We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional-style hotel and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional-style hotel and good value for money”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Raming Lodge for three nights while on a two week holiday around Thailand. We travelled in a group of six, all friends and three couples and as it was our first trip to Chiang Mai we wanted to stay somewhere central which is why we chose this hotel. The hotel is in a good location just a 10 minute walk to the night markets and many restaurants and bars. It is on a relatively busy side street with a range of bars, restaurants and massages shops. There are some girly bars but we didn't mind as they weren't the loud go go bars some people make out. The hotel itself has lots of character and the staff are very friendly, we stayed in a basic double room and it had everything we needed for our stay. It was spacious with a huge bed, big bathroom, seating area, dressing table, wardrobe and a TV area. We had a safety deposit box in our room too. We stayed bed and breakfast. The food was good but there wasn't as much variety as we'd experienced in other hotels and the food didn't seem to be replenished very quickly after it had run out. One bonus was the freshly made eggs though. We got some vouchers for a BBQ at the hotel restaurant with our stay and we chose to try them out on our first night but we were very disappointed with the service. The food was being cooked outside on a BBQ and looked delicious but we waited over 45 minutes for food only to realise that our kebabs hadn't even been put on the BBQ yet. When we asked the hotel why it was taking so long they said they were very busy but the restaurant was very quiet. We ended up paying for our drinks and going somewhere else which was disappointing as it did look very good. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the rooms do look a bit dated but we were expecting things to look a bit older and more traditional in Chiang Mai. We enjoyed the look and feel of the hotel and the open air atrium and corridors. Definitely fun when it rained! We also used the pool once which is across a small side street to the back of the hotel. The hotel provided towels and the pool was really well kept and still quite private although it wasn't attached to the hotel. We booked an ATV and White Water Rafting trip through the hotel too for six of us which was not badly priced The hotel arranged transfers to and from the activity which was around 1.5 hrs away and we had a fantastic day. We would highly recommend the trip we did with Chiang Mai Adventure if you like adrenaline activities. We did a 40km ATV ride through the jungle then a 10km raft down the Mae Tang river in the afternoon, with food and drink provided and it only cost around £40 per head which we thought was excellent value for money and we were well looked after. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Raming Lodge and it was incredible value for money at around £105 for 3 nights per room. We booked through Booking.com as it worked out cheaper for us.

Room Tip: Try and get a room towards the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the street at the front. Not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyeb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    648
    180
    51
    31
See reviews for
174
490
169
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A wonderfull Hotel,full of lovely cheerful Staff,all of them,over the 10days that i stayed were brilliant..The rooms are Large,the bathrooms as well,and very clean..With the deluxe rooms you get fresh fruit,fruit juice and cakes everyday,fresh flowers every 2nd day...and 4 bottles of water a day..Breakfast was a great selection of asian and euro dishes...Overall a wonderfull Hotel and for the price Fantastic...and its very well located..

Room Tip: Spend a litle bit more and get a Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After our hotel disaster in Bangkok we were thrilled to arrive at Raming Lodge where the staff have good English and are very well presented, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, fresh and nicely presented with fresh fruit daily, free bottle water and airport transfers. More importantly, the location is very central which meant we could walk to all the markets, sights and restaurants without having to use a taxi. Every night we walked to the night bazaar market and tried somewhere new for dinner. The pool here is nice but located across from the hotel. The buffet breakfast offers a range of hot and cold choices. The restaurant is nice and prices are fair, but thought drink prices were high. Overall a great experience and would only stay here in future. If you plan to work out in the fitness centre you will be disappointed, maybe pack your togs instead!

Room Tip: The 5 th floor offers some nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0gether_we_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I would like to join my fellow reviewers and add my vote to this wonderful place. It's location is right in the middle of everything (especially the night market), the rooms are spacious, and breakfast is very rich and tasty. On our second stay there we got the last room in the 5th floor, above the main street. The room was very big, but at first we were afraid the noise will bother us and considered asking to move to an inner room. We decided to stay and did not hear a thing all night, sleeping peacefully (and my wife is a light sleeper).

Room Tip: see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel a few times over the years. I feel in this price range, there is nothing in Chiang Mai better. The rooms are large and very well appointed. The cleanliness is second to none, The staff is fantastic. The breakfast buffet is delicious with everything you could want.
In short, I don't understand how anyone can not love this place.
The only negative that I can think of is the bar could be more inviting in the evening.
All in all, terrific value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a really nice hotel just outside the main gates, you can walk to everywhere in 5-15 minutes. The rooms are large and nicely decorated in an old Thai style, and staff are friendly and helpful. Pool is a bit small and needs a few loungers but it's nice to escape from the heat. I had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, a bit noisy in the evenings.
Close to everything, night markets are worth a look and only 5 mins walk away.
Don't go to breakfast early as it is not very hot first thing.
Swimming pool across the road only used it once, wasn't that exciting.
Lovely clean rooms and best shower and biggest bed in all of Thailand.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing