We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No smiles here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smile House Guest House
Ranked #525 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No smiles here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed here the beginning of Jan 11 in the more expensive (B750) rooms with airco on the ground floor behind the pool. The beds are made of stone, the shower did not work, the toilet did not flush and there was a funny smell. There are much better deals to be found in Chiang Mai than this run down place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaldwinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    50
    37
    21
See reviews for
14
58
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

we stay there for 4 nights
at th begin we were upstairs:really not good
but then we had a room downstairs near the pool: much better
very good location
staff is very great or very not geat, depending on who
laundry 30 bahts/kg

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

When we stayed here it was very much low season. We basically had the whole place to ourselves.

The amenities within the Hotel itself was not very good, however you are only 2 minutes walk from the town centre.

The room was very basic but clean, spaciious and comfortable.

The only downside to the place was the continual barking of dogs from behind the hotel. I'm unsure if it was kennels but the certainly went on and on.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Cheap, Clean, and Comfortable guest house w/ everything you need in Lodging. There is a place that does laundry next door, all the cab drivers know the place, they offer tours, have internet cafe, cold beer, swimming pool, showers in room, etc...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajunturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed at this guesthouse Aug 22 - 26, 2009. The hotel staff were great and very professional. They do their jobs well and are very friendly and courteous. The main lobby area has a comfortable louge area with wicker furniture which is very comfortable and clean. A large televison is located near the front desk area with comfortable seating for chilling out after a long day tramping about the city. A variety of cold beverages are available including beer in a set of coolers in this area, but the beer is more expensive than local bars and restaurants. There is a pool which I didn't use this time but saw it getting plenty of use from other tourists. It appeared very clean and nobody had any complaints about it. In fact, one pair of girls from Bulgaria practically spent an entire day in it. Others from nearby guesthouses paid a few baht to use it as well. Safe deposit box lockers are available in the lobby area and are a good size. We didn't have to pay while we were guests for the locker.
The room was very basic but spacious #21 on the corner of the lot across from the reception desk and entrance. it came with a TV with a few english channels and a movie channel. The bed was very hard and you could bounce a rubber ball on it with no trouble or double it as a ping pong table if you get bored. However, after returning from the 3 day trek where it rained all but one day, that hard bed was suddenly very very welcoming. The room also had a airconditioner that worked quite well and cooled us down nicely in the evening. The staff provided us with towels for the trek at no charge, extra pillows for the bed, and cleaned the room daily supplying new toilet paper , towels and soap each time. There is a place that does laundry for $30 BT / Kg just around the corner and the breakfast while O.K at the Smile, cannot beat the American breakfast they serve at
B Bee's restaurant a couple of blocks away. Great coffee there as well and great value on the breakfast which is enough to satisfy the largest appetite. very close to Old chiang Mai downtown area and pretty much $20 Baht to go anywhere by Tuk tuk. ie Night Bazzar. One thing I did notice that cause me concern at the Smile was the room they let you store your luggage when you leave to go on a trek. At the Smile, they did not appear to lock the room which is located under the stairwell to the upstairs section and by the bathroom. When we cam back the door was slightly ajar and had no lock on it. Our belongings were all still there though. My valuable I had left in the locker provided at no charge. I had the sense that everyone that worked at the Smile were very trustworthy and professional.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltchucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Smile House has newly renovated rooms upstairs from reception. Each room has a shared bathroom, but there are three bathrooms so you rarely have to wait. I had a room overlooking the neighbours and the pool. it was bright, and the decor was contemporary and new - there was still plastic over the lamps! in all the staff were great. internet was prolly too expensive but convenient - cheaper options a short walk away. i managed to get a discount for staying three consecutive nights. the pool is a welcome respect after a day in CM. the location is perfect, just back from the moon muang road in a very quiet soi. restaurants, bookshops and internet within a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

I stayed in this guest house for 2 nights and paid 600 baht per night.
It had a basic room with shower and no tv, the room was dull and uninviting.
There was a tv that seemed to be for guests to watch near the entrance but had instead lazy Thai employees lounging in front of it, maybe they could have been cleaning my room instead?
The guest house did however have a swimming pool so that was a real bonus!
I booked out and found the All in 1 guest house which was a big improvement.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwculshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nooky_8, public relations manager at Smile House Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2008
Thank you so much for your comments, now our air conditioned room is 700 THB / night with private hot shower, cable TV is available at the living room, though we do not include breakfast, but we've breakfast available cost depend on what you order by the menu in your room or next to the pool. (There is no more buffet breakfast available at 100 THB / person.) Anyway we'd like to apologise for the inconveniences and admit the truth of our bad employees which has been change after the new management team came in. We hope that you would be able to come back and see our improvement with special discount. Last but not least we wish you a save and convenience journey anywhere you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#246 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#293 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#138 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#194 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smile House Chiangmai
Smile House Chiangmai
#508 of 718 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Guest House

Property: Smile House Guest House
Address: 27 Mu 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, 83000 | Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile House Guest House, in the true Lanna lifestyle, is located in the heart of old city, within walking distance of all major Wats and night life attractions. We are a 3-minute-walk from the moat so as to optimize the fun and joy of Loi Kratong and Songkran festivities. Our guest house offers large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with convenience of community room for social gatherings. Our swimming pool sits adjacent to our cocktail and food service so as to provide comfort and refreshments while lounging. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smile House Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing