We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Room ok, but service could be better.”
Review of Sarah Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarah Guest House
Ranked #207 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location, Room ok, but service could be better.”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at this guesthouse for 3 nights.
The room was good and clean, same with bathroom, which had hot water.
The courtyard/seating area looks messy and it was empty all the time, nobody hangs around. (maybe slow season?)
The housekeep tries to be helpful, but doens't speak english.
One day we left about 9am and the breakfast service was not open
I agree with previous review that owner didn't seem to care about guests, we even try to get some help to reserve a tour, and she told us she had to finish doing whatever she was doing. we waited for a bit but she didn't come back.
On the other hand,The owner alloed us to check out 2hrs late.(really helpful)
It is not a bad place, but you don't get any help or advise. I think you can get a better place for the same price elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anettebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    13
    13
    6
See reviews for
3
27
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Update on Oct 2010 - all the comments from previous review remain unchanged. Still the same.

A plus point to the Thai house keeper who is very friendly although she speak very little english. The English lady not even bother to find out if we could communicate with the house keeper.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earnslaw-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Sarah Guest house is at the quiet end of a road that is developing lots of new accommodation and amenities. Unless you’re very independent and clued up and know what you want to do in chiang mai and how and do not mind very basic accommodation then I would not recommend this guest house as there are better out there. Do not go here if you’re basing it on the guide book reviews from a few years ago as it is already out of date.

Pros
- Location- walking distance to pae gae and night bazaar and places to eat.
- Pleasent house keeper (doesn’t speak English but has good intentions, seems to have been lumbered with reception type duties.)
- Huge friendly Labrador!
- Wi-fi on request

Cons
- Isolated ghost town feel about the place, disengaged staff.
- No restaurant contrary to its PR
- No travel/excursions information support contrary to its PR
- Unattended front desk most of the time
- It’s partly quiet as we were literally the one of the two other guests staying
- Very basic back packer room you can pay a tiny bit more for a lot more at other places. We paid 300baht for fan ensuite hot shower. No towels or loo roll. No top sheet/duvet. You need to either have a sleeper bag and travel towel or buy these yourself from reception if anyone is around.

It was a wholly an uninspiring experience at Sarah Guest House. Chiang mai itself was fantastic we went to other hotels across the road for help about getting around etc. There are way better places with competitive prices, unless it updates it look, levels of cleanliness and personal relations with residents it will not be a recommended choice!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinpin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

istanbul
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed in this guest house 2 days in august 2008. The room I stayed was with ac and fan. Room and bath has enough space. Room and bathroom were dirty for me. But I paid 450 baht so nothing to say more bad things for this money. Its close to the centre of city.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Rooms very plain. Bathrooms run down. The place looks like it needs maintenance. Its simply a depressing place to look at. I stayed one night and found another guest house.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John_B_Pasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We stayed for 4 days in Feb 2006.....rooms are basic, but clean, and the guest house in 5 - 10 minutes away from both the night market and the old city....so easy to enjoy the city and explore it. We liked the guest house thing, but would probably try a differnet one next time to compare, but the area is ideal, so we would not stray far away.

Helpful?
3 Thank mashzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#182 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
361.8 mi away
B2 Khamtieng
B2 Khamtieng
#267 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
359.9 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#296 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
361.7 mi away
Chiangmai Kristi House
Chiangmai Kristi House
#104 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
360.0 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#248 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
360.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#129 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Guest House

Property: Sarah Guest House
Address: 1 Ratchadamnoen Nork Rd., Wat Sommanat, Pom Prap Sattru Pai, Bangkok 10100 | Soi 4, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarah Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai
Sarah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing