for our new-look. For the breakfast now complete action has been taken we are now closed for breakfast at 11.00 a.m. for all guests that show breakfast coupon at our restaurant and all guest travelling on early morning are able to inform us on the evening before 20.00 p.m. On your next trip to Chiang Mai, I look forward to your positive presence at the Parasol Inn Hotel.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I enjoyed this hotel in most respects. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is decorated interestingly and kept very clean. In room services are good. Situated right next door to an interesting Wat and the famous Sunday Market sets up right outside in the street. Breakfast left a little to be desired but was OK but my biggest problem was the lack of natural light in the room. Only the bathroom had a window. I didn't mind using the stairs but if you do then be warned there is no lift . The pluses outweighed the negatives for me so I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Robert B10,
Dear robynccl,

Thank you for your review and highlighting that the pluses are more than negative. On your next visit, please ask my front desk team for some recommendations for your room that off natural daylights. We look forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel within walking distance to the temples in the old town. Decent price with breakfast included. Nothing spectacular but western options are fine. Very clean rooms with a safe included.
Quite a bit of street noise so wear earplugs to sleep.
Staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and can assist in booking tours. Enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Catskitravel,
Thanks for the great feedback and perfect score!

I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is well-placed, almost in the exact middle of the old city. It's
especially convenient for Chiang Mai's amazing Sunday evening walking market,
if you are lucky enough to stay there on a Sunday night. However, the hotel
could use some updating. Some rooms face the street and are big and bright,
but very noisy. Modern sealed (but openable) windows would help. But other
rooms have a window that opens only into their private bathrooms, which in turn
have a window that opens into the alley. These rooms are quieter, but lack
natural ventilation and smell musty. If you have allergies, you should avoid
these rooms. The Wifi is weak, as others have said in their review. Also as
others have said, most of the staff is helpful but a few are not. Finally, the
hallways are old-school - concrete floors and solid wooden doors without seals,
so you hear every footstep and every door closing - day and night. It would
be a good hotel if they renovated it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Marc L,

Thank you for your comments. We will look into your suggestion.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The location is great, right the middle of old Town and easy to walk most places or cheap tuk tuk ride. The rooms are nice and brightly painted and the beds are comfortable. All of the staff were also very nice and helpful. On the downside, it's noisy, a lot of the rooms don't have windows, the WiFi is quite slow and it smelt a little damp. However, these are only small points and we'd recommend it for sure but would try somewhere else on or next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDGallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear JDGallie,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our team friendly and helpful.
I appreciate your review and comments in regards to a damp room & slow wifi which we now have take a big step in clearing out this issue. Unfortunately being close to the action in Sunday Market does mean traffic noise is a factor, but if you do choose to stay with us again we have rooms available down the back of the building near the which are very quiet. Please ask to be allocated here. For our hotel we do have room with window on all front side as by requested in description of our room types in our website. We look forward to seeing you again and once again thank you so much for your reviews. We grow by our customer comments. Thank you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed only one night and left early to catch a flight so missed the breakfast. Clean comfortable, brightly painted room. Great location for visiting sights in inner city. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear endepete,

I am pleased my team were helpful and friendly and you found our rooms comfortable, which are probably the two most important factors to a good hotel stay.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We're just enjoying our last night of a four night stay here at the Parasol Inn, it's been fantastic, a really great, central location & the staff have been really friendly. Especially my new best friend who calls me Ryan Gosling (I wish!)
It's a great base, & they will book tours for you & taxis/restaurants etc. The terrace bar is also very handy for a drink!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really happy to receive your reviews. We are committed to providing the highest level of service to all of our customers, and we take your feedback seriously. Once again thank you very much for your kind words. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.


Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#104 of 388 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#31 of 388 in Chiang Mai
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 777 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 777 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#35 of 777 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#26 of 888 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $35 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing