We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kaomai Lanna Resort
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
$112
$102
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$51
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$108
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
$174
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
$502
$456
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
32
28
13
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
28
13
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatswimming poolyoga trainingspathaicottagecomfortrelaxationrenovation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 82 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at Kaomai Lanna Resort for a five night stay. We booked this stay over the holiday break as a place to recharge our batteries and relax. We have taken to doing yoga trips over our holidays, as we have found that when we return home, we are relaxed and happy. Based on the reviews and descriptions of Kaomai Lanna Resort, we felt that it would best suit what we were looking for.

The resort itself is very lovely. The greenery and landscaping are pleasant and wonderful to spend afternoons with coffee just soaking in the vines, trees and bamboo. The pool is excellent with a great deal of much needed sunshine. The open air restaurant is very nice, rustic looking and enjoyable. The food is excellent and we tried as much as we could on he menu. The rooms (which are converted tobacco curing barns) are comfortable enough and spacious. We were put in a upstairs room that had lovely plants growing all over the outside...did I mention sitting and enjoying coffee in the afternoons?

What we felt is that Kaomai Lanna is a great place, but only misses the mark on a few minor points. We found that the cleaning of the rooms was sometimes done as late as 6pm...which made it awkward to enjoy relaxing as you never knew when you could just come and go in your room. The breakfasts, buffet style, was generally cold even though there was eggs, bacon, etc. Our room had a perpetual musty smell and the bathroom often gave off a strange funk. The restaurant is very close to a noisy road which can ruin a lovely dinner.

That being said, the resort makes up for most of these with some very positive pros. The spa was awesome (a little expensive for Thailand, but well worth it). The food, again, was great almost each and every time we ate at the resort (most meals actually). You can borrow mountain bikes and ride around the area (great Saturday market and close to a few stores and local shops. The number one best thing was the yoga. The free morning sessions are perfect. The yoga studio is open air and fantastic. The instructor is brilliant. We did five consecutive days and each day had variety. She was one of the better instructors we have had at yoga resorts.

Overall, Kaomai Lanna is a wonderful place to stay for a chance to relax. It is about 29 km away from Chiang Mai, so you can easily make trips in (taxis are expensive, about 500 baht, but you can always catch a yellow city bus). If you are going to stay, make sure you do the yoga. It is what we came for and we were extremely glad we did.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JosephandLianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed here in March 11 and I must say this is the best hotel I've stayed in chiang mai and probably in thailand. being out of the city the place is a wonderful place for a retreat or families wanting to avoid the hustle and bustle of city life.

What made the place more special was that it has everything we needed. The rooms were spacious and they even upgraded my room when I came to a deluxe. The toilets are really clean and spa like. I must say I was pleasantly surprised being in the countryside and seeing such a beautiful place. Breakfast was great and the hotel even came with complimentary yoga lessons in the morning which made you start the day off great. The swimming pool was well kept and my friends and I had the best time staying at Kao Mai Lanna. Best of all everyone's so friendly and accommodating and you would be sure to be greeted with a smile always.

Lastly the price was really reasonable and I'm sure you won't get this kind of service or treatment anywhere in the city for that kind of money. Definitely worth a visit and it'll bring you closer to the mountains and natural sceneries of chiang mai.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nigch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I just stayed at Kaomai Lanna for a 4 week Yoga Teacher Training. I loved it! I was sceptical when I heard that the hotel ist located right next to a big street. True: It's pretty noisy at the restaurant and reception. But: Back at the pool they serve food, too, and we always had our meals there. Superquiet, surrounded by old trees and chirping birds. The food was always fresh and yummy.
The room: outstanding! Huge, clean and beautifully decorated. I had a downstairs room, that was very quiet. People staying upstairs mentioned that it can get loud during rain or due to animals, due to the metal roof.
The resort ist so lush, it's like living in a tropical forrest. Great massages at the spa! The free bikes are perfect for taking little trips to tempels and markets in the area. The yellow bus to Chiang Mai stops right in front of the hotel. Walk out of the hotel to the right, take a right turn and you can go for a nice run along a quiet road.
Only flaw: The wi-fi only worked on and off. But as other people mentioned: At the cool Sound Café across the road they have free wi-fi as well, which does work.

Room Tip: Upstairs is noisier because of the metal roof!
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bavaria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I came to Kao Mai Lanna for a two week yoga retreat. The upstairs yoga room was the best thing on this resort. The rooms were damp, moldy and not so clean. There were no screens on the windows...go make sure you get a room with a mosquito net. Not all rooms were supplied with hot water machines for tea and coffee if you like to have that in your. The restaurant was 20 feet from the highway and the food was not all that great. The mosquitoes are TERRIBLE!!!!! The pool was nice and the grounds were kept nicely. The staff do not speak good english except for one by the name of Toon. She seemed to be the only one getting things done there. There is a great cafe with coffee and ice cream...turn left out of the resort and walk 3 minutes...you have to cross the highway...it is called Coffee Sound....they have reliable WIFI!!! If you walk another 5 minutes in the same direction there is a little town. I would go there at night and get Pad Thai from a women and her street cart...it was the best Pad Thai I ever had and only 25 Baht....if you walk down to the end of the street vendors there is a guy with excellent spring rolls. This hotel is about 45 minutes from the Old City. I would take a yellow bus for 20 baht. The taxi costs about 500 baht to get to the Old City. Go to Loi Kroh Thai massage on Loi Kroh Road Soi 3 for the best Thai Massage!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovePranaYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

This place is in northern part of Thailand, in the province call Chiangmai. However, this hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport and you better drive by yourself or it can be expensive to arrange the car to transfer you there. Plus difficult to go to the city center.

However, with all the difficulty this place still a very charming place to stay. I've only been here during Thailand's winter. Thus I would only recommend this place during winter. In the summer this place can be different from how I experienced.


Nice place for a night with all the tree surrounding the area. an area in front of the room to sit and chat with friend. If you thinking of hitting the city center at night, then this is not the place for you.

This place is to stay and talk with friend in front of your room. The place is quiet despite fully booked. A nice swimming pool with little garden and pond. nothing fancy but just the building with all the trees grown on its wall.

Good for change from the city for a night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dann_the_man2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews