We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

My wife and I spent NYE and the following 4 days at Puripunn. It was surreal. My wife and I could be described as "hard to please" and we cannot say enough GREAT things about this boutique grand hotel.

The owners, Att and Koy, are a very hip couple who truly believe that creating an oasis in the middle of Thailand's best city, is their calling. Staying at Puripunn feels like you are staying at a good friends compound estate- and it's a beautiful estate. Att and Koy put a lot of thought into the location and design of Puripunn and it shows. It is very close to the river, nightlife and shopping bazaar but it is in down a long alley in a quiet strip of land creating a peaceful retreat from the action in and around Chiang Mai.

I could go on and on about how clean everything was, how attentive and exceptional the staff is (Att and Koy went out and got my wife cough drops at 11pm without a request), the fantasic chef and food, the pool, the rooms, the suite with a pool in the room, etc. but you should really go see it for yourself. This is easily one of the BEST hotels I've ever had the pleasure of being a guest at and we will return.

Many, many thanks (khorb khun kawp) to the staff at Puripunn! We'll visit again soon.

  • Liked — everything (cleanliness)
  • Disliked — there's nothing not to like!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank navigator20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    170
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
156
462
67
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

What a great hotel! It is very charming, with impeccable attention to detail, a veritable little oasis of calm in bustling, busy Chiang Mai. As it is a small hotel (only 30 or so rooms) it feels very intimate. We were in one of the ground floor rooms with access to the garden. The room was lovely and the bathroom huge and luxurious. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and communication, though not always easy, was far from problematic. The pool was small but the overall setting of the hotel/pool area is very relaxing, and we also made use of the convenient hotel spa. I would definitely want to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fran78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I and my husband visited Chiang Mai for the first time on our anniversary and had planed in the first place to make a lazy vacation for such a special time. First grant on our arrival, it was a wow! We stayed at Puripunn, in the room on the garden access floor. The room was well furnished with luxury touch, and also very clean, charming actually. It seemed to us that the hotel worked on tiny detail they had for us, but arranged things just beyond our expectation for our stay. The flowers & a bottle of sparkling wine were lovely set on the oversize lounge by the bath tub on the first night we arrived.

Too good to be true, we were very delighted about many of things at Puripunn. Staffs were polite, friendly, and very attentive. The morning buffet also well presented, not in a big portions, just about lovely, but much enough for people to have what they may need, as the refills were continually served. They offered good quality breakfast with delicious tropical & Thai fruits. You can find yogurts & musslie, cereal & fresh milk, salad, cheeses, cold cut platter, choices of breads, fresh coffee, orange juice with, yummy bacon & eggs things. The morning side dish was daily changed.
During the days, we spent most of our times by the pool and the Jacuzzi in the middle of lovely garden. It was very peaceful as I noticed that most of the people went out after their breakfast. Spa and fitness were just right near by. I and my husband had a chance to use the facility to burn the calories we had taken. It was our first time finding a fitness in such a small boutique hotel, perhaps we didn't travel much enough! The equipments might not be a brand-name-type, but I'd say that it was overall fair enough to use. What could we expected more?
The others meals we had were excellent, precisely the Thai foods and fresh seafood. They'd always been come to take your preorders. They told us that it was their practice to better prepare a fresh good foods, and, we somehow proved that it was quite true.

For no specific reason, it was hard for us to leave on the last day. It could have been the reason that we had been spoiled at this charming hotel, a not-like-hotel, in a good way. Our thought already returned to there.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chissy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We were looking for an affordable hotel room or villa with a private pool in Chiang Mai, and Puripunn hotel was the one we found.

We stayed in Puripunn suit for 4 nights.
The private pool was clean, beautiful and large enough for us (2 adults and 2 teenagers), and it was wonderful to relax in or by the pool without caring about anyone else.
The suit was beautifully decorated and had enough space for us.

All the hotel staff was very kind and helpful to make our stay comfortable. I was very impressed when some of them hesitated to receive tips even when they offered extra service to us.

I strongly recommend this hotel and surely would like to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momijisakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

The puripunn was perfect for what we were looking for. We wanted a hotel that was elegant, quiet, with a spa. The hotel staff were very nice, but communication at times was difficult. The food at the hotel was great and we would definitely recommend the invitation package. The spa treatments were fantastic. This is a great place for couples that would like to stay active in Chiang Mai and are looking for a beautiful respite at night. Very convenient location.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank philadelphiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

My husband and I have been travelling to Asia for many years and the beautiful Puripunn hotel is by far the best we have stayed in, it's a real gem! The attention to detail is outstanding. The staff are wonderful, extremely professional, warm, friendly and very helpful, in fact nothing is too much trouble for them. They arranged pretty much everything for us including all our trips and excursions.
The hotel food is freshly cooked to order, is delicious and beautifully presented every time. It was certainly the best Thai food that we experienced during our entire two weeks although a little pricey compared to other restaurants in the city. The hotel also offer a cookery course and I would recommend this as great fun and very informative. The head chef takes you through step by step stages for each of the recipes you have chosen and then you cook the dish with his supervision. The staff take photographs throughout the course and these are given to you on a disc, together with each recipe and method typed out for you to take home when you check out (a very thoughfull touch). We also had afternoon tea at the hotel during our stay. This was delightful, so many different little sandwiches, cakes and savouries all beautifully presented and delicious. The day we had afternoon tea we combined it with a trip to the local night market held once a week, worth visiting for its sheer size and as a real experience of Thai culture and people.The hotel has its own tuktuk, which we used regularly.
We spent two wonderful relaxing weeks at the Puripunn lazing around the beautiful pool area. My husband used the hotel gym most afternoons whilst I read the paper or a book, swam in the pool or drank coconut smoothies. We needed a rest and we truly picked the ideal hotel in Chiang Mai.
I would highly recommend the Puripunn to any one. I did read all the comments on Trip Advisor before I booked but you can't realy appreciate just how good this hotel and its staff are until you stay there. I booked directly via e-mail and would recommend any one else doing the same .We would definately stay at the Puripunn again when we next visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMCHRISSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The Purripunn is an intimate hideaway in a busy tourist city. You snake down a street that is no more than an alley, and step through the gates to a tiny paradise. The pool is lovely, rooms were Thai elegance. The bath was as big as the bedroom! It had a huge tub with a lounging bed, a separate shower room and separate toliet area.
The chef came to us at poolside the day of our arrival to introduce himself and present his evening menu so he good purchase the fresh ingredients. We elected to dine there and it was the best meal we had in all of Thailand. We splurged on 4 courses and each was magnificient. It was an expensive meal by Thai standards but worth every penny. Our private guide and driver picked us up the next morning for our tour of the area. The hotel is not in a particularly scenic location but you can actually walk to the river and the night market if you desire. they also have a free tuk tuk that will take you and pick you up in town.

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere and elegant surroundings
  • Disliked — Location is a little odd
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wickgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing