We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #70 of 806 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fabulous accomodation in Chiang Mai. Located in the heart of the old city, it is just steps away from everything you need - food, markets, shopping, massages, temples etc. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. The rooms (and bathrooms) are very clean and ours was spacious. The breakfast was simple but nice. Food at the hotel restuarant was really good and well priced - great place to sit and chill with an afternoon juice or beer too! The road outside is busy/noisy during the day/early evening but it quietens down for sleeping.

There was a mixup with the room information provided on the Expedia website (i booked through this site) - but it was sorted out promptly on arrival and with no fuss. We did book a airport transfer to the hotel on arrival, which did not turn up (so dont rely on this) - but it was not a problem at all and we just jumped in a taxi. Getting a taxi is not a problem at Chiang Mai airport - you can either book at the desk inside or just go outside and there are people organising taxis - about 120thb is all it will cost to get to the old city. Getting from the hotel back to the airport - we did book a taxi through the hotel as taxis are not easily located inside the old city (mostly tuk-tuks) and it cost 150thb.

Overall we had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Paraosol Inn and i would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Some room information on the Expedia website is incorrect so check with the hotel directly in regard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays among us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your facilities and services so much. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

A nice hotel with clean and tidy rooms. The hotel is in a fantastic location with the night markets located literally downstairs! The hotel staff were very friendly and helped arrange our activities. No dramas at all!

The only thing missing in the rooms were windows so the rooms did get quite stuffy at times.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to get some decent rest after a full day of fun in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactusCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay at Parasol Inn Chiangmai. Parasol Inn is dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us. We once again thank you for your suggestion. We have already have plan in make over our property as our first priority even improving our hotel window structure is one is our list. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice hotel. Located in the city centre and very close to the famous Sunday market. Staffs here are quite friendly and willing to help and book the tours. It is a good choice to walk around old city and visit temples around.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Our Valued Guest,
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Parasol Inn Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location and nice accomodation. The cleaners do an amazing job on the rooms every morning. Good airconditioning, and good breakfast in the morning. The best part about the Parasol Inn is easily the staff. They are so friendly and helpful and welcoming. I've stayed here 3 times for Songkran and it's always a pleasure. Thanks for the amazing hositality Parasol!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Our Valued Guest,

We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Parasol Inn Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a pretty cheap hotel (25€ for both of us per night) and very worth the price! It's located in the middle of the old center of Chiang Mai with 7-11s, juice bars and maseuses at every corner. The room was nice and clean but really ugly painted (somebody with good intentions had painted thai art on the walls, unfortunately with little succes... but then, it did have it's own charm).

Breakfast was very limited and not really that nice, and we would have liked to have a buffet that we could have chosen from ourselves.

Staff was very nice and helpful with finding and booking our tours.

Room Tip: No elevators, but they help you carry luggage up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandkamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Our Valued Guest,
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Parasol Inn Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your feedback regarding our breakfast service is very important to us. We are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and working on improvement.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just checked into parasol inn. Had arranged airport transfer as didnot want to haggle with local taxis. On arrival find out hotel charges THB100 more than local taxi. Huge rip off. On dnquiring at front desk am told they're "a hotel so we can charge more". Not a great welcome. Will see how rest of stay turns out.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0much2cN2liltym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel at tripadvisor. I would first of all say sorry to the wrong word given to you by our staff. Actually they should say that it is our policy to charge at that rate and we use private car which the price will be different according to the time of departure which we have put the sign explaining to all our customer in all rooms already. I am really appreciated by you mentioning this problem and i was being to explain my policy. We look forward to be in your service in your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel.
The staff was amazingly helpful... The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious, and very clean (as shown in the pictures on the website)... The breakfast was tasty... It's located close to everything in the old city... And all of this for a more than reasonable price.
I will surely book this hotel again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your experience at our hotel. It was so wonderful to hear that you enjoy the location and the area around the hotel as well. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Buri Gallery House
Buri Gallery House
#102 of 393 in Chiang Mai
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#46 of 393 in Chiang Mai
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#16 of 806 in Chiang Mai
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sila Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
At Chiang Mai Hotel
At Chiang Mai Hotel
#64 of 806 in Chiang Mai
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koko Palm Inn
Koko Palm Inn
#161 of 806 in Chiang Mai
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 806 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $38 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing