We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveler rating
411
688
206
60
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
688
206
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight bazaarold cityloi kroh roadfree mini bardeluxe roomairport transfermassage parloursswimming poolsunday marketbars and restaurantshot waterstreet noiserooms are largelanna stylelocation is excellentnice poolstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
782 - 787 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I have stayed at the Raming on more than a dozen occasions. I first stayed there shortly after they opened when the moat end of the Loi Kroh Rd was still a fairly quiet area with only a few bars a couple of hundred yards further down the road. Since then the area around the hotel has exploded with new businesses, opposite the hotel there is an excellent tailor, several designer clothes shops and a pharmacy, next to the hotel on the left is the Old Bell Pub which is run by a friendly Welsh gentleman and in my opinion does the best 'Full English' breakfast in this part of town and to the right is Marco's Italian, an excellent value for money bistro which opened a couple of years ago and now requires a couple of days advance booking in season. Parts of the Raming have understandably become a little tired over the years and in most rooms you won't have ANY view from your window but out of the dozen or so other hotels I have stayed in in Chiang Mai this is still my best for the price. It also has the huge advantage of being virtually opposite Soi 1 which is home to the Number One pub, one of the best established expat bars and the place to go if you don't want to be surrounded by staff trying to empty your pocket!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phrafarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We are two 50 something Australian ladies who have come to Chiang Mai for a short break. The Raming Lodge is in a great location, within walking distance to both the night markets and the Sunday market. Tuk Tuk's are available right outside the front door and are very very reasonable. We paid $7 AUD for a full day of driving to major sightseening destinations.
The staff, both reception and cleaning are very helpfull and friendly. The maitenance man even fixed my broken handbag. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the rooms for the price are value for money.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loof38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is situated 500 walk from the Chiangmai night bazaar.5 minute walk to the Tapae Gate,walking street markets (sundays Only) & anything you would need really.Chemist directly accross road,7 eleven two doors up for all your phone cards,beer or late night nibbles.Yes there are a few night clubs in the street with the lady kind hanging around BUT dont let this put you off staying here.They have no interest in harrassing you.
This is our second stay here at the Raming Lodge.Last year at the same time.We had interconnecting room's this time for the children with there own ensuite and personal space.The only thing stopping me from giving this Hotel a perfect score was the breakfast.It wasnt bad but a little lacking in some areas as for choices.The Tour section of the hotel is a must.Yes you might get some tour's cheaper else where BUT by the time you factor in your travel there & back it is just as easy to do through the hotel.Great drivers and vehicles supplied and the tours on offer were huge.We done the big three you could say,Tiger Kingdom,mai Sae elephant camp with ride up to the Karon hill tribe Village which the driver picked us up from & The snake show.We done the Golden Triangle tour as well with the Hot springs,White Temple,Golden Triangle,Laos boat trip over (Great Shopping) Mae Sai (Burmese Border) Mong Village.Just a great day.Fairly long drive up there though 3 hours BUT the way they stop off at sights every hour or so it breaks up the trip nicely.A must do if you go to Chaing Mai.I could go on but just go and have a ball...
Mark & Family

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhino_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A more luxurious hotel than you would expect for the money. great spa treatment also and helpful staff. The tours weren't pushed down your throat and the tour operator was genuinely helpful and listened to our wants and needs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMcCAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We paid 1,200 baht for this hotel and it seemed amazing value. We went to chang mai for the elephant sanctuary and this hotel was in a good location for this. The rooms were lovely and we enjoyed the nights we had there. We used the spa which was discounted for us as guests and great value - had 3 treatments for 900 baht. The staff were lovely. Also we had a voucher for a free BBQ at the restuarant which has been one of our favourite meal of the 3 weeks here in Thailand. Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews