We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have every stayed in!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
New Britain, Connecticut
1 review
“Best hotel I have every stayed in!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I went to the Puripunn during the middle of our three week honeymoon to Thailand. From the very beginning we were very impressed with the hotel, the staff, the service, the room, etc. When we pulled up in our taxi, the staff took out luggage for us and led us into the beautiful lobby. They greated us with a smile, gave us cool towels and a glass of Thai Iced Tea. Because it was our honeymoon they upgraded our room, but I am sure my husband and I would have been very happy with the original room. The room was spotless and beautiful, there was a HUGE tub and a shower that could have easily fit 4 people. The pool was a few short steps from our room. The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. We did not feel like we were in a city at all.

The hotel is located down a quiet Soi, or alleyway. It is set in a quiet, middle class neighborhood. While we were not located in the old city, we found it very easy to access, it was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the old city. Down the street are some very good restaurants located on the river which have pretty good bands on Friday and Saturday night.

We ate breakfast there everymorning and they have a good selection of Western and Asian foods. We ate dinner at the hotel once and the food was really, really good.

The staff always greated us with a smile and was very willing to help us out. They even had the hotel tuk-tuk take us in the pouring rain so we wouldn't have to hire a taxi. I would go back to this place in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeneyed878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    168
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
155
451
67
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brunei
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

When I was doing research on places on to stay in Chiang Mai, my eyes kept drawing back to this hotel. We couldn't have make a better choice. The place oozes charm and absolutely magical. The gracious host/owner of Puripunn makes you feel like a guest to his house. His staffs are equally helpful, courteous and discreet in anticipating all our needs while staying there. One particular staffs is Payon, he is a gem.
Also, not forgetting how absolutely delicious all our dinners were from the kitchen. I would definately stay there again on my next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We had an excellent time here. It is a little disconcerting driving through the various back strrets to get there but well worth the effort! The staff were delightful, friendly (especially towards our 9 year old son) and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Every morning Att the manager came to see us at breakfast to ensure everything was OK. I only wish that UK hotels could provide this standard of service!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYorksPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

I am a little late in writing this review. We stayed in Puripunn mid of july and cannot rave enough about it. I was browsing through Trip Advisor and came across a friends review for this place. I promptly called him back and he told me to book it without hesitation. From the moment we reached the Puripunn to the time we left, we were looked after so well. The whole place has an old world charm with beautiful furniture and the room is absolutely beautiful. You will not fault with a single aspect of the room. I think we slept so well here after ages. The breakfast was more than adequate and whatever you wanted was freshly prepared and bought to your table with little extra surprises each day, like pancakes or waffles or sautéed vegetables along with eggs of your choice. On one of the days we had to leave early in the morning for a ziplining tour that we had booked. We called up room service and asked them if it was possible to just send us some toast and coffee since it was at least an hour before breakfast timing. As soon as the staff came in, they rushed to get full breakfast ready for us before we left for our day tour. This is just what marks the charm of boutique hotel. They cater to whatever your needs are. The hotel is also walking distance from the riverside where you will find a number of dining options including the Riverside Pub which is packed every night and worth visiting once. The hotel also has a free tuktuk shuttle service daily to drop you to wherever you want. In the evenings its literally on the hour service. The owner Mr Att met us once at our breakfast table and welcomed us very warmly. We did not see him for the rest of the trip yet he made the most thoughtful effort at sending us a handwritten note apologising for attending a seminar and being unable to look after us personally. Honestly it’s all these little things that makes this place one of the most charming boutique hotels we have ever stayed in. If you are planning on going to Chiang mai, don’t even hesitate to consider a stay at this hotel. We had a wonderful time there, am sure you will too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratibha-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

My friends and I stayed in this hotel for 3 days and we enjoyed every minute of it! The service is impeccable; sincerely warm and friendly. The MD himself spent some time to welcome us and we have a really good chat thereafter. The traditional hi-tea is a must-try..such a delicate and pretty sight and simply delicious! Their also did a very good job in the presentation and taste of their buffet breakfast.

The entire place is tastefully done with a rich northern thai touch and the furnishings in the rooms are also very cosy and romantic....very apt for a romantic getaway anytime!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Puripunn has a "luxury boutique " feel to it. As soon as you enter you can tell that it is a small/specialized hotel. The staff is very very nice, and the pool is awesome. The rooms were overall very nice. We were on the third floor with connecting rooms, the rooms on the second and third floors are smaller than the rooms on the first floor and have smaller bathrooms. There was no elevator, which was annoying sometimes especially with a three year old and a stroller. So we left the stroller at the front desk.

The rooms had a older european/asian fusion feel to them with modern amenities. The included wireless internet was a nice bonus, however, the connection was not great. The rooms were bright and welcoming, but the bathrooms were not good at all. The bathrooms were very small, and although they had nice furnishings and tiles, the shower did not have a proper draining system which left the whole bathroom drenched/damp after you shower. The room doors were also rather annoying to open, as they were old fashioned with locks on the top and the bottom of the door. The balcony over looking the pool was very nice, a great place to just sit and relax after a day of sightseeing. The hotel did offer a small gym, but it was pretty pathetic and small, one treadmill in a hot and dusty room.

The hotel's location, although nice and peaceful, was sometimes very difficult for taxi drivers to find. At times the tuk tuk drivers would take forever to find the location, and even after having a member of the hotel staff write down directions in Thai, the tuk tuk driver was still unable to find the hotel.

The night market is about a 5 min tuk tuk drive, and a 20 or so minute walk from the hotel. I would not suggest walking to the bazaar, especially at night.

The restaurant situation in Chiang Mai isn't great, we had a hard time finding a good restaurant that wasn't a tourist trap. The food in Bangkok and Phuket is generally better, I found northern Thai cuisine rather bland.

All in all we had a good experience at the Puripunn, although slightly off the "beaten tourist track" it offers more personalized luxury compared to the other 4.5-5 star hotels in the night market area such as the Le Meridien, Dusit D2, and the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

If you are travelling to Chiang Mai don't doubt to visit this hotel, it's just amazing! The rooms are very beautiful, clean and spacious. The hotel facilities are very nice, lots of flowers, trees...it seems that you are somehow in the middle of a forest! It is a small hotel, so you won't see the breakfast area crowded or the pool full of people, it's a very relaxing hotel just 5 minutes by tuk-tuk to downtown! Close to the hotel you have restaurants and everything but the hotel has free shuttle to downtown or the night market at many hours so it's not necessary to arrange a taxi!
Service is exellent, all staff is very helpful and kind!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing