We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #144 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When arriving to this hotel you realise it's just like ever other hotel in Thailand, they don't like to turn on light switches which makes the whole place dark and gloomy so you can hardly see where your going. The room and bathroom was ok, we also had a balcony which was a pathetic excuse for a balcony, I'd have rather not had one. Another issue is there is no tea and coffee making facilities in your room which is usually a standard in a hotel. The pool area is disgusting, the pool is green and you feel like your going to fall through the decking around the pool, we've been to Chaing Mai before and found ourselves going back to a hotel we'd previously stayed at and using their pool. Breakfast is awful, there's flys everywhere and usually all the lids for the food are left open so the majority of everything is cold. The only good thing we found was that one night my cousins phone got pick pocketed round the Night Bazar and the receptionist arranged for one of the guys who worked there to give us a free lift to the police station so we could report it. That was nice of them but I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'll keep it simple when travelling with family I need a two bedroom apartment/room or rooms with adjoining door. Peninsula has this two rooms with a living room, tv,s in each room, perfect.

Price is great, location is okay, breakfast is okay, rooms are old but functional (need a re-fit) overall it meets all of my requirements.

Room Tip: Don't expect five star for two star price, family rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Changmaisausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

No complaints for the price, right outside the old city with lots within walking distance. Friendly staff and decent breakfast buffet.

Would stay again on a budget!

If you are not up for walking, you can get around cheaply with red local taxi or tuk tuk. Fare to the train station was a few bucks via tuk tuk waiting outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flotografo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My stay at the FX Royal Peninsula couldn't have been better. I arrived by bus from Pattaya at 8am and they already had a room for me even though their check-in policy is 2pm. I was greatly relieved and slept like a baby until 1pm. It was a short 8 minute walk to the ' old city ' and all the Wats there. The staff treated me like an old friend and helped me with every thing I asked for, regardless of how insignificant. I will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to anyone going to Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: I had a room on the front and could hardly hear the traffic..so I don't think it matters. The r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlowlyinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Clean, cheap, friendly staff. Its not a five star but nothing at all needs massive improvement. Its a good place to sleep at night (decent beds, air con, decent shower, free drinking water) after exploring chaing mai. Value for money is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iknowiknowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was overall very good for the price we paid. The room was a reasonable size, with working aircon. The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly.

We had breakfast in the morning, which was nice (the usual mix for Thai, American and European food).

I would stay again as slept very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangNoi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Staff is nice!
We checked in and out of this hotel with warm welcome.
There's another building in the same hotel called " FX Royal Pannarai"
In my opinion, Pannarai is newer but Penninsula is more quiet and calm.

We had a good night and sleep well in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nukuanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#118 of 386 in Chiang Mai
432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#150 of 386 in Chiang Mai
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#132 of 386 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#151 of 386 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
1.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#185 of 386 in Chiang Mai
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#116 of 386 in Chiang Mai
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 9/9 Assadathorn Road,Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Royal Peninsula)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $18 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FX Hotel Royal Panerai, Chiang Mai is set right in the city centre of this charming old capital of the ancient kingdom of Lanna. Situated 5 minutes away from Tha Pae Gate and 7 minutes from Chiang Mai’s famous entertainment district, “Night Bazaar”, the hotel is an ideal location for guests to get around the city for a day trip or outdoor expedition. The hotel offers 136 well-equipped guestrooms with all in-room amenities for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing