We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel that tries hard.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel that tries hard.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice hotel located only a short distance from the old city wall, and nestled in with a number of massage parlours, girly bars and other night life. Lively but not offensive. The area is popular with what seem to be local expats and tourists. On arrival we were greeted in the usual friendly Thai way and booked in quickly and without fuss. The staff were very helpful as well as knowledgeable. The room was very nice, decorated in a rustic style with wall paintings and the biggest bed we've seen. The bedroom and bathroom were well laid out and clean. We used the restaurant only for breakfasts (as we were out every day). The breakfast selection was average with a reasonable range of items to select, but mainly international in content, we would have liked to have seen more Thai style food. The restaurant, situated on the ground floor has an inside/outside arrangement, eating outside in the morning was excellent as the area is sheltered and cool. The four days we stayed was hassle free and went off without any hitches, just what you'd hope for in a hotel. A reasonably sized pool is located slightly separated from the hotel at the back and was not over crowded. One gripe though was the internet connection. The hotel advertises free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which is fair enough, but in the room we were in, on the 5th floor, the internet was unusable, either VERY VERY slow or not working at all (the connection strength indicator always showed as one bar - poor). There is an alternative paid service in the lobby using their computers but we did not use this service. Apart from the internet situation we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel to others. The hotel is fairly well located and we tended to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Fares on Tuk-Tuks and normal taxis are fairly high in Chiang Mai especially as taxi drivers don't like using meters. The best and most honest method of transport is the shared taxi called Songthaew (generally red converted utes). Once you start to use them they become second nature; a cheap, convenient way to get to places too far to walk.

Room Tip: If all rooms were like ours then there is no need to be choosey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    648
    180
    51
    31
See reviews for
174
490
169
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very good service, I stayed in a deluxe room which was well appointed and in good condition and very quiet. The location is excellent with many bars, markets and shops in easy walking distance. The street outside can get a bit red light after dark but this just adds to the experience. Don't rely on the free airport transfer though, they had the wrong name on mine!? I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fifth floor, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very happy with this hotel. Clean, comfortable and friendly. Good breakfast and very reasonable price. The location is good with everything in walking distance.
There is a tour desk in the lobby. We found it to be a bit pricey so we purchased minibus tickets to Houay Xai (our next stop) from an agent opposite the river. A tour to the Golden Temple is also worthwhile - great views of the city.
There is a couple of laundries nearby, about $US1 per kilo.
Plenty of eating choices close to the hotel.
if returning to Chiang Mai I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th floor - no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redheadtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This place has the best location for all things in Chiang Mai. Right in the middle for easy walking distance to all the old temples and same for the night bazaar and food markets.

The room was always clean and neat, however is now becoming a bit tired and will need a makeover soon. The shower could never really make up its mind if it was hot or cold! But none of this really bothered us as the only time we spent in the room was at night.

Breakfast was nice each morning and served in the nice outdoor restaurant area.

On New Years eave we had the Buffett dinner which was nice, the CEO of Raming Lodge was there but didn't really seem interested. We bumped into him a few more times during our stay (literally) and he didn't seem to care less about the guests.

Overall we wold recommend this place to stay in Chiang Mai, clean, good breakfast and great location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our group of 3 friends (girls) really liked this hotel. The breakfast was huge with a large selection of Thai options and western options. We were able to walk to the Night Market and to the temples in the Old Town. The staff was really nice and helped us set up spa appointments and our elephant/hiking/rafting excursion. I have already recommended this hotel to 2 friends travelling in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I loved my time at the Raming Lodge. The staff are brilliant and always have a smile. The rooms are very large, well furnished and spotlessly clean. The added bonus of not just 2 bottles of water in the fridge but juice and little snacks all of which are complimentary.
Perfect location to everything. Tour desk is great and so helpful. Free airport transfers. Just the added touches that made it so nice. My whole experience there was absolutely great and I can honestly say I didn't want to leave Raming Lodge or Chiangmai.

Room Tip: I was the fourth floor and it was good. Overlooked the garden restaurant. Quiet A/C unit and everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savannah_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here (couple in late 20's) for four nights and thought it was excellent. The rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was great. You couldn't fault the location - easy walking distance to the night bazaar and Sunday walking street as well as most Wats around Old town. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing