We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julie has the spirit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julie Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julie Guest House
Ranked #159 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Nitra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Julie has the spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

I reserved three nights in advance during Flower festival at julie.it is great place to chill out, nice restaurant, helpful staff.Really great place.we wanted to stay two more nights but they were full, so book early!

  • Liked — close to everywhere, nice staff
  • Disliked — the room wasnt sparkling clean
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makromolekula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    114
    53
    33
    39
See reviews for
2
98
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

This place is perfect at what is does. We stayed a total of 4 nights in 2 different double rooms with bathroom (220 and 300 Baht) - both clean and adequate. Chill out areas are fab.

The staff are extremely helpful and do not push particular courses. We did a cooking course at the Thai Farm which was brill, and did one of the overnigt treks (they reserved a room for our return). All booked for us. Easy.

Breakfast was brilliant and such good value!

This is a backpackers joint, and for less than 300 Baht you can't expect a palace - but we loved this place and Chiang Mai.

  • Liked — Cheap and quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

This was one of my favourite places in s.e.asia. Was really friendly food was great and we met some awsome people. We booked a trek and cooking course through them and they were both excellent. We also hired mopeds and drove to pai, do it it was so much fun but the roads are very windy so dont if you have no experience. When we went to pai they lloked after our main backpacks so we only had to take a few things with us.

It is such good value for money but the rooms are basic. At this price you do not get all your creature comforts but we stayed in a en-suite and a shared shower room and found both to be fine. If you are expecting a luxury hotel dont stay here but if you are on a budget then i could not recommend a better place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank we123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Julies in March, and found the room to be decent especially for the price. 350 Bhat per night.
We had en suite which probably helped with the experience compared to people that share the facilities.

The room was clean, although we chose to use our own sheets.
I could tell that the sheets were washed, but were noticeably worn.
This property has a nice lounge area in the back which was great in the mid afternoon when it was just too hot to be out and about.
The bathroom has a western toilet with a shower in the same area which is to be expected. It was fine, but at times the water smelled a little funny, but it soon passed if you let it run a bit.

The breakfast was always good. I loved the croissants they served hot. It was also interesting with the honor system they have in place.
You just fill in whatever you have taken from the fridge in a book under your room number, and they add in any food you have ordered. You then pay at the end of your stay with the room bill.

I think regarding the last guests comments (assuming you were planning to check out and not pay for the nights you were away on your trip), they probably got upset because they ask guests to inform them the night before if they are leaving. They hold rooms for guests coming in, and do turn people away if they are not informed that the room will be open. There were line ups of people trying to get in each morning when I was there.
It may seem rude, but it's still a business, and that rule did not seem too unreasonable. Most places would just take your money in advance and not give it back if they were holding a room for you. (If this is not the case then my apologies.)

Over all the stay was better then expected. I was a bit concerned following the last couple reviews, but I went in figuring it would just be an inexpensive no frills kind of place to rest my head.
We did hear some people one upping their travel stories to each other, but we chose to just laugh and move on. Obviously those people just need to prove something to themselves. It shouldn't really reflect the place as a whole. Also no bugs to be seen, which I heard was an issue at some places.

My suggestion is to just take the en suite rooms, bring your own sheets and you should be fine. Just having the fan was bearable even in the hot season. Some of the AC units we saw in town were in much worse shape then the rooms at Julies and cost a lot more.




On a side note though, make sure to be very careful with your belongings at the massage places around the area.
I thought I was being safe having my bag right beside me, but I felt that the masseuse was going through my things while I was turned the other way. (She seemed distracted while giving the massage the second my head was turned, and then all of a sudden needed to go for two minutes.) I ended up checking my bag and did not see my wallet in the bag. The woman came back and saw me looking and I just said I was looking for my lip gloss. We went back to the massage, but I turned around and she quickly picked up my purse and put it in front of me. Then my wallet happened to be right on top of my things in my purse when I checked it at the end. Very fishy?
This was a massage place very near Julies.
I cannot really prove for certain that anything was taken there, but a travelers cheque did go missing that day which was a very strange coincidence. I just don't know why that, and not just cash if it was taken.

I won't really ever know, and I canceled the cheque just in case, Just take it as a warning, make sure things like that are always in your sight not just near you no matter how legit the place looks. Better safe then sorry, even if nothing did happen there.

On a lighter note, we really enjoyed going to the Elephant Nature Park while in Chiang Mai. You can book at their office just a short walk away on the end of Ratchamanka road near the moat. Some travel agencies will tell you they are full, or not available because they don't get a commission, so it is best to go directly to their office to book.
It is a bit more expensive then some tours, but I felt it was worth it. If you love just seeing and interacting with happy animals acting naturally then this is the activity for you. Very laid back, and a great experience. You wont ride them, but that can be boring anyway, and it's great to know that these elephants have been saved from unhappy lives.

Also you need to try a cooking class. We did one with the Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School out at the owners house. It was great as well.

  • Liked — The relaxed atmosphere, the price
  • Disliked — could be slightly cleaner. It would be nice if they had the option of AC for a higher price.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

We booked for 5 nights at this guesthouse. After the first night, we decided to go on a trip and when we were picked up by our tour operator in the morning, the guy at the guesthouse saw us and gave us 5 minutes to leave our room. We literally were kicked out because as he said "No money, not interested. Go!".
They did not even allow us to leave our backpacks in their reception!!

Dirty, place, a shame for our so far experienced warm thai hospitality.

Stay away!!!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveldudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Huelva, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

If you´re a posh hippy you may like it : most of the people there are youngsters trying to seem the hippiest guys in the world, pretending to be cool and interesting and talking about their unique adventures in Asia and so on. Just like a high school ...

Besides the place is dirty ( nice collection of petrified insects iun our sheets ) and due to the ultraslim walls you can easily take part in the conversations of your adjacent rooms.

Think it twice before choosing this place. There are so many better options in Chiang Mai ...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ElBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

When we first checked in, we were thinking about leaving cause the place felt so dirty. This is made for people who have been on the road for months, and want a place that feels as grungy and worn-in as they feel. We decided to stay however. Mistake. When we got back from a 2-day trek, turns out that they let our room to someone in the meantime. They did NOT however change the sheets. Same sheets as when we were there. I guess they could have just happened to put the same sheets back on the bed as before, after cleaning and washing them, but I doubt it. Furthermore, I left my cell phone in the room and was hoping when I came back that they might have set it aside. I knew I left it in the room because I used it as an alarm to wake us for the trek, but did not bring it with me in the trek and didnt pack it. Well, the head guy at the office got really stressed out and started yelling at me when I asked him to check for it, saying that it must be my fault, and his stafff would never take anything. Granted, my fault for leaving the phone, but Julie's fault for yelling at guests. All in all, a [--] place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lanikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#28 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#175 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#19 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#46 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
SOHOstel
SOHOstel
#197 of 787 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julie Guest House

Property: Julie Guest House
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9, T Phra Singh, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | Phrapokklao, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Julie Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing