We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romyen Garden Resort
Ranked #103 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We felt welcome all the time. Tim a is great host and we loved it! The place is not near downtown, but it is in a very quiet and nice area, with a lot of flowers and good energy to relax.

Daniel and Paula
São Paulo - Brazil

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielsantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Danielsantini, Thank you very much for your review which expressed the realrity. We try
our best ti provide good services and quality of accommodation to satisfy/comfort our guests.
Hope to have opportunity to receive you and family again in future.
May we send you best wishes and have a good health throughout the New Year 2014.
Chumnong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Romyen Garden resort was a wonderful place to stay during our trip to Chiang Mai. We had spent several days exploring the old city and many of the 'touristy' areas, so when we arrived at our bungalow in the peaceful area, it was very welcomed. The staff was incredibly friendly and provided us with dinner, even with our last minute booking. They have plenty of outside seating and is family run. They were helpful with setting up our trip back to the airport. Additionally, they provided us with a floating lantern. They showed us how to light the lantern, and we sent it off with our wishes during our stay. The only short-coming is that it is a bit difficult to find if you are unfamiliar with Thailand, so just print off the address and someone should be able to show you the way. Overall, a great experience and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Allison,
On behalf of the Management of Romyen Garden Resort, I wish to express our sincere thanks
for your comment/review submitted to Trip Advisor which is very truthful and positive. We hope
to welcome you again in future. Thank you and best wishes for the prosperous New Year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to add anything to the reviews already posted about this place: they are all true and accurately reflect a unique guest house near Chiang Mai. The bungalows are set within extensive and well-tended gardens, and the only sounds you will hear are those of the local birds and insects, especially the echoes of the different varieties of wood-pigeon in the distance. Each residence is maintained and cleaned to a high standard, and sheets and towels are replaced daily. There are no shops nearby but there is an excellent Italian restaurant set in amongst the paddy fields about 10 minutes stroll from Romyen Gardens. However, most nights of our seven night stay we dined 'at home'. And it really was a wonderful experience: Tim's Auntie lovingly prepared and cooked our meals each night and we were overwhelmed by the quantity, the quality - and most especially, the variety of food. From Thai green curries to Tom Yam soup; giant prawns cooked with glass noodles; salads, fried vegetables and delicious rice - night after night we learnt more and more about the true flavours of Thai cuisine. Conversations with Auntie and Uncle, luckily in English, covered topics about politics, the medical system and life in Thailand; we learned much more on this visit than we ever had from our many previous trips into this beautiful country.

Tim, who runs Romyen Gardens, was a quiet presence, always ready in the background to offer help and advice - to arrange transport, book trips, or suggest itineries. (And Happy Birthday to Tim for yesterday - and thanks for the delicious cake!)

Just a short bicycle ride or walk away are the lovely Taweechol Botanic Gardens. You can cycle round the beautifully kept grounds and there is also a large outdoor swimming pool available for just a few bhat. Apparently there is also a restaurant here, but it didn't seem open on the week day we visited.

Romyen Garden Resort is set well back from the main road to Doi Suket. This means you will have a ten-minute walk to pick up the yellow bus that goes straight into Chiang Mai city, takes between 20 and 30 minutes (depending on how many passengers it picks up and whether the traffic lights are against you) and costs 16 baht per person. Although something of a challenge at first we had some great encounters with the locals, ever cheerfully ready to sort out when to get off for our return and happy to practise their English. The bus reaches its destination at Rowowot Market in Chinatown, and you'll then have a short-ish walk to the Old City. You can catch the bus back from the same place, but it's advisable to show the driver the 'Taxi Directions' (in Thai) on the bottom of the Romyen Gardens brochure just to make sure you're on the right bus. A regular taxi from town back to Romyen Gardens will cost about 250 - 350 baht, though it is sensible to get the taxi driver to talk to Tim to get accurate directions.

Overall: a wonderful and relaxing experience which we can recommend without reservation. If you read all the reviews you will get an accurate and honest view of the place and when you arrive you will, we are sure, receive the same warm welcome that we received.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thornenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Nick,
I wish to express our sincere thanks for the review you have commented and shared your experience you and Lol have had durting your stay at Romyen Garden Resort. Your comment
makes us to improve the quality of accommodation and foods provided for guests so as to
comfort and satisfy our guests. Hope we will have a opportunity to receive you and your family
in future.
Chumnong Madary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The Romyen Garden Resort is located in a rural area of Chiang Mai, there isn't any shops within the compound or nearby, so if you need to shop for any necessities, you can't... As it is in the rural area, its either you call for a driver or walk all the way out to the main road to travel in a pickup truck...

Nevertheless, it is a good experience for people who wants to just chill out in the resort throughout the trip, just remember to stock up all your necessities and lots of books...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimChiangmai, Manager at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We planned to stay 3nights (for the Loi Krathong festival) and prolongued our stay - the whole resort is lovely, quiet-most probably the best choice to stay in Chiang Mai. The owner helps with everything if you want, the Bungalows are made (fresh towels, etc) daily-you can decide to sleep long and have breakfast at noon or later, everything's very easy and uncomplicated at Romyen. It is a 20 minutes bus drive to Chinatown -what's fun doing actually - we never had to wait longer'n 10 minutes for a yellow bus taking us there - picked up the last one bringing us home from the city center at about 10pm - for 20 Baht each. We'd always Comedy back. Thanks a lot for the wonderful time

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to the review you contributed to Trip Advisor.
It was wonderful to have had chance to accommodate and cater you. We will continue the
efforts to provide a quality of services to satisfy and comfort our guests. Very much hope to
receive you and your friends next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon , France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Romyen Garden is idyllic ! The garden itself is beautiful and well-tended to , the bungalows comfortable with a nice, simple furnishing. The staff who attend to the daily cleaning and upkeep are pleasant and always helpful . A relaxing atmosphere reigns here and it soon takes you in, the same seemed to go for all the other guests we met here during our three week stay.
The trip to Chiang Mai takes about 30 min. by 'song tao' bus which pass regularly along the highway about a ten min. walk away along a country road past rice-fields and a local temple sporting an impressive giant, pink and white Ganesh ! There are charming walks to be taken turning right out of the resort giving open views of the beautiful, lazy-looking mountains not far off .
On the walks back in the evening the intensity of the shrill serenade of the crickets has to be heard to be believed ! it calms to a rhythmic soundtrack for the evening meals we loved to take on the restaurant veranda. Evening meals ! ? ! read major,incredibly relishing culinary experiences ! magically created by Tim ,but her Auntie likes to join in too sometimes. Tim, apart from being a cooking ace- big time - speaks English fluently and converses easily with everyone having a great sense of humour !
There are no city or traffic noises here at night and we always slept very well , the animal calls or the rain having a lulling effect. Like the crickets in the evening, the crazy birdsong you waken to in the morning is unforgettable. We plan on returning to Chiang Mai next year and we are coming back here.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 3 but all of the bungalows are pleasantly placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
On behalf of the Management, I sincerely thankful to your review contributed to Trip Advisor
which will enhance our business to the better. We will continue maintening the quality of
services and conforts to satisfy our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to receive you
and your freinds more and more in future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived tim, the owner, was waiting for us with two coconats and her warm smile.
The place is a little bit far from town, bud defenatly worth the affort. When you or want to go to the city, just ask tim to set you up with a driver that know's tha way.
The rooms are worm and surrownded with plants and trees, and ther is a small balcony to each room with view to the garden.
Before coming for the first time talk to tim (the most comfterble way is via e-mail) and ask her to make you dinner - you wont regret it. The food is just amazing, and there is a lot of wormth pot in to it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimrod3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Nimrod,
On behalf on the Management of Romyen Garden Resort wish to express our sincere thanks
for your valued review appeared in Trip Advisor. We are glad to receive you and your freind
stayed in a small family run resort and felt comfortable . Thank you and hope to have opportunity
to accommodate you and other friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
7.9 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#101 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.8 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#46 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
#86 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#129 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
7.0 mi away
De KRIYA
De KRIYA
#147 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romyen Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romyen Garden Resort

Property: Romyen Garden Resort
Address: 40/1-5 Chiangrai - Chiangmai Highway | Baan Taladkwuan, Tambon Taladkwuan, Chiang Mai 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Romyen Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romyen Garden Resort, your rustic hide-away only 15 minutes from town. Experience the peaceful charm of this Lanna Style Bungalow, set amongst shady trees and natural park land. Transportation running past the main road from 06:00 to 20:30 every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Romyen Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing