We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful staff”
Review of Julie Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julie Guest House
Ranked #157 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pretty good value- only 100 baht for a (very basic) single room, but the staff at reception ruined it. Very unfriendly, unprofessional and unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aree9035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    118
    55
    34
    39
See reviews for
3
104
89
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is just the place to be if you want to meet other travellers with good spirit! It's like a chill out bar with great rooms in it and it's SO cheap.
It's one of these places where you get a notebook when you checkin, they show you the fridge and you write down what you take. They trust you, and it works like that.
The tours and treks they propose are great and the staff is very helpfull.
The guesthouse itself is like I said, very chillout (suits to Chiang Mai !), very well decorated.
The double rooms are basics but very clean and it has all you need.
We're coming back in Chiang Mai in a few weeks and won't be going anywhere but there !

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bastien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We only stayed here one night, and it was fine but I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer. The location is good, and we paid 350 baht for a double with fan and an en-suite bathroom. But the bed was extremely uncomfortable, and I definitely wouldn't have wanted to sleep on it another night.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

If all you are looking for is a cheap and clean bed for a cople of nights, Julie's will do the trick. Don't come expecting anything more - staff are rude (one gave me attitude when I asked her how to lock the door properly!) and the food at the restaurant is poor quality. The rooms overlooking the lobby area are very noisy, ask for a room farther away from reception. This is also one of those places the guide books warn you about: if you aren't booking treks through their tourist business, they will not let you stay more than 3 nights.

On the plus side, the location is good and there is an excellent massage shop (Saija Massage) and great spot or breakfast (Funky Monkey Cafe) just down the road.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NinjaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppadoms01235
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Absolutely fantastic place! I have stayed in many a guesthouse/hostel but this is one ofthe better ones! 
The staff are beyond friendly  and helpful they go out of their way to make sure your ok! 
The atmosphere here is do laid back! You can sit by the reception and listen to chilled out music on the comfy chairs or there is a garden area around back which is very peaceful and there are also a couple of hammocks if you fancy a lay down!
There is also a tour desk which can help arrange everything from a 1 day trekking trip to a week long trekking trip, from visa runs to moped rentals pretty much anything! 
The rooms are small but clean and you can choose from cold or hot shower etc but for the price a cold shower is fine about 180baht a night (£2) for a twin room. 
There is also a luggage room where you can put your rucksacks if you only need a little one on your trek for example!
Really great place to meet people!
It was recommended to me by a friend and I would recommend it to any traveller looking to spend a little but gain a lot!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppadoms01235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

nothing spectacular as far as the rooms go, pretty basic. Great location to walk to weekend, saturday & night bazzar markets with ease. clean rooms & friendly staff. mobile bar out front on street is a plus, beers at place arent the cheapest but 711 not far away to buy some cheaper. Went on overnight jungle trek aranged by guesthouse that was a fun experience. wouldnt stay if with a family & kids, but good for budget backpackers. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: single bed with A/C isnt too much, better than sharing a room with a friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Entirely true they check you out after 2nights without warning unless you sign up to their tours. The staff are cold, unfriendly and prioritise new guests over ones who already stay. They made a drama over the fact we intended to stay for longer than 2nights and they got teary eyed over the fact they had to go to the effort of rubbing out new guest names on the whiteboard against our room and put them in a room which had been checked out of instead. The staff don't talk to each other about who has booked in which guests where n don't even let existing guests know that their time is up. Ken said we had until the end of the day to confirm we were staying longer as this depended on whether our visas had gotten extended, so after a lengthy visit to the immigration office we returned to confirm the good news to find they'd allocated our room to new guests while we were gone. Obviously disappointed with the rubbish system we encountered a lot of hassle once again about moving names on the whiteboard so we were told we had to check out at 10.30 only for them to change their minds once again in the morning as our replacements were fitted into an empty room again. Such a bad atmosphere between the staff and felt most unwelcome! Such a bad experience after I've been dreaming of visiting Chiang Mai for many years. Can't even be bothered to look elsewhere in Chiang Mai. Hopefully Pai lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Julies Guesthouse
Julies Guesthouse
#171 of 826 in Chiang Mai
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 736 in Chiang Mai
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Julie Guesthouse Part 2
#408 of 826 in Chiang Mai
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#34 of 826 in Chiang Mai
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#24 of 826 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#45 of 736 in Chiang Mai
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julie Guest House

Property: Julie Guest House
Address: 6 Rachamanhka 9, T Phra Singh, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200 | Phrapokklao, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Julie Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing