We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey for what you get”
Review of The 3 Sis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The 3 Sis
Ranked #13 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The 3sis hotel is located across from Wat Chedi Luang (my favorite Wat in CM) and walking distance from other Wats. Easy access to restaurants and about a 30 min leisurely walk to the Night Market. I thought the price was a little steep for the room, but maybe that's the price for being so close to everything. Breakfast was ok, can get boring very quickly.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kukiimnzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 866 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

My boyfriend, sister and I stayed at this amazing little bed and breakfast recently for 4 nights. The atmosphere as soon as you walk in is relaxing and friendly! The staff were very helpful and were always happy to help arrange any transport, tours or information we enquired about. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget of around $60-80 nz a night. It is a little pricey but was worth it as it is located in the beautiful old city across the rd from a temple that ads to the setting! Breakfast is included in the price which has about 5 different options that are all really nice and filling :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently spent five days here.

Overall, it was a good choice. Very convenient for the old city, with a pleasant and spacious lobby, good guest PCs for people without their own computers, good wifi coverage. The rooms were good, bathrooms had abundant central hot water instead of dinky electric units.

Beds were a little softer than the usual rock-hard beds found in Chiang Mai.

Downsides: the place had much more of a mosquito problem than other places I've stayed at, so liberal personal dousings of repellent and daily room fumigations were required. The outdoor restaurant area is right next to a very noisy road which made breakfast an 'eat and get out of there' experience instead of something more relaxing.

Note that this hotel does not have a pool, if that is important to you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank L_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have mixed feelings about 3 sis. The lodge is beautifully furnished, with care and attention paid to its furnishing in the rooms and the lounge area. However is difficult to justify the price one has to pay for the place. If you walk around the vicinity, you could find bed and breakfast lodges, for a double room, at an average 1300 baht . Unless you do spend most of your time in the room and lounge area, which I must say is a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of packed activities. The breakfast is enough to fill you up, but with very limited choices. I stayed there for 4 nights and I grew tired of the breakfast by the 2nd day. The room amenities are very basic, so don't expect hot kettle unless you ask from the service staff. Even then, the request was met with some level of reluctance. My room, 308, has no view at all, unless you consider looking out to another hotel's stairway is one. The walls are thin, and you practically could hear annex rooms' closing and opening. One plus about the place is its accessibility to cafes, 7-11, bank tellers and massage parlours. If you are looking for a mere clean room with no need for aesthetically furnished rooms and lounge, you are better off staying elsewhere and save the baht for better meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Our time in Chiang Mai was enhanced through our stay at 3 sis! This is THE place to stay if visiting Chiang Mai. It is in the heart of the old city, easily walk able to major sites. The staff is warm, welcoming and very responsive if you need help with anything. They helped arrange taxis and were mindful about not pushing hotel arranged tours like other hotels can. There is also a restaurant with decent food thai and non thai food if you need a bite to eat. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My husband and I slept very well. Even though there was a festival during our stay, activities generally ended by 11 or 12 so slept very well. Finally, the design of the lobby is open with high ceilings, a relaxing lounge area to chill with a good book, great ambience!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobiz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a cool little hotel! recommended by a friend, we stayed here for a week, and loved it. the staff were all friendly, and went out of their way to look into things, make bookings and give advice. the rooms are perfectly fine & clean, and the lobby is great for just chilling out. wifi worked great all round the the place. breakfasts were pretty good in general. location was outstanding for whatever you want.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneagain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived on the Sunday night to experience the full swing of the Sunday night market. We dropped our bags off and had a look round the market which was probably the best we have been to. The hotel is very nice. The rooms are big enough and clean. The bed is slightly less hard than other hotels in Thailand. The hotel staff are very helpful indeed and ordered us taxis on several occasions and booked us onto a cookery class at our request. Breakfast was tasty and you had a choice from about 5 different options. We also had lunch at the hotel one day and there is a varied menu and the food was very tasty. The temple opposite the hotel, Wat Chedi Luang is worth a visit and also the night bazaar which you can get to by a tuk tuk but be sure to batar with the tuk tuk drivers.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 392 in Chiang Mai
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 392 in Chiang Mai
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#10 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#28 of 801 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 3 Sis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 3 Sis

Address: 1/3 Soi 8 Phrapokklao Rd | T. Phrasing, A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $54 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The 3 Sis 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Chiang Mai, our friendly family-run guesthouse offers you a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. We are perfectly situated within a short stroll of Chiang Mai's most renowned temples and attractions, including the Chiang Mai's "must see" Sunday night market. All rooms are equipped to ensure a soothing and pleasant stay, with private bathroom, mini-fridge, drinking water,water kettle, air conditioning, TV and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your The 3 Sis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Sis Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing