We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romyen Gardens - Best Ever Home-cooked Thai Food and Great Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romyen Garden Resort
Ranked #107 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were hesitant initially, despite the reviews to come to stay at this wonderful place, because the price and the raving reviews simply do not go hand in hand! However, our stay at our first stop in Chiang Mai gave us more than what we expected! 3 things that are highly commendable about this resort.

1) The honestly best Thai food we have ever tasted!
Prepared with love and superb culinary skills by a 76yrs old Auntie, and her loving husband, whom we call as Uncle. You must read the review below for description of the food... I cannot say it any better. The food's gotta get into your mouth for you to believe it. :-) Throughout our 3 nights at Romyen, we had 3 dinners! 2 suppers! and 1 big lunch!! And every meal was different and every dish tasted almost perfect to the tastebuds.

2) Great Host!
Tim is really really helpful and in Singlish (we call it "ching chai"), which means easy-going. She will help you out with almost any of your request most willingly and promptly. And the workers who help out at the resort, even though they do not speak English, you can tell that they are honest good people making a decent living, and respect their job. Good honest people.

3) You must ask Tim to recommend you to Thai Massage (His name is "Nut")
So far, anyone who has been "touched" by Nut says this:" I wish I could bring him home with me to my country, so that he can massage for me everyday!!" And it is only 200baht per hour... for such high quality massage. My goodness!!

Here goes! Hesitate no more.... Go for Romyen Gardens. This is my first ever review written for any resort despite my frequent travelling... I think it says a lot about our experience here.

Happy holidays! And Happy New Year!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junelws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chumnong m, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Lusi & friends,
Thank you very much for your fruitful compliment contributed to TripAdvisor which will
enhance Romyen Garden Resort to improve the service quality to satisfy our guests.
We really appreciate the fact that you and your friends expressed your experiences during
your stay with us. We, hopefully that we will have opportunity to welcome you and your
friends again in future.
Chumnong Madary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We felt welcome all the time. Tim a is great host and we loved it! The place is not near downtown, but it is in a very quiet and nice area, with a lot of flowers and good energy to relax.

Daniel and Paula
São Paulo - Brazil

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielsantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Danielsantini, Thank you very much for your review which expressed the realrity. We try
our best ti provide good services and quality of accommodation to satisfy/comfort our guests.
Hope to have opportunity to receive you and family again in future.
May we send you best wishes and have a good health throughout the New Year 2014.
Chumnong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Romyen Garden resort was a wonderful place to stay during our trip to Chiang Mai. We had spent several days exploring the old city and many of the 'touristy' areas, so when we arrived at our bungalow in the peaceful area, it was very welcomed. The staff was incredibly friendly and provided us with dinner, even with our last minute booking. They have plenty of outside seating and is family run. They were helpful with setting up our trip back to the airport. Additionally, they provided us with a floating lantern. They showed us how to light the lantern, and we sent it off with our wishes during our stay. The only short-coming is that it is a bit difficult to find if you are unfamiliar with Thailand, so just print off the address and someone should be able to show you the way. Overall, a great experience and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Allison,
On behalf of the Management of Romyen Garden Resort, I wish to express our sincere thanks
for your comment/review submitted to Trip Advisor which is very truthful and positive. We hope
to welcome you again in future. Thank you and best wishes for the prosperous New Year 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It's difficult to add anything to the reviews already posted about this place: they are all true and accurately reflect a unique guest house near Chiang Mai. The bungalows are set within extensive and well-tended gardens, and the only sounds you will hear are those of the local birds and insects, especially the echoes of the different varieties of wood-pigeon in the distance. Each residence is maintained and cleaned to a high standard, and sheets and towels are replaced daily. There are no shops nearby but there is an excellent Italian restaurant set in amongst the paddy fields about 10 minutes stroll from Romyen Gardens. However, most nights of our seven night stay we dined 'at home'. And it really was a wonderful experience: Tim's Auntie lovingly prepared and cooked our meals each night and we were overwhelmed by the quantity, the quality - and most especially, the variety of food. From Thai green curries to Tom Yam soup; giant prawns cooked with glass noodles; salads, fried vegetables and delicious rice - night after night we learnt more and more about the true flavours of Thai cuisine. Conversations with Auntie and Uncle, luckily in English, covered topics about politics, the medical system and life in Thailand; we learned much more on this visit than we ever had from our many previous trips into this beautiful country.

Tim, who runs Romyen Gardens, was a quiet presence, always ready in the background to offer help and advice - to arrange transport, book trips, or suggest itineries. (And Happy Birthday to Tim for yesterday - and thanks for the delicious cake!)

Just a short bicycle ride or walk away are the lovely Taweechol Botanic Gardens. You can cycle round the beautifully kept grounds and there is also a large outdoor swimming pool available for just a few bhat. Apparently there is also a restaurant here, but it didn't seem open on the week day we visited.

Romyen Garden Resort is set well back from the main road to Doi Suket. This means you will have a ten-minute walk to pick up the yellow bus that goes straight into Chiang Mai city, takes between 20 and 30 minutes (depending on how many passengers it picks up and whether the traffic lights are against you) and costs 16 baht per person. Although something of a challenge at first we had some great encounters with the locals, ever cheerfully ready to sort out when to get off for our return and happy to practise their English. The bus reaches its destination at Rowowot Market in Chinatown, and you'll then have a short-ish walk to the Old City. You can catch the bus back from the same place, but it's advisable to show the driver the 'Taxi Directions' (in Thai) on the bottom of the Romyen Gardens brochure just to make sure you're on the right bus. A regular taxi from town back to Romyen Gardens will cost about 250 - 350 baht, though it is sensible to get the taxi driver to talk to Tim to get accurate directions.

Overall: a wonderful and relaxing experience which we can recommend without reservation. If you read all the reviews you will get an accurate and honest view of the place and when you arrive you will, we are sure, receive the same warm welcome that we received.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thornenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Nick,
I wish to express our sincere thanks for the review you have commented and shared your experience you and Lol have had durting your stay at Romyen Garden Resort. Your comment
makes us to improve the quality of accommodation and foods provided for guests so as to
comfort and satisfy our guests. Hope we will have a opportunity to receive you and your family
in future.
Chumnong Madary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The Romyen Garden Resort is located in a rural area of Chiang Mai, there isn't any shops within the compound or nearby, so if you need to shop for any necessities, you can't... As it is in the rural area, its either you call for a driver or walk all the way out to the main road to travel in a pickup truck...

Nevertheless, it is a good experience for people who wants to just chill out in the resort throughout the trip, just remember to stock up all your necessities and lots of books...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimChiangmai, Manager at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We planned to stay 3nights (for the Loi Krathong festival) and prolongued our stay - the whole resort is lovely, quiet-most probably the best choice to stay in Chiang Mai. The owner helps with everything if you want, the Bungalows are made (fresh towels, etc) daily-you can decide to sleep long and have breakfast at noon or later, everything's very easy and uncomplicated at Romyen. It is a 20 minutes bus drive to Chinatown -what's fun doing actually - we never had to wait longer'n 10 minutes for a yellow bus taking us there - picked up the last one bringing us home from the city center at about 10pm - for 20 Baht each. We'd always Comedy back. Thanks a lot for the wonderful time

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to the review you contributed to Trip Advisor.
It was wonderful to have had chance to accommodate and cater you. We will continue the
efforts to provide a quality of services to satisfy and comfort our guests. Very much hope to
receive you and your friends next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Romyen Garden is idyllic ! The garden itself is beautiful and well-tended to , the bungalows comfortable with a nice, simple furnishing. The staff who attend to the daily cleaning and upkeep are pleasant and always helpful . A relaxing atmosphere reigns here and it soon takes you in, the same seemed to go for all the other guests we met here during our three week stay.
The trip to Chiang Mai takes about 30 min. by 'song tao' bus which pass regularly along the highway about a ten min. walk away along a country road past rice-fields and a local temple sporting an impressive giant, pink and white Ganesh ! There are charming walks to be taken turning right out of the resort giving open views of the beautiful, lazy-looking mountains not far off .
On the walks back in the evening the intensity of the shrill serenade of the crickets has to be heard to be believed ! it calms to a rhythmic soundtrack for the evening meals we loved to take on the restaurant veranda. Evening meals ! ? ! read major,incredibly relishing culinary experiences ! magically created by Tim ,but her Auntie likes to join in too sometimes. Tim, apart from being a cooking ace- big time - speaks English fluently and converses easily with everyone having a great sense of humour !
There are no city or traffic noises here at night and we always slept very well , the animal calls or the rain having a lulling effect. Like the crickets in the evening, the crazy birdsong you waken to in the morning is unforgettable. We plan on returning to Chiang Mai next year and we are coming back here.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 3 but all of the bungalows are pleasantly placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to your review contributed to Trip Advisor
which will enhance our business to the better. We will continue maintening the quality of
services and conforts to satisfy our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to receive you
and your freinds more and more in future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
8.9 mi away
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
Suan Doi House Hotel & Resort
#108 of 392 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
7.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#61 of 392 in Chiang Mai
598 reviews
8.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
297 reviews
7.9 mi away
Casa Marocc Hotel By Andacura
Casa Marocc Hotel By Andacura
#85 of 392 in Chiang Mai
32 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romyen Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romyen Garden Resort

Address: 40/1-5 Chiangrai - Chiangmai Highway | Baan Taladkwuan, Tambon Taladkwuan, Chiang Mai 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $20 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Romyen Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romyen Garden Resort, your rustic hide-away only 15 minutes from town. Experience the peaceful charm of this Lanna Style Bungalow, set amongst shady trees and natural park land. Transportation running past the main road from 06:00 to 20:30 every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Romyen Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing