We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #70 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Parasol Inn. The rooms are very clean, and the price (about $40-45 Canadian per night for one of the larger rooms on the third floor) was reasonable. The accommodations are basic, but well-maintained. Breakfast is included, and was adequate, if not particularly inspiring. Although the hotel is dead-centre in the old city of Chiang Mai, and thus well-situated relative to the temples, it is worth noting that much of the shopping and food options, including the night market, tend to be situated between the Eastern gate and the river, so expect to do a fair bit of walking, or to shell out money for tuk-tuks. The prices quoted by the hotel for excursions were not great, so we decided to make our own arrangements for this. I used the laundry service (60 baht/kilo for a wash) which was done in a timely manner, but I did note that you could get it done for quite a bit cheaper if you went to a laundry on your own. The A/C worked well, and we weren't particularly bothered by noise in the evening, even though we had a corner room facing the street. The beds were on the harder side, but fine if you're used to a futon. A pleasant stay, if not particularly overwhelming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor and higher have windows.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Our Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays among us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 377 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

I know service costs, for sure. But I didn't know it cost so much in this inn.

First of all, we have a rather intense schedule for the northern part. So basically we do plan on relying most of the tours, tickets to "friendly staff." As it turned out, the "friendly staff" cost us a Sukhothai trip, and double-priced tickets to Bangkok.

For Sukhothai trip, we asked for tickets booking when we arrived the inn, the staff warned us about the tickets will be only available at noon, Dec 24. That's after we booked a morning jungle flight tour. We cannot make it for sure, because it will be at noon when we came back from the jungle. She tried and said the ticket is fully booked. That's when we rushed to a nearby B&B and got another full priced room, and had to give up the room in Sukhothai, which we had booked a month ago.

And a new friend we met at jungle flight were on his way to Sukhothai that very night, and he said the seats are many.

For the double priced part, as we learned the false "fully-booked" situation, we decided to ask for help, two bus tickets to Bangkok in advance. "1000 bahts" the staff said "each, with taxi pick-up." At the time we didn't know the cost. But roughly it should be cost like seven or eight hundreds each, and there should be a proper taxi coming for pick-up.

Of course it's a tuk-tuk came picking us up. And the ticket to Bangkok costs less than 600 bahts each. Are you kidding me Parasol Inn?

Based on the fact above, I will NOT book this inn ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in our hotel services on booking your tickets. We have a limited list of company that have the fix cost for our staff they are not allowed to sell on other price. We do not force our customer to buy from us as we know that our rates and standards are higher than the market price and any other hotel also does the same if they have a tour desk. We are strickly control on our system since we want to control our staff work process.
Thank you for sparing your time in bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service. Your comments will help us serve you and our entire guest better in the future.
We apologize for the annoyance/inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

i stayed at Parasol Inn for 2 nights late november and i really had a great stay rooms are big, clean, staff is so helpful and friendly, very good location and nice restaurant. i do recommend it and would love to be back again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeshmeshCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Right in the centre of the old city. Staff were helpful (as they should be, they get a commission for all services the give business too!). Room could be considered noisy if that bothers you? Not me! Plenty of cheaper around that'll offer the same though. All services are at your finger tips and everything is within walking distance. Except the planes trains and buses!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

There was mix up with my booking. Staff went out of their way to help securing me a room in a nearby hotel for one night even paying the extra cost. I was escorted to other hotel and in the morning staff came to carry my luggage back to Parasol once my room was ready. Staff also helped with booking bus to Sukhothai and organised for same day service for my laundry. 10 out of 10 for excellent customer service would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Our Precious Guest,
We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. We look to be in your service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel only for one night. The reception looks nice, clean and cozy, however, the receptionist will require to copy your credit card even if you pay for the room ahead. The reason is that they want to be sure that you do not steal from the minibar without paying. Actually, before leaving the hotel the next morning, the staff checked the room whether everything was present... We did not like this approach and felt as if we were not trustworthy enough. This has happend neither in the other hotel in Chiang Mai nor in other places in Thailand.

We booked a taxi from the reception, we were told that the rate is 150 BHT. The other morning, the other receptionist told us that we did not confirm the taxi in the evening (we were not told to) and therefore, it was cancelled. The "morning rate" for the taxi was 200 BHT.

The room itself is ok, the bathroom was clean. There is no lift. As the hotel is located on a busy street, it tends to be noisy at night. The location itself is great, next to Thapae gate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frfloska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear our valued customer,
First of all we like to apologize for the misunderstanding about our hotel credit card policy. Our staff may express it in a wrong phrase. By asking for your credit card means that you are committing yourself to pay for the charges that may occur during your stay with us. When our hotel takes your credit card information, it's not immediately charging you. For transportation you must have not read in our room and website on price offer which we have made clear on timing and customer need to book and make payment for confirmation.
Once again on my behalf i am sorry for the inconvenience that my staff may have caused during your stay. We hope to be the best service for you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my second review of this hotel and it is still excellent. Stayed for 10 days and we were made to feel as if we were at home. Rooms are good and clean location of hotel could not be better close to restaurants and on the door step for the Sunday walking market.Staff are excellent and very friendly.Breakfast could be better buffet style would be a good idea.Will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdmanPatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Love to hear that it is your second visit at our hotel. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#104 of 387 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 387 in Chiang Mai
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 776 in Chiang Mai
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
Early Bird Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 776 in Chiang Mai
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#35 of 776 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gord Nuea Boutique House
Gord Nuea Boutique House
#28 of 888 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $35 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing