We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Thailand.... Eat like the Thai people do!”

A lot of Thai : Home cooking class
Ranked #6 of 69 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family run cooking class established in 2001. We began with a small class size. Even though our business has seen tremendous growth, we have decided that this size maintains the personalization and individual attention that each student deserves. Yui (Siripen Sriyabhaya), Thailand's international TV chef still teaches every dish in every class to guarantee the highest quality of instruction. Her expertise attracts a variety of students such as, TV chefs, executive chefs, culinary school teachers, international Thai cooking instructors, food columnists, cookbook authors, tourists, and food lovers.Yui's unique blend of art and science truly make cooking exciting, fun, and easy to follow. When students cook these delicious dishes in class, they are equipped with the skills and knowledge to be able to recreate these dishes at home.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When in Thailand.... Eat like the Thai people do!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yui is great, she makes the class fun and entertaining. She teaches you tips and tricks for cooking and tells you what kind of ingredients you can use to substitute outside of Thailand. We did the whole-day class and were so glad that we did. We made Phad Thai, Curry, Cashew Chicken, soup, spring rolls, and mango sticky rice. Since coming home, I've made most of these dishes and friends/family have been impressed. We had fun critiquing other restaurants after learning the proper way to make thai dishes from Yui.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuliaChild862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia,England
Level Contributor
276 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We went for a half day course,cooked three dishes and visited the market.A really enjoyable time and not to be missed,YUI cooks in her home and only takes a max of 8 people -so you must book well in advance,She is a world famous cook.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wood57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
219 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good teacher, clever timing, delicious food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I booked by sending an email and confirmed booking by paying a deposit through a paypal link.
Since this cooking course is very popular, I advise you to book in advance. Everything is well explained on the website.

Yui's son picks up the participants at their hotel. We were a small group of 8 persons.
I had chosen the half day course. We prepared pad thai, prawn soup and green curry chicken.
Yui is a very good teacher. she makes the dish explaining all the steps, she gives us the dish to taste and then we try to do the same with the same result. After each recipe, we eat the dish. So have a light breakfast.

At 0130 pm we went to the local market, at a time when the market was deserted. It is a clever timing since we recognize the ingredients we have just used, we discover others and we remember more information when we end the course by the market visit.
We were given a cookbook, a kind attention.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We took the half day (or half full belly as they describe it) course and it was brilliant.

Yui is funny, talented, make that highly talented and a natural show person - we hadn't realised her tv celebrity status. The fact she collected us from the hotel speaks volumes for her down to earth approach.

We cooked three courses in a lovely environment and with a lovely group of people. Each was clearly explained - not just the ingredients but the principles, it felt the principles would be far more important than individual recipes.

We visited a market as others have mentioned but the real value of the experience is Yui and her passion for thai food.

Loved it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pwils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tastefully Done!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We did the short course which included a trip through the Nong Hoi market and then back to the kitchen with three dishes: stir fried brown rice, papaya salad and panaeng curry with chicken. Just writing this review makes my mouth water. Yui does an excellent job as an instructor along with a very good sense of humor. Everything is provided and we each had our own cooking station. Be ready to eat, learn and have fun! This is a wonderful way to spend some time immersed in the food culture of Chiang Mai, Thailand. We highly recommend this hands on course!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A lot of Thai : Home cooking class also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to A lot of Thai : Home cooking class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing