We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimum comfort but good place”
Review of Sarah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarah Guest House
Ranked #207 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Lille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Minimum comfort but good place”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a twin room with air-co ; bathroom is minimal, but bed is comfortable. We can hear neighbours rather a lot.
The breakfast (not included in the price of the room) is good and big.
The place is perfect, close to the old city (10mn walk) but not noisy at all.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EmyNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    14
    13
    6
See reviews for
3
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about Sarah Guest House. It is a typical guest house in Thailand: clean, comfortable, and rustic. It is a good value for people seeking basic and comfortable lodging. I chose this guest house for two reasons. First, it is in a good location near the Tapae Gate. So I was able to walk to all the tourist and entertainment areas in Chiang Mai. Second, the owner is a local Thai who has an excellent reputation for organizing non-commercial treking tours to the hilltribe regions. The funds from his tours are reinvested into helping local hilltribe communities. I went on a wonderful 3 day trek to the Karen and Lahu tribal regions.

I recommend Sarah for those of you seeking a genuine Thai experience.

Room Tip: Ask about the wonderful treking tours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Maybe there was a time in Chiang Mai when this GH was a reasonable budget choice, but competition has long since left it in the dust. Why? Because those other places actually give a damn about being in the tourist business. This was in a convenient location (as are a million places in CM), but I couldn't understand why it is even on anyone's radar screen: totally indifferent, cold owner; absent staff; bare bones rooms with bad lumpy mattresses, even for budget places. No reason at all to stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank NataliaRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent
It is quiet which is nit the case with many other places - esp on new year!!!
Rooms are not 5* but at 300b/night they are clean an safe.
The owners are very friendly and accommodating
This is our second stay and we will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N43W16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I booked a 6 day package at Sarah Guesthouse last year around July, which included 3 nights stay, 3 day trek and a Thai cooking class. We had a wonderful experience there- I was confused when I saw all of the negative reviews, so I decided to write my own.

Sarah is very friendly and was extremely helpful to us, the room was nice and spacious and well worth the money; it was cleaned daily, the ensuite was fine and the beds were comfy.

We had breakfast almost every morning we were there, and the honey pancakes were really delicious!

We chose to stay here because we knew it would be a lot quieter than some of the other guesthouses in the area and for us as a traveling couple; it was perfect.

The 3 day trek that was organised was really great- we met some amazing people along the way who we are still in contact with. The Thai cooking class was also a great experience and I really enjoyed the cooking school that we went to, "That Chocolate" cooking school.

Remember, you are in Thailand; so don't expect 5 star service like you would at home. But I thought for the price, the experiences we had and the friendly service we received while we were there- I would highly recommend this place, we had no problems here at all.

However, if you are looking to meet lots of people and party all day, this place is probably not for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urban-auz-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Cheap but shabby. Room not cleaned or waste bins emptied for 4 days we were there. Sarah very uninterested in guests, offering minimal replies to questions. No breakfast or even cups of tea. Is wi fi but everyone has that now.. Air con noisy in one room, dripped water in another. There are better places nearer

Room Tip: Air on either very noisy or dripping water. Fan just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having booked Sarah's Guest house whilst on the bus/coach travelling from Hua Hin to Chiang Mai... We looked for a spot to put our heads down for the night and then to review the situation the following morning...having been dropped off by taxi around 9pm ( this was made clear at the time of booking)we were wet and tired, only to find that they had given our booked room away and anyway the Guest house looked appalling. So thumbs down on that one!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 01718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#182 of 381 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
360.0 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#250 of 381 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
361.7 mi away
Chiangmai Kristi House
Chiangmai Kristi House
#107 of 381 in Chiang Mai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
361.8 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#270 of 381 in Chiang Mai
14 reviews
361.5 mi away
Inthanin Hotel
Inthanin Hotel
#305 of 381 in Chiang Mai
6 reviews
359.9 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#295 of 381 in Chiang Mai
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Guest House

Property: Sarah Guest House
Address: 1 Ratchadamnoen Nork Rd., Wat Sommanat, Pom Prap Sattru Pai, Bangkok 10100 | Soi 4, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Sarah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing