We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I hate to leave a bad review but I was surprised by my bad experience after all the good reviews I've read.

The biggest issue is the paper thin walls and noise. I can literally hear the guests in the next room right now coughing and doing whatever it is they are doing. The rooms are dated and I feel the need to sleep in my clothes... And trust me, I'm not that picky. Wifi didn't work for most of the time, I ended up connecting to another place's wifi.

Upside: super friendly staff and location is close to the market.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to comment on T/A. We do appreciate
hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to
continue our accommodations.

We apology for your unfavorable experience, We hope to have the
pleasure of welcoming you back to Raminglodge to replace the negative
impression with a more positive one.

Best Regards,
Jenny
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    651
    181
    51
    31
See reviews for
175
492
172
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in August, and had a pleasant stay. This is by no means a 5 or even a 4 star hotel but the value for your money here is great. We payed about $40usd a night it's a nice hotel, good size rooms with huge bed, free wifi and breakfast included. Check in was fine, with a welcome drink on arrival. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the heart of Loi Kroh Road with tons of bars and restaurants around. Right across the street is a spa and massage place where you can get foot and back/shoulder massages for $2usd for half an hour. The hotel is within walking distance to the Saturday and Sunday walking street markets and close to the night bazaar area down the street. The breakfast included in the morning is pretty standard, have an egg station which was very good, and a its a mix between Western and Thai. We were also given 1 free dinner during our stay in the restaurant which was decent. It was a BBQ chicken skewer and sides were extra. Live music which made it nice.
We had a couple issues during our stay, which were minor but worth pointing out. Such as seeing a large cockroach in our washroom, having to get someone to come to our room 3 times to get our safe batteries changed. We also booked a few day tours with them which were fine, but they recommended an adventure day trip through Jumbo Elephant Camp (another review as well) which was pretty bad, so we were disappointed that they would even recommend such a place. We didn't know who the operator was until after the tour was booked and thats when we saw the reviews. Hopefully they don't book other people in the future with this operator.
Overall it was a good stay, friendly and helpful staff and hopefully those small issues were just a one time thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to comment on T/A. We do appreciate
hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to
continue our accommodations.


We apology for your unfavorable experience during the tour and would like to inform that we had taken this issue as our highest concern and we stop sending customer to this company already, our guest impression is our first priority.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Raminglodge to replace the negative
impression with a more positive one.

Best Regards,

Jenny
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Chiang Mai and were really happy with the accommodation. Room was nice and big and very clean too. Had complimentary massage which was good and the breakfast is fantastic. We also booked a day trip through the hotel's concierge that we both really enjoyed. Good location as well as it's close to the night markets, a lot of massage places and the night markets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humphrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your holiday.

Best Regards,

Jenny

Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in July 2012 (reviewing a bit late:)), with a group of 5 others for my partners 30th birthday. This hotel exceeded expectations and we had the most amazing stay. We were able to check in early (arrived around 9.30-10am) and all 3 rooms were next door to each other. The rooms were perfect, quite spacious for a studio style room with a cute little bathroom. Cleaned on a daily basis with water replenished daily also. Breakfast was great, not the biggest variety but still very good. The pool is across the road and not very big (no pool bar) but it was fine and very quiet. Only a few people were swimming each time we went down. We had food delivered to the pool each time we went down and it was amazing. We did have some kind of BBQ dinner in the hotel restaurant which was kind of weird, like chicken skewers and baked potatoes. Think they should stick to traditional food rather than western. The best part about this hotel is Nut, one of the concierge/bell boys. We hired their van for the day, Nut was our driver. He took us to the Tiger Kingdom, the monkey place (it's horrible, don't go there if your sensitive to animal welfare) and to the village tribe (can't remember what it's called, but they have the rings around their necks). He was hilarious and so kind and polite. We bought him water and attempted to give him food throughout the day, but he would not accept it. The day of our departure we were taking our bags to the van and he was walking past on his day off. He put his things down so he could put all of our bags into the van for us. Hotel is in a good location, about a 150baht tuk tuk or taxi ride to the night markets which I believe are the best in Thailand. Had an awesome stay at the Raming Lodge, would absolutely recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your holiday.

Best Regards,

Jenny

Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, rooms clean and well sized, excellent bathroom, swimming pool across the courtyard and clean with towels. Hotel staff friendly. Buffet breakfast catering for thai and Europeans and of good quality. Good location near shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven77110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your holiday.

Best Regards,

Jenny

Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hi,
The Raming lodge is a really nice and well located hotel in Chiang Mai, it is a short walk from the night market, the Saturday walking market and the Sunday walking market.
The hotel is clean and built Thai Lana style, the staff are great and very friendly and helpful at all times.
The breakfast is a great let down, a mixture of Thai and western foods, all cold and "cheap" even though they are not supposed to be, the coffee was cool and very strong / bitter, the orange juice seemed to be reconstituted and all in all not worth getting up for.
Would I stay again, yes but would opt for a room only deal if availableand eat out at the many nearby food halls that do a much better deal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to comment on T/A. We do appreciate
hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to
continue our accommodations.

We apology for your unfavorable experience, We hope to have the
pleasure of welcoming you back to Raminglodge to replace the negative
impression with a more positive one.

Best Regards,
Jenny
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Took the ‘express’ train from Bangkok, should have been in Chiang Mai at 20:30 but arrived at 22:15 and thank goodness for the Raming Lodge who collected us at the station. There didn’t appear to be any taxis only songtheuws.

Check-in was quick and we were shown to room 502. This was a deluxe room and is well worth the extra money as it includes transfers from/to airport or station. It also includes soft drinks in your fridge. Two bottles of water are left each day.

Room 502 had a large king-size bed; TV; fridge; wardrobe; drawers; and a torch plus tea/coffee making facilities.

There was a nice bathroom with a large shower and vanity washbasin – no hot water in the basin only cold but was actually lukewarm.

Breakfast was good with all the usual fayre, fruit; cereals; cooked food; egg station; toast; but no yoghurt. Staff were slow to clear the tables and re-set.

There is a pool at the back of the hotel across the road just through the car park which looked lovely - we just didn't have time to use it.

Right out of the front door leads you past a 7/11 and to the Old City, it is no longer ‘walled’ just cross the moat and you are there – a nice place to have a wander.

Left out of the front door, 5 minutes walk or so passing many restaurants; bars; clubs and shops, leads you to a main street where the night market is held and where there are more shops including Boots the Chemist.

I would definitely recommend the Raming Lodge and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again when next in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raminglodge, Front Office Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your holiday.

Best Regards,

Jenny

Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,625 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 383 in Chiang Mai
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing