We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier that we stayed here”
Review of The 3 Sis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The 3 Sis
Ranked #13 of 756 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier that we stayed here”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews and location and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, we were treated so warmly. The staff went above and beyond to help us plan our stay in Chiang Mai. From reserving us a cooking class, to recommending bars, restaurants or anything else we wanted, even little things like remembering our faces and saying hello really made us feel at home.
The location is excellent, right in the middle of the old city, across from Wat Chedi Luang and right in the heart of the Sunday night market.
Breakfast is free and a la carte, and although nothing spectacular, you have your choice and it is a great way to start your day. I rotated between the Thai Omelette and fruit and yogurt.
The only negatives I would give (and they are small) would be 1) the hot water was a bit erratic in the mornings (fine in the evenings though) and 2) The walls are a bit thin, so noise from monks at the temple across the street, people in the hallway or even geckos on the roof can be heard. Other than those minor inconveniences, everything was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    253
    47
    11
    0
See reviews for
114
410
94
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I visited here twice during my visit for a drink in the early evening. A very calm and relaxing place to relax on the large front porch.
Very clean, very good service, and an amazing location just across from the main temples in the heart of the city.
I had the strawberry shake and warm cashew nuts which were both great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank comminsdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The lobby was so well put together, wide and airy with lots of seating options, koi pool, made it hard to pry yourself up and out. The breakfasts were more than ample with a good selection of choices. The rooms were very clean, quiet, comfortable and roomy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel perfectly located in the old city centre and right opposite the entrance to the Wat Chedi Luang. It is very well run by an efficient and happy staff.

The good -
The staff are delightful and helpful. The beds are very good and are clean and the sheets fit. The shower room is excellent. There is a good breakfast choice with good coffee and the restaurant meals are reasonable. The path side bar area is a great place for meeting and people watching. Kettle in the room. Very good free wifi.

The bad -
There is nothing really bad, but we were troubled by a lot of mosquitos in our room. The walls between the ground floor room we were in did not offer good sound resistance. This is a big nuisance, particularly if you are a light sleeper and there are a lot of Chinese staying around you.

We loved this place and would definitely return on a future trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laid-Back-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked at 3Sis based on a friend's recommendation--what a great place! The staff is extremely helpful with all aspects of your visit--don't hesitate to ask for help or recommendations. The rooms were lovely and quiet, with good mattresses. The breakfasts are generous, with a lot of variety. The lobby is open-air and a great place to sit, read, relax.... The location is central, in the old city, but far away from the noisy bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here with some friends and found 3sis to be absolute bliss in the center of beautiful Chiang Mai.

The rooms are clean and the lobby is fantastic for relaxing after a day of walking around.

You shouldnt hesitate to ask the staff for help as the will go above and beyond to help you in discovering the city and the region and give good advice on where and what to eat.

At these prices there is not a lot that will come close. Arriving on Sunday evening will be a bit of a challenge as the street in front will be transformed in a night market, making walking the only option.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (numbers ending on 5 or 6) may be a bit noisier due to their street location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rianbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here in December for 3 nights. Check in was smooth, quick and easy. We were on the top floor, which wasn't too bad but if you have any walking/mobility issues it's would be difficult. I was a little disappointed as our room was really quite dark, made worse as I have bad eyesight. However, it was very large and spacious. The bathroom was a good size and much lighter too.
Breakfast was al a carte and arrived quickly. A good selection of fruit juice too, which for a non tea or coffee drinker was great.
The best part about the place is the location, we were able to wander the sois at our leisure which is one of our favourite past times.
The staff are very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying here but perhaps a room at the rear of the building would have been more suited to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushlynds2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
975 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 3 Sis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 3 Sis

Property: The 3 Sis
Address: 1/3 Soi 8 Phrapokklao Rd | T. Phrasing, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The 3 Sis 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Chiang Mai, our friendly family-run guesthouse offers you a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. We are perfectly situated within a short stroll of Chiang Mai's most renowned temples and attractions, including the Chiang Mai's "must see" Sunday night market. All rooms are equipped to ensure a soothing and pleasant stay, with private bathroom, mini-fridge, drinking water,water kettle, air conditioning, TV and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The 3 Sis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Sis Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing