We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Portico 21

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portico 21
Ranked #339 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a great boutique-hotel in Chiang Mai. First, because of the owner, who was really friendly and helpful in everything we needed. We spent one night out of the hotel due to a trekking tour and she allowed us to keep our luggage in the same room even if we didn't pay that night.
SEcond, location. The hotel is not far from the main Gate and not far away from the Sunday Market and the night bazaar (which we did not like us much comparing with other Thai markets). It's close to some restaurants, bars, pharmacy and other services. It was a bit difficult to be found by some drivers, but it's easy to reach once you get there for the first time.
Third, rooms. Rooms are comfortable and bathroom was fully equipped.
Fourth, the breakfast was simple but really tasty.
Sixth. We paid around 25 EUR/30 USD per night for a double room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Portico 21
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed only for one night and for one night this place was fine. The location is very good and is within walking distance of the Sunday market and the night bazaar. There are also plenty of restaurants and bars around too.

The rooms are spacious with lots of natural light, but that also means that they get pretty hot and the AC struggles to fight the heat. The rooms are clean but maybe a little tired.

Breakfast is the standard eggs and bacon, but I'm more than happy with that! The staff are very helpful and friendly.

The only problem was that it felt a little soulless and lacks character, but for one night, who cares?

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank CrumpetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The highlight of this hotel is the location -- it is less than a 5 minute walk to the old gate of Chiang Mai. There are plenty of restaurants and bars located nearby.

The room was clean but it seemed to not have been kept up very well. I imagine that when the hotel opened it was considered very modern, but I felt the furnishings in the room were a bit worn out. The sink didn't seem to drain very well. The a/c seemed to work very well, however.

The breakfast was pretty good -- toast, eggs, and some meat. I especially liked the jam they provided for the toast. The location of the hotel is very good, but it can be a bit difficult to find as it is hidden down a side alley. The hotel provides free wifi, but it didn't seem to be working properly when I was there. The staff were pleasant enough, and checkin was quite efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The room was clean and spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the older lady that was always rushing around. We were hoping the hotel would be able to recommend a cooking course, or other activities but that isn't something they do. It was nice not to have the hard-sell, but at the same time, it was a shame that kind of info wasn't on-hand.

The location is very central and we'd definitely stay here again. It's worth shopping around on a few sites to get the best room rate before you book.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Portico 21 does have a good location, is clean and well maintained and the in-room wifi works fine. Those essentially are the pros. On the downside, the rooms are small and basic, the complimentary breakfast is simple and offers no choices, while there is a room safe it is made of pressed board!, the management/ staff are polite but not especially cordial, and the room price is above the market in the same area of Chiang Mai. After staying an initial three days we decided to look elsewhere and found several better options in this most desirable part of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Genius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Thanks to good reviews we booked this small (21 room) hotel right on the edge of the centre of Chiang Mai. It was about 2 minutes walk from the Thapae gate (3 if traffic is heavy as it usually is) and maybe 20 minutes stroll from the Kalare Night Plaza. Although the hotel doesn't do dinners, there's an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant right across the road.

We were in a luxury room up on the fourth (third floor for us Brits) floor, and while it was a bit of climb, without lifts, it was by no means a strain (even for a couple of oldies like us) to climb upstairs after being out all day, or when returning in the evening. The up side of being there was that it was beautifully quiet.

The air conditioning was quiet and effective, and the room was extremely well set up, with adequate seating, bedside lights and a very nicely appointed shower room. The only thing i felt was lacking was perhaps enough drawer space for our clothing. Breakfast was served by the manageress (daily in touch with the owner), who was extremely professional, and spoke pretty good English. I've rarely seen anyone so prepared to put herself out for her guests. Our laundry was done very well and for an excellent price. All in all there was a very good atmosphere in the hotel and we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. I'd certainly go back there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, book a room on the "2nd" floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IaninFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

stayed portico 21 for four nights in a deluxe double .the room was large with air conditioning good size bathroom it was clean with kingsize bed my room was on the top floor (fourth floor) no lift only stairs but didnt worry me basic cable tv,internet reception from my room was good,breakfast included in price was eggs bacon pork sausages toast jam,fruit juice and coffee and fresh fruit. best of all was the location a couple of minutes to Thapae Gate which seems to be a great starting place for visiting the old city.the room and hotel were clean and the hotel is in a quiet back street
would I stay here again yes...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcj957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
P21 Chiangmai Hotel
#62 of 776 in Chiang Mai
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Na Thapae Hotel
Na Thapae Hotel
#322 of 776 in Chiang Mai
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 387 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portico 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portico 21

Address: 7 Kotchasarn Rd. Soi 1 | T. Changklan, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $30 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portico 21 is equipped with all modern amenities: we offer clean, quiet and affordable accommodation in the heart of downtown Chiang Mai - Northern Thailand, with a touch of design. Each guestroom is air-conditioned and well furnished in a functional, contemporary style. All guestrooms have individually designed, private en-suite bathrooms and benefit from unobstructed views of the old capital of Northern Thailand. Thapae Gate (Pratu Thapae), a major city landmark, is just 3 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portico 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portico 21 Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing