We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable New Year's Eve ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The most memorable New Year's Eve ever!”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel is about 5+ yrs old and although we did not stay there, appeared to be high quality.

The hotel is set off the main street near the Ping River and does not suffer from heavy traffic noise like some hotels which are set immediately adjacent to busy roads. The hotel is reasonably situated for access to night markets and popular pubs and restaurants on the river.

Hotel tuc-tuc transport and security appeared good based on our visit.

By Middle East and Western standards, the price was extremely modest. The New Year’s eve price may be more expensive compared to one of the deluxe hotels in Chiang Mai, but it was all worth it.

New Year’s Eve dinner started at 7ish. Live local Thai dance and entertainment started at 730 with 15 min presentation per set. It lasted until 1030. Food had a wide variety and spread of local thai cuisine in a buffet setting. It had Khantoke local dishes, the popular chicken curry with yellow noodles, live station for noodle soup, pad thai, grill station, etc. Food itself and the presentation was first class. From 1030 onwards, the musicians kept us entertained.

The most memorable/emotional event (for us) was the launching of the “hot air lanterns” into the night sky. At 1130, guests were invited to light their own traditional “hot air lanterns”. The lanterns were provided by the hotel. Few seconds from 12mn, the hotel provided all guests with a complimentary drink to toast and welcome the new year whilst watching the fireworks from the poolside.

Catering service, excellent. Fantastic setting in the garden restaurant and poolside.

Wine menu not very extensive and perhaps the hotel may consider that point. The guests we spoke to who were staying there commended the hotel.

The owner of the hotel was present on New Year’s Eve and was an excellent host.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    170
    36
    5
    4
See reviews for
158
467
68
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Other reviews have said that the location down an alley can put you off a bit, and I agree, but it really is a lovely hotel. The rooms are great, the staff are so friendly, kind and helpful. I have 3 boys, 9,11 and 13, and they all played football with the owner's son who is also 9. The staff were always friendly and helpful. It is also very pretty. As others have said, the tuktuk will take you around, I recommend a trip to the nightmarket which has a lovely atmosphere. A fab restaurant in the nightmarket is The Lemongrass. Food very good, lovely and fresh, and very good value.
We had a day out at Patana Elephant Farm which was the highlight of our trip. Really well worth going.
Anyway, only negative thing to say is that the food at the hotel was not great :( but I would definately go there again if I was going to Chiang Mai. They made us feel very special, welcome and spoilt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umpalumpa186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Puripunn is simply the best hotel I have experienced. Not making this location your base of operations in Chiang Mai would be a real shame. The hotel has excellent rooms, facilities, owners, and most of all service. If you are the type of individual that appreciates customer service, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. The customer service is perfection in application. The owner introduces himself and his wife to you, and specifically considers every guest. The staff is friendly, and ensures the guests are treated like family and not mere occupants of the hotel. For those of you who think this sounds strange, you will have to treat yourself to this oasis in Chiang Mai.. The hotel has an excellent location and is very secure. The experience of the stay is encapsulated in the word magic. When I return to Thailand, this is the only consideration for accommodations. For my friends at the hotel: Thank you. You made my stay so much more than a place to eat and sleep. I have only touched on the main points, but Puripunn's strength lies within the people working there. Again, thanks to all my Puripunn friends
-Howard

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardlhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We just finished a 4-day stay at the Puripunn over New Year's with our family. We had a great experience there and would definitely recommend it for a peaceful, enjoyable stay with top service.

Service- Was the highlight of the stay. We commend Ms. Sirapahra and her staff for their great service. Anything was possible- from arranging day trips, cars/taxis with limited notice, purchasing floating lanterns for us, rides into town. A special experience included one of the evenings where we had asked for a recommendation for a non touristy restaurant where locals eat. The person took care of everything- she identified the place, made the reservation and arranged a taxi for us as it was 10 minutes outside of Chiang Mai. It was a wonderful authentic meal in a beautiful garden setting - one of the highlights of our trip. In small hotels a benefit is personalized, attentive service, but this exceeded our expectations.

Facilities- The Puripunn is set in a beautiful courtyard with nice landscaping and is a very peaceful place. It has a nice pool with a central bale with a jacuzzi underneath it. I was pleasantly surprised to find a well fitted gym with free weights - unusual for a small hotel. The restaurant was pretty good- we had the new year's eve gala dinner which had all of the local and Thai specialities made in different stations by hand, and there was Thai dancing and music as well. The staff took plenty of photos and provided guests with copies of the pictures on CD. The breakfast was pretty good- I should start by saying this is a small hotel, so you will not see a 5 star hotel spread, but for the size of the hotel the choices were quite good- highlights included fresh fruit, made to order eggs and pancakes, coffee from an espresso machine. We and the kids ate well each morning.

Room- was ok- a little small on the whole but well appointed and in reasonably good condition- with a nice balcony with a day bed to lounge on during the sunny days. A solid 4 star room.

Location- I saw a lot of complaints on the location but simply don't think this is an issue. Indeed, the hotel is on a soi hidden from the main road- but this is the benefit of the hotel. It is quiet and peaceful and hidden away from the bustle of Chiang Mai- a pleasure to go to after a day in town. If it were on the main road you would only hear complaints of noise and you would lose the peaceful atmosphere. As far as finding it- if you have a map and can tell or show the driver the address in Thai - you will get there every time no problem. For the location being a bit distant from the city- sure it is across the river but Chiang Mai is a small city and you are 10 minutes walk from the night market and 20 or so from the city wall- you can walk across the whole city in an hour. If you don't want to walk, the complimentary shuttle can get you there in minutes or you can grab a tuk-tuk or a taxi which the staff will arrrange in case the shuttle is not available. Plus, being close to the River gives you access to some great restaurants and bars on the river with nice views, and we had the chance to walk a few minutes to see the New Year fireworks on the bridge itself.

We would definitely recommend this hotel as a nice peaceful hotel tucked away from the bustle of Chiang Mai but close enough to the action with top class service. Don't expect a 5 star big hotel experience- if you look at it through the lens of a small, boutique hotel you will have a rewarding, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harding
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

The character and charm of Puripunn Hotel reflects the cozy historic neighborhood where the hotel is located. The sightseeing attractions lie within a few minutes’ stroll of the hotel or by their friendly complementary transportation.
The hotel is really excellent and provides a sense of peacefullness as soon as you walk through the front entrance. Staff embraces the art of service and is very attentive, efficient, but non-intrusive. The proximity to the festivities of Loi Krathong, the night market, and some good riverside restaurants made for an excellent stay.
We are global travelers and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatduthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We quite simply had a great time here. The room was spacious, clean well fitted out. The staff where very attentive. Only really a short walk to where the action is and fairly reaonably priced, if in doubt you do much worse than stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Good 
Stunning and even prettier at night with the fairy lights
Like staying in a local mansion
Kind staff and attentive mgt
Free tuk tuk over river(go to deck1on the river in the eve)
Close to night bazaar (15 min walk)
Calm and tranquil
clean

Bad
nothing really
Minimal sun around pool due to numerous trees

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing