We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of The 3 Sis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The 3 Sis
Ranked #14 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I moved to the 3 sis from another hotel that I didn't like. the 3 Sis cost more, but it was worth it!

The rooms are pleasant - I stayed in a room facing the street, right across from Wat Chedi Luang, so I could watch the monks come and go but I had no noise problem whatsoever. The room is decent-sized and comfortable. The lobby is very pleasant - open-air, water feature, comfortable. The staff were all great - they showed me several rooms when I walked by to check the place out and were always helpful. From here you can walk to various old City locations (you're inside the walls) or go outside the gates to get a cheap taxi truck.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 863 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the 3Sis after a recommendation from a close friend, and I'm so glad we did. We stayed here for 3 nights in room 301 in the vacation lodge. Quickly upon check-in, Boom helped us call our previous hotel where we'd left our credit card. He communicated our message to them (in Thai) and was quite hospitable.

The room rate includes breakfast, I had the Thai omelet every morning and truly enjoyed it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The location was central to activities in old town and an easy walk to the night market. Having the 7-11 near the hotel was quite convenient, as we were able to pick up red bulls when we wanted them. And having Wat Chedi Luang across the street allowed us to have great views of the Wat during all times of day.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gte478p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were walking in chiang mai looking for a place to stay and found this lovely place. They showed us a great. room with a balcony (#A5) and we took it.

Service is excellent: we had a minor issue with the a/c and they fixed it. They also helped us organize tours and were very helpful in giving advise and tips. The food in their restaurant is great - only drawback is that it is closed for dinner.

Last thing, they are very conveniently located and everything is easily accessible. Would definetely recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gato_oso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I just recently spent four days at The 3Sis Hotel. The reason why we chose to reside at this hotel was because of its location, which virtually situated in front of arguably the most visited temple in Chiang Mai, Wat Chedi Luang. Moreover, there were many old temples
surrounded that area, which were walkable and very safe for first time travelers like Judy and I. While the area was enriched with historical shrined and temples, western restaurants, pub, and coffee shops could be found very plenty both on the main street and in the alleys.

About the hotel, The 3sis tends to be a homy B&B rather than a luxurious hotel. It offers a balanced vibe of an old traditional Lanna style and a classic colonial style of architecture.

The hotel's staff were friendly and very helpful. They never seemed tired of being informative when it came to an elephant ride, rafting bamboo trip, suburban sightseeing, Thai boxing match, and indigenous visit up in the mountain crest. What impressed me most about these people is the fact that they treat you like their neighbors or even their own family. I was a little surprised to see every one of the staff actually remembered me and my wife's names.

Breakfast and food were nuanced from a five star hotel's.
The room that we stayed was nice and clean.
A lot of trees were planted in the hotel's premise, very greenery.

We love this hotel and will definitely come back again for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jarulove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We planned to stay in Chiang Mai for 3 days and we ended up staying 6 nights at the amazing 3 sis. Yes, this B&B ist not the cheapest place to stay (50 USD/night) in chiang mai but its worth the money. Especially we would like to mention the (good looking :)) guy at the front desk, who has very good English skills - we think he was the junior manager (He did high school in the USA).

The rooms were spacious, clean and with lovely furniture. The bed was also great, the location as well in the center of the old town with many good restaurants and cafe around the corner and the sunday street market in front of the building. Chiang mai itself ist a good base to do some trips as we did, for example to an elephant camp, a private trip or the tiger kingdom.

Over all, a good place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear building with a view to the temple (incl. Balcony). Its cheaper and you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the 3 Sis recently for 4 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff is so nice, and so helpful with everything we did. They booked our excursions, gave us maps and directions, called cabs for us, etc. They certainly went above and beyond. The hotel lobby is really nice and we had fun hanging out there in between excursions. The location is great too, since you can walk to everything. You cannot beat the price. The room was simple and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Chiang Mai is a curious place. The old town has not much character and apart from temples, markets and some nice restaurants there is not much more to do or see in the town itself. This hotel is central, clean, quiet and yes, the staff are nice and helpful. They helped us get a scooter and suggested places to go and visit. We stayed in room 213?, at the front of the building and we had stunning views over one of the main temples, only marginally spoilt by a massively bright seven-11 sign which on the other hand was handy. The Sunday market is also outside the door and there are some nice cafes and restaurants just around the corner. I felt that we were getting a good deal for the money, as we enjoyed staying and chilling in the room sometimes. The only slight let down was breakfast, with limited choice, the coffee was sometimes drinkable but occasionally vile. All in all a good place to stay and explore Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the front rooms, try to request the one with no tree opposite to get a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 389 in Chiang Mai
981 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 389 in Chiang Mai
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 389 in Chiang Mai
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
0.4 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 3 Sis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 3 Sis

Address: 1/3 Soi 8 Phrapokklao Rd | T. Phrasing, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $52 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 3 Sis 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Chiang Mai, our friendly family-run guesthouse offers you a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. We are perfectly situated within a short stroll of Chiang Mai's most renowned temples and attractions, including the Chiang Mai's "must see" Sunday night market. All rooms are equipped to ensure a soothing and pleasant stay, with private bathroom, mini-fridge, drinking water,water kettle, air conditioning, TV and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The 3 Sis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Sis Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing