We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great swimming pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Ranked #123 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great swimming pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very green en well ornamented place. It really felt very cosy. Breakfast and dinner where ok, although slighty more expensive then we were used to in other resorts in the area. The swimming pool is really big and lovely to relax in. It is so big one could do a work-out in the pool. People are veey friendly and keen to help. The road is nearby, but it is still a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
24
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an old tobacco plantation, made into a resort with buildings covered in ivy. We were there in January and at first it was almost erie as noone was about. By the 2nd day, even though hardly anyone was there, it felt more peacful than erie. They have price levels of rooms and we got one of the lower priced ones, which had a VERY hard bed, a table and chairs and a decent bathroom. The more expensive ones had a mattress right on a built up floor--looked interesting! The grounds were lovely with a nice outdoor restuarant and large pool with loungers. Breakfast was included. We had a little difficulty as the servers didn't have much english- but that didn't really matter. I took a yoga class in a beautiful open sided room upstairs. (These people were much better than me- but she was very nice and even switched to English for me) I also had a Thai massage here- hurt like crazy, but felt good when it was over! You have to try at least one! They have 'bikes' you can use--but don't expect much as they were not kept up well at all.

Room Tip: Check out the level of rooms-- paying more may get you a better bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointspeaksandpasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The botanical sanctuary oozes a sense of tranquility and Jurassic park. The hotel looks like a small jungle in where you can stumble upon lots of rare plants and the floral aroma reigns the entire area. The former tobacco barns were transformed to become the rooms decked out with antique wooden furniture. It is really the right place to stay close to the nature! Yet, the tasteless food, long distance from town, and muddy ground could be the drawbacks of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pondtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Songkhla, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This resort has a very nice setting and breakfast venue.
Best for ones who love trees and sunlight and enchanted by ancient stuffs.
It was hard to find at night and very very daunting as we arrived at around 9 p.m.
The breakfast was offered with few options but the setting was pretty nice,
spacious green yard touched by sunlight, many of buildings built for birds,
huge pool, trees. I love it!
An old TV given in the room made me crazy, too small, no cable, bad signal.
Might be good for you if you like sitting back in the garden holding your book.
The bathroom was not so pleasing. Anyway, it was well worth money I paid for.
Will I come visit again? No! But you would love it there.

Room Tip: Do arrive before sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubledinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Maybe once this place was a nice resort, however nowadays it doesn't meet the expectations that were given from the earlier customer reports at all.
For us this was the last of the resorts we stayed in during our biking trip around Chiang Mai and after a series of nice places at the country-site, this was really a disappointment. The resort was located at an enormeous estate, the buildings and balconies were overgrown with plants and the maintenance was very poor. One of the stairs of the main building was out of order. We were the only visitors that night, what brouhgt the kids to the idea of a haunted house (and we could agree with this association). The rooms were filled with a musty smell, that hardly disappeared with a bunch of insence sticks.
We didn't look forward having diner in the restaurant at our own, but the only connection to the nearby village at 2 km's was via a busy "highway"; so for us, with bikes and two kids no option for the night. The food was allright.
We were really happy to leave the next day early in the morning.
The only plus I can mention was the large and beautiful swimmingpool, a prove of the class this place probably ever had.
I'm sorry that I cannot give a more positive image, however I found it necessary to inform other travelers with our experience, that greatly differs from that of the previous reviewers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annemiek r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at Kaomai Lanna Resort for a five night stay. We booked this stay over the holiday break as a place to recharge our batteries and relax. We have taken to doing yoga trips over our holidays, as we have found that when we return home, we are relaxed and happy. Based on the reviews and descriptions of Kaomai Lanna Resort, we felt that it would best suit what we were looking for.

The resort itself is very lovely. The greenery and landscaping are pleasant and wonderful to spend afternoons with coffee just soaking in the vines, trees and bamboo. The pool is excellent with a great deal of much needed sunshine. The open air restaurant is very nice, rustic looking and enjoyable. The food is excellent and we tried as much as we could on he menu. The rooms (which are converted tobacco curing barns) are comfortable enough and spacious. We were put in a upstairs room that had lovely plants growing all over the outside...did I mention sitting and enjoying coffee in the afternoons?

What we felt is that Kaomai Lanna is a great place, but only misses the mark on a few minor points. We found that the cleaning of the rooms was sometimes done as late as 6pm...which made it awkward to enjoy relaxing as you never knew when you could just come and go in your room. The breakfasts, buffet style, was generally cold even though there was eggs, bacon, etc. Our room had a perpetual musty smell and the bathroom often gave off a strange funk. The restaurant is very close to a noisy road which can ruin a lovely dinner.

That being said, the resort makes up for most of these with some very positive pros. The spa was awesome (a little expensive for Thailand, but well worth it). The food, again, was great almost each and every time we ate at the resort (most meals actually). You can borrow mountain bikes and ride around the area (great Saturday market and close to a few stores and local shops. The number one best thing was the yoga. The free morning sessions are perfect. The yoga studio is open air and fantastic. The instructor is brilliant. We did five consecutive days and each day had variety. She was one of the better instructors we have had at yoga resorts.

Overall, Kaomai Lanna is a wonderful place to stay for a chance to relax. It is about 29 km away from Chiang Mai, so you can easily make trips in (taxis are expensive, about 500 baht, but you can always catch a yellow city bus). If you are going to stay, make sure you do the yoga. It is what we came for and we were extremely glad we did.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosephandLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed here in March 11 and I must say this is the best hotel I've stayed in chiang mai and probably in thailand. being out of the city the place is a wonderful place for a retreat or families wanting to avoid the hustle and bustle of city life.

What made the place more special was that it has everything we needed. The rooms were spacious and they even upgraded my room when I came to a deluxe. The toilets are really clean and spa like. I must say I was pleasantly surprised being in the countryside and seeing such a beautiful place. Breakfast was great and the hotel even came with complimentary yoga lessons in the morning which made you start the day off great. The swimming pool was well kept and my friends and I had the best time staying at Kao Mai Lanna. Best of all everyone's so friendly and accommodating and you would be sure to be greeted with a smile always.

Lastly the price was really reasonable and I'm sure you won't get this kind of service or treatment anywhere in the city for that kind of money. Definitely worth a visit and it'll bring you closer to the mountains and natural sceneries of chiang mai.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nigch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
10.6 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
15.9 mi away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
18.9 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#51 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#149 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
15.6 mi away
Parinda Garden Resort Spa & Yoga
14.2 mi away
Touch Star Resort
Touch Star Resort
#145 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaomai Lanna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaomai Lanna Resort

Property: Kaomai Lanna Resort
Address: Moo 6 Chiangmai Hod Rd | Ban Klang Sun Pa Tong, Chiang Mai 50120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaomai Lanna Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is perfect for the true nature lover. Rustic style but stay with comfort. Features unique rooms converted from the real tobacco curing barns in a Post-Lanna style furnished with the original of antique Thai-Burmese and colonial style. Amidst a sprawling garden filled with towering bamboo and palm varieties,leafy fruit trees and wildflowers of all description. A community based resort operates with the pinciples of environmental and community sustainability. The focus here is also a creative connections between structure nature and local culture. In Sanpatong district 20 km. drive out of Chiangmai International airport and 29 km. from Chiang mai city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaomai Lanna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaomai Lanna Hotel Chiang Mai
Kaomai Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing