We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #102 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay was for two days while we looked around Chaing Mai. Airport Taxi's knew the hotels location and cost of 120B (£2.30) for the taxi ride. Arrived at midday and room was just ready. Check in was quick and easy and reception staff pleased to see us and offered us a drink while copying passports etc. Room was on the 4th floor and was really nice, clean and in a traditional Thai design as per there web site shows. Tea light burner was on when we opened the door and the room was clean and fresh. Fridge had products and also white wine, though there was no pricing for the wine. A/C was good. Bathroom was clean and fresh. Electric shower was OK. Towels clean and fresh. Would totally recommend this small hotel. They offer massage in the reception area and even have those foot eating fish. Next door and as part of the Parasol is the small bar/cafe offering breakfast and food during the day.
Free Wifi throughout the hotel, though Expedia web site says there is a charge. No extra charges were added either. The hotel has no lift which was no problem for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obiwanknobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love this place. It was the first time i stayed in a guesthouse rather than a hotel and i fell in love with this place. You can't expect the facilities of a hotel but you can expect a more warm service and intimate atmosphere than in a hotel. The room is big and clean, the breakfast is lovely and the price is good. The location is fantastic, right in the centre of old chiang mai, you can watch the sunday night market from your windows, a very cool thing. It has every reason to be the best value hotel in chiang mai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smmrxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided everything that you needed. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, clean rooms and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The first thing you would probably notice in the lobby of the hotel as you enter are the words 'Service with a Smile'. All the staff of the hotel right from the the front desk to the maintenance and restaurant staff truly reflect the words in the lobby. They were all truly helpful and always smiling.

The hotel itself is centrally located close to many a cultural location. Rooms are compact, but very clean and well decorated.

There are range of options available to both the active traveller as well as those looking for a relaxing break. A number of excursions and massage programs are available. Though the staff do promote the services, what made me feel comfortable was that they were not pushy.

Overall a great experience and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivianRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased you notice our goal 'Welcome with smile, service by heart". I have a great team here and will pass on your kind words to them.

I hope to be able to personally welcome you to the hotel on your next stay with us which I hope is in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us to organise some excursions and offered us discounts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and cleaned every day to a high standard. We really liked the small touches such as the welcome drinks and the towels folded into elephants when we arrived. The air conditioning system was brilliant - much needed in Aug. The breakfast is good too - you are given a choice of asian, american or european breakfast and each comes with fruit, tea/coffee and fruit juice. The location is also brilliant - within walking distance of many temples and pretty much all the tourist attractions in Chiang Mai. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the massages at the spa at the reception of this hotel. I think you could get better treatments elsewhere in Chiang Mai. The massage we had were sub standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banana12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We would like to say thank you very very much for your comments and we really do appreciate that you have had a good time while your staying with us. We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed here with 3 friends and had an amazing time. This boutique-style hotel is located in the heart of Chiang Mai, walking distance to the night bazaar and restaurants and bars. The rooms were basic, but clean and brightly painted.

It is not overly fancy, but has a lot of heart and the staff absolutely make the experience memorable. They went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. One morning our tour for elephant trekking was picking us up before the hotel's breakfast started, and the staff made sure we could be served earlier than normal so that we were not hungry on our tour.

If you're looking for a decently priced hotel in the center of Chiang Mai, look no further. I also recommend spending a few days in Chiang Mai, as we wished we had more time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room, but our friends had been upgraded to the ancient parasol room (due to ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Manager at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments about Parasol Inn Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays so much. I will share with our team your comments about their positive attitude towards the costumers which is one of our goal .
In addition we are especially pleased to see that you love our hotel staff and enjoyed your stay.

I really look forward to welcoming you in your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a great hotel, right in the center of the Old Town. The best part was heading out the door of the hotel on Saturday night, and being right in the middle of the Saturday Walking Market. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are darker, but much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasolinn, Owner at Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Our Honor Guest,
Thank you for your thoughts and comments of the hotel during your recent stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed location, views around,and our staffs. Your comments on Parasol Inn hotel have been very helpful and i will share this comments with my team.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel has all the best you wanna have for your stay in Chiang Mai; small, clean, real in the center of Old city, close to Temples.
Staff is great, always smiling and helpful.
I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#68 of 403 in Chiang Mai
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#47 of 403 in Chiang Mai
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#89 of 403 in Chiang Mai
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#18 of 833 in Chiang Mai
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Bear's Home
Little Bear's Home
#98 of 833 in Chiang Mai
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#34 of 833 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality

Address: 105 / 1 Prapokklao Rd | Klangwiang Intersection, Phrasing, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $38 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parasol Inn Hotel by Compass Hospitality is decorated with the concept of Boutique Lanna style. Thai Lanna culture is a colorful combination of various elements brought together from both historic and multi-ethnic contexts. With Chiang Mai being a place of trade along the historic Silk Road, it has been a crossroad for centuries of various cultures that make up the blend that is found here today. Our hotel is located in old town of Chiang Mai which is home to Thai historic temples, especially the world-popular Chedi Luang Temple is just a walking distance away from our hotel. In addition if you are curious for local handicrafts, Sunday Night Market where Parasol Inn Hotel just situates will definitely be an ideal shopping paradise for you. Or if you want to go further to explore more local features, a Tuk-Tuk service can be easily found in front of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parasol Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing