We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
68
21
7
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
21
7
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 100 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Romyen is beautiful, and wonderfully relaxed. We stayed in Bungalow 3, and loved lounging on the veranda, retreating into the sitting room as the afternoon wore on. The cottages have a refreshing rustic simplicity, with pleasant, quirky décor. The gardens are delightful, with crickets, geckos, birds and frogs providing a soundtrack. We ate all of our meals there during our stay, with no menu but with home cooked food prepared based on what was fresh in the markets, and special diets sensitively catered for. It is not possible to describe the simple loveliness of the place.

And the people, from the owners through to the young lad who insisted on carrying our bags, are fantastic - helpful, informative, friendly and never pushy. We could not have hoped for better hosts.

Unfortunately, Romyen's neighbours were a nightmare. Across the rice field, hundreds of meters away, is a karaoke bar which could be heard well into the night. Not a problem during the day, but a serious issue at night unless you are accustomed to blocking out such sounds: the bass notes reached into our room, and the wailing of the louder singers mixed with these. For my partner (who is sensitive to sound, and suffers from migraines) this was a big problem; for me it was a serious irritation.

It is tragic that such an utterly wonderful place should be undermined by selfish neighbours. All the work and tangible love that the owners and managers have put in to this place should make this a "five stars, no question - must visit" place. But the neighbours are sabotaging this.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NomadicH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We actualy booked this place from Australia and was sold on the reveiws. Romyen was very kind to us, we stayed for 5 nights in Bungalow #3. The owner of the property cooked us tradition Thai food for dinner and the hot breakfast every day were always very good! The manager offered to help us with transport, tour bookings and all the little things that help so much when in another country. It was "THE" cleanest accom in we have booked in Thailand and its cute Gardens really make for a relaxing place to just rest from wiery travel. We recomend that if you are staying more then a few nights to either get a bus timetable before arival or hire some self drive transport.. It is about 15 mins from the city via direct route (highway), but the taxi drivers charge like your flying to Bangkok!! Another added bonus is that Romyen Gardens is BarterCard freindly!

Room tip: We only stayed in Bungalow #3 and found it to be very cozy and cute. The doors open out onto a verandah that over looks the garden.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Excellent resort with good clean rooms. Very delicious food available at their restaurant , let them advise you or let them know what you would like to eat. Fantastic breakfast , one time i had scrambled eggs with sunflowers seed bread and the other time omelet stuffed with fried rice.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My experience at Romyen Gardens was truly delightful and I wholeheartedly recommend staying here if you have a chance. The bungalows are spacious and immaculately clean; being nestled among well established trees and pristine gardens creates for a very peaceful and private atmosphere. Fast and reliable internet Wi-Fi access is available throughout the resort and the restaurant serves up scrumptious Thai and western dishes. I can’t say enough about the amazing host Tim, a very interesting, worldly lady who will put a smile of your face and the silver lining on your stay. Stayed at Romyen Gardens Resort during my first visit to Chiang Mai and very gladly returned two months later for some R&R having travelled through Laos and Cambodia; easily my favourite place in Thailand.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This place is amazing, can't believe we found it, is is reasonably priced, the people are just so lovely, the bungalows are very well kept and clean. The gardens here are just magical! That was on of the best things about this place is that is so close to Chiangmai mai centre yet is far enough out to have such a wonderful, chilled out garden. The food is also amazing and well priced. All over a great find, we have just booked ourselfs in for a rather long stay here!

Room tip: All good
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews