We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Riverside Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
Ranked #79 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Lanna mantra for five nights in a deluxe room.

The location has both positives and negatives, positives being that it is quite relaxing and a welcome break when one becomes sick of the hustle around the old city. However it is around a 15-20 minute tuk tuk ride from tha pae gate area with the free shuttle from the hotel only being one way at 1030am and 6pm. The going rate for the tuk tuk seemed to be 150 baht during our stay however with persistence 120 could probably be achieved.

Our room was adequately sized with tasteful decor in the traditional lanna styling. However I would say the bed and pillows were some of the hardest I have ever experienced on my travels.
As we visited in winter there were some issues with the bedding being insufficient on the coldest nights and the air conditioning seemingly only able to put out cold air. Secondly there is a lack of sound proofing in the rooms which is an issue depending on neighbour's with one night a thirty minute argument upstairs between a Chinese couple able to be heard clearly over the tv.

The pool is of a good size although fairly cool to swim in. There is a lack of deck chairs and given the pool is surrounded by trees, chairs only sporadically receive sun throughout the day, perhaps a lesser issue in hotter seasons.

Breakfast was adequate albeit a limited selection, with the 2 hot dishes changing daily. Staff were helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant twice, it was adequate although perhaps a touch expensive. Down the road on the right is a thai restaurant which I can recommend if one doesn't want to make the trip into town.

Overall the stay here was satisfactory and if possible I probably would have given 3.5. It would best suit those who want to stay somewhere more relaxing preferring to make a trip into town at their leisure.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tassie_Travellers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 413 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent five nights there and enjoyed every minute. Very relaxing, quiet location with a pool adjacent to the Ping River. To our surprise the food in the restaurant was outstanding. The staff friendly and would ensure our needs were accommodated. As it is about 6-7kms out of town, we were still able to be picked up for our tours. Of our four weeks in Thailand, the time spent in Chiang Mai and the Lanna mantra were our most memorable and enjoyable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I loved my stay here. Staying a little bit out of the main city is totally worth it.
The river is gorgeous, and the restaurant sits right on it with beautiful lanterns.
Breakfast is good I would get it included because any where else to eat is not in walking distance.
Great movies on premium fox channel ( we were sick for two days so came in handy, we also got McD's delivered!)
Great service, although point to what you want on the menu as english isn't amazing. However they are all very helpful people and the restaurant very reasonably priced.
You can hire scooters from the resort which is handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on the second floor (top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgib876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at The Lanna Mantra fairly late one evening and so didnt realise how far away from everything it is. It is a very nice looking hotel, and we were able to get a quick bite from the riverside bar (it closes promptly at 10pm though and they dont hang around! so we just put our plates and glasses on the bar once we had finsihed)

so first impressions were good. Shame they didnt last!

at 4.45am a cockeral decides to start crowing. Then at 6am the restaurant starts getting ready for breakfast by playing (soft) music. Our room over looked the breakfast area so we couldnt open our curtains - but there was no main light in the room either so we only had the dimly lit bedside table lights to see around.

It was also freezing cold in the evening (we went in december and were aware the temperature would drop) but there was no heating or spare blankets in the room. Having a shower was a joke as it would differ form boiling hot to freezing cold constantly - then having to enter a cold room! not nice.

there is also a lot of general noise (planes, crickets etc) that can make a light sleeper struggle to drift off.

we also booked and paid for massages (500 baht each for 2 hour massge) this was ok, ladies were friendly and arrived on time, the only thing to mention is that i had left the tv on and numerous times i would find my massuse just watching tv... so note - if you book a massage, turn the tv off!

Overall its not a bad place at all, just not much going on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBunny902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved it, and after staying 6 nights, we didn't want to leave. It felt like our home away for home and didn't want to leave. Each day, the staff was warmer to us, and by the end, smiles, jokes abounded! Hugs when we were saying goodbye, and truly, we felt very good here. We did find the beds so incredibly hard, the first night was torture! By the end of the week, we somehow adjusted and didn't even notice it. We both commented that, wow, this place really grew on us. Breakfast was great, the price is great, and we PREFERRED to stay our of town a bit. The tuk tuks were so cheap, that when we missed the shuttle, oh well. One day we rented our own scooter to get around, and that was so fun. Joy at the front desk helped us plan our days, speaking with elephant camps, restaurants, and even pick up arrangements with the thai cooking school. We really appreciated her help! Ok, we had the best room I think! Facing the Ping River, second floor, it was so beautiful! Shower was awesome, we were pleased with all of that. One night, my husband went to the little outdoor bar by the river, for a few drinks, and there was a cook there, working behind the bar (?), and he made him green curry! My husband said it was the best he had! I didn't even know they had food out there, until another night we met other guests for drinks and ate there. It was delicious too. We met 3 sets of forever friends at Lanna Mantra as well, lovely people, celebrating Christmas and New Years like us. It was a great time. And I think the fish will miss me feeding them every morning *wink*.
Oh, side note, and a sad one: the first day we met the resident kitty. He was soooooo sweet, and such a nice thing to see the cat roaming around the property, he made the scene complete in a way. Sadly, while looking for him one morning, we learned he was attacked by a neighborhood dog and died. So it was a sad day. The day before we left, we offered to get them another kitty to roam around, and we would pay for shots, spaying, etc., but Joy said, they are going to take a break from having a kitty. But it was a nice addition, as other reviewers have stated.

Room Tip: #223 or anything facing the Ping River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a river facing room overlooking the pool area which was a beautiful view and very peaceful. The hotel is very traditional and made a nice change to stay somewhere authentic. The grounds really are lovely and it is the perfect retreat away from all the hustle and bustle of the city.

The room was nice and had everything you need, and the large balcony was a good feature. The only negative here is the bathroom was very basic and could definitely do with being upgraded to bring it in line with the rest of the hotel (the plastic shower curtain is my pet hate!).

Staff were friendly, some of their English wasn't great but not a big deal. One member of staff was pretty rude but this was the exception.

Breakfast was good - when we first arrived i think we must have been pretty much the only guests so the chef prepared our cooked breakfast especially for us. Only had breakfast here but the set-up for dinner looked lovely.

The shuttle service ran twice a day (morning and evening) which was handy as you are about 15 minutes out of town. You can then catch a tuk-tuk back which depending on how much we could be bothered to stand there and barter ranged from 150-250 Baht.

I would definitely recommend this to couples for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lovely place to stay. Very beautiful, just outside the main city but feels like you are away from it all. Hotel very nice and traditionally styled but features all the facilities you need.
Only ate breakfast here but was very good. The staff and very helpful and organise taxi's for you into the center. Chaing mai is a must if you go to Thailand. The hotel does feature a pool besides the river but this is very cold to use.
Room was perfect, huge bed!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#72 of 393 in Chiang Mai
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#153 of 393 in Chiang Mai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#62 of 393 in Chiang Mai
162 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#67 of 393 in Chiang Mai
607 reviews
2.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura

Address: 146 Paton Road | Pa Ton Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand (Formerly Lanna Dusita)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $50 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view from the hotel ranks among the most beautiful spots facing the vast river bend. Most tourists want to get a glimpse. Experience a world of difference between a visit to Chiang Mai. When you want to avoid the chaos to place your stream of quiet where you can relax and be yourself. We cater to all your senses when you come to us. The simple beauty of Lanna ... usually impress and create memorable experiences for you to experience the Lanna Dusita located in the middle of a natural habitat that offers the same family. In general, urban Lanna this will make during your stay, you have access to the peaceful exploration and experience the unique cultural charm through the history of art. The tranquility and beauty around the heaven of Lanna. Lanna Dusita located north of the city and only 15 minutes from the city center. Along the Ping River There are many cultural events throughout the year in the capital of Lanna former empire. Getting comfortable commute Shopping Kad Luang (Warorot Market) Night Bazaar and Tha Pae Gate, all the needs and desires of those who stay in order to get the maximum satisfaction and tight seal in memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna Mantra Chiang Mai
Lanna Mantra Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing