We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #69 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Changsha, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked the hotel through their website and got 10% discount. I stayed three nights there and really didn't want to leave.
The hotel was so beautiful, you could have a temple view from the window of your room and the Sunday walking street is right in front of the hotel. Their staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
You can choose american, continental or asian breakfast as you like which were all quite delicious serving with their charming smile.
By the way, you might want to join a trip as they were trying to talk you into it, for example, the Inthanon Mountain trip. (It's worth it because the mountain is quite far and the tour was just 1000THB discounted from 1200THB.) It could spare yourself the guilt of saying no to those smiling faces.

Room Tip: Not the rooms by the sunday walking street coz they might be loud at nights. Choose the ones where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing Nimman Mai? Design Hotel on your visit this october. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    142
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
133
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay was for two days while we looked around Chaing Mai. Airport Taxi's knew the hotels location and cost of 120B (£2.30) for the taxi ride. Arrived at midday and room was just ready. Check in was quick and easy and reception staff pleased to see us and offered us a drink while copying passports etc. Room was on the 4th floor and was really nice, clean and in a traditional Thai design as per there web site shows. Tea light burner was on when we opened the door and the room was clean and fresh. Fridge had products and also white wine, though there was no pricing for the wine. A/C was good. Bathroom was clean and fresh. Electric shower was OK. Towels clean and fresh. Would totally recommend this small hotel. They offer massage in the reception area and even have those foot eating fish. Next door and as part of the Parasol is the small bar/cafe offering breakfast and food during the day.
Free Wifi throughout the hotel, though Expedia web site says there is a charge. No extra charges were added either. The hotel has no lift which was no problem for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obiwanknobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love this place. It was the first time i stayed in a guesthouse rather than a hotel and i fell in love with this place. You can't expect the facilities of a hotel but you can expect a more warm service and intimate atmosphere than in a hotel. The room is big and clean, the breakfast is lovely and the price is good. The location is fantastic, right in the centre of old chiang mai, you can watch the sunday night market from your windows, a very cool thing. It has every reason to be the best value hotel in chiang mai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smmrxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided everything that you needed. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, clean rooms and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The first thing you would probably notice in the lobby of the hotel as you enter are the words 'Service with a Smile'. All the staff of the hotel right from the the front desk to the maintenance and restaurant staff truly reflect the words in the lobby. They were all truly helpful and always smiling.

The hotel itself is centrally located close to many a cultural location. Rooms are compact, but very clean and well decorated.

There are range of options available to both the active traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break. A number of excursions and massage programs are available. Though the staff do promote the services, what made me feel comfortable was that they were not pushy.

Overall a great experience and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased you notice our goal 'Welcome with smile, service by heart". I have a great team here and will pass on your kind words to them.

I hope to be able to personally welcome you to the hotel on your next stay with us which I hope is in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us to organise some excursions and offered us discounts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and cleaned every day to a high standard. We really liked the small touches such as the welcome drinks and the towels folded into elephants when we arrived. The air conditioning system was brilliant - much needed in Aug. The breakfast is good too - you are given a choice of asian, american or european breakfast and each comes with fruit, tea/coffee and fruit juice. The location is also brilliant - within walking distance of many temples and pretty much all the tourist attractions in Chiang Mai. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the massages at the spa at the reception of this hotel. I think you could get better treatments elsewhere in Chiang Mai. The massage we had were sub standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banana12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed here with 3 friends and had an amazing time. This boutique-style hotel is located in the heart of Chiang Mai, walking distance to the night bazaar and restaurants and bars. The rooms were basic, but clean and brightly painted.

It is not overly fancy, but has a lot of heart and the staff absolutely make the experience memorable. They went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. One morning our tour for elephant trekking was picking us up before the hotel's breakfast started, and the staff made sure we could be served earlier than normal so that we were not hungry on our tour.

If you're looking for a decently priced hotel in the center of Chiang Mai, look no further. I also recommend spending a few days in Chiang Mai, as we wished we had more time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room, but our friends had been upgraded to the ancient parasol room (due to ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays so much. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our goal .
In addition we are especially pleased to see that you love our hotel staff and enjoyed your stay.

I really look forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a great hotel, right in the center of the Old Town. The best part was heading out the door of the hotel on Saturday night, and being right in the middle of the Saturday Walking Market. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are darker, but much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Our Honor Guest,
Thank you for your thoughts and comments of the hotel during your recent stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed location, views around,and our staffs. Your comments on Parasol Inn hotel have been very helpful and i will share this comments with my team.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#36 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#59 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Log Home Boutique Hotel
Log Home Boutique Hotel
#66 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Chiang Mai Hotel
At Chiang Mai Hotel
#50 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel in the center of Chiang Mai City old town. Right infront of sunday walking street. Easy access to all temples and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing