We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day of birding at Doi Inthanon Park!!”

All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours
Ranked #96 of 322 Tours in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Culture and nature friendly tours, treks and adventures from day trips to full holiday packages away from the normal tourist crowds. Every tour can be custom designed to meet your needs. We can also provide air, train and ferry tickets along with the accommodation of your choice from home stay to luxury.
Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Great one-day bird tour!!

What a great bird tour in Doi Inthanon National Park! We booked this tour very last minute and Randy was super accommodating in fitting us in. We wrote Randy on the 20th of February and the tour on the 23rd.

We had an early pick up from Chiang Mai, 5:30am, driver was nice and spoke good English. We arrived at the park just after 6:30am, which is perfect time for starting to bird.

We met our incredible bird guide Boontam. He is a local farmer who lives on the land and grew up himself in the National Park, so he knows the area very well. He's been passionate about birding for over 16 years. He was able to identify each species and explain very distinctive features which set them apart such as wing bars, eye rings, etc... I had been at the end of my trip in SE Asia and dying for some good interpretation, and was super happy by the end of the day.

Boontam did his very best to ensure we
saw as many species as possible. He took us to all the hotspots where he knew resident birds exist. We had a grand total of 68 species, which is an incredible feat for a one day tour. He had mentioned the record in one trip was 72 species over 3 day tour, so we did very well.

Thank you for the amazing tour and adding so many birds to my life list! An experience I will never forget :)

1  Thank Sherylpsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

Thank you Sheryl for your kind words. I showed your birding guide, Boontam, and your driver, Jackie, your review and they thank you also. If you would ebjoy birdwatching in other parts of Thailand please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird guide"
in 7 reviews
"birdwatching tour"
in 4 reviews
"doi inthanon"
in 15 reviews
"bird watching"
in 3 reviews
"tea plantation"
in 3 reviews
"national park"
in 6 reviews
"hill tribe village"
in 4 reviews
"safe driver"
in 3 reviews
"great birding"
in 2 reviews
"species of birds"
in 2 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 2 reviews
"highest mountain"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"thai lunch"
in 2 reviews
"spoke good english"
in 2 reviews
"khao soi"
in 2 reviews
"birders"
in 5 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2015

Had a wonderfully fulfilling day birding Doi Inthanon. The local guide Boon was amazing - I was so impressed with how he found and identified birds I never would have noticed walking on my own. We saw well over 60 species- including beautiful sunbirds, a well hidden Eurasian Woodcock, blue-throated barbet, several drongos, bulbuls and much more. We were picked up promptly and early as requested in a clean and well stocked (with water) van. The driver, Jackie was very kind and friendly. Stopped for a nice lunch and rest midday in uncrowded and shaded peaceful area. Overall, I was very satisfied and came away with a much expanded life list and some great photos!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

HI Jen,

Thank you for your kind words. Wow 60 species all in 1 day, very impressive. Glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. I will show your comment to Boon and Jackie.

Cheers,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband and I went with All Thailand Experiences on a private day tour to Doi Inthanon National Park, containing the highest mountain in Thailand. We were picked up by a van at our hotel at 8:30 and drove to the Karen hill tribe village, where we met Randy, who introduced us to Loti, a local Karen hill tribe guide. The 3 of us hiked for about 2 and 1/2 hours through the forest, with Loti pointing out different trees and edible plants, went to gorgeous waterfalls, and looped back to the village. Then we had lunch (at a non-tourist but good restaurant), drove to the summit, and took a short walk through a cloud forest. It was an absolutely wonderful day. Randy, Loti, and the driver were all efficient, friendly, and well-informed. Randy responded to all emails promptly, provided water, and even jackets (since we didn't have any and the mountain was chilly). Randy's itinerary was better than that of another tour company we had checked out (which had suggested visiting both Doi Inthanon and Doi Suthep on the same day), but it was overly ambitious. We had to eliminate the last planned event of the day: a 3-hour hike on another nature trail that supposedly led to beautiful vistas. Frankly, I can't imagine how anyone could fit it all in. But even without that last hike, we had a great day and really enjoyed our time.

1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Thank you Carol for your fine review.

Some people hike faster than others so we have the hike to the vista included if there is time.

Happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch away from the normal tourist crowds. Tour operators to the park always seem to go to the same restaurant (food court like in a shopping mall) in the park. We Love taking our clients to the peaceful little family run restaurant next to a stream.

I was at the park to help with setting up the waffle and coffee shop for the Karen people at Baan Mae Klang Luang village bungalows where they keep the profits from sales.

Glad you had a great time with your guide, Loti, enjoying the park.

All the best,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2015

We did a two day birding tour at the Doi Inthanon Park, which was excellent! Our guide, Boomtheng, knows every bird, and was very eager in finding special species for us. It was a wonderful experience. We slept in a clean bungalow in the park. Our email contact with Randy, the owner of All Thailand Experiences, was very good, he always answered our questions.
We recommend this tour for birdwatchers!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ineke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2015

Thank you Ineke for you kind review. Happy to hear our birding guide Boon found the special birds for you to view.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife and I, along with another three adults and one child recently used All Thailand Experiences. We had taken some tours before and some after the two that we did with all Thailand ,and I must say All Thailand really stands out.
We were fortunate enough to have the owner along for our trips (which isn't the norm), it was easy to see where the direction and care comes from. Randy Gaudet, the owner, is an expat American who has been showing tourists another side of Thailand for over 20 years. The tours reflect Randy's love for Thailand and the Thai people. To give a few examples, many tour companies take people to see elephant 'shows' . In some of these shows the elephants are not treated particularly well. All Thailand on the other hand takes you to the FAE (Friends of the Asian Elephant) hospital. There you can see firsthand the rehabilitation of these majestic animals (in some cases they have lost a leg to land mines).
Another trip we did was to a REAL hill tribe village where we trekked through the jungle and were able to eat lunch in the village and meet the villagers in a tribe run coffee house (yes the villagers grow, roast, grind and brew a delicious coffee!)
Through the two tours that we did, two things were evident 1) All Thailand cares about the Thai people, Thailand in general, and the sustainability of their tours.
2) we did two, six person tours and never felt rushed or like we were in a cookie cutter 'bus tour'. In fact we made several changes on the fly and the guide and driver were absolutely fine with it.

Three side points, if you have children and can get Jackie as a driver, try to. He makes wonderful little origami for the children (and also for the envious adults)
Also, we were not serious birders but understand that All Thailand has some very knowledgeable birding guides.
Finally, the lunches that were arraigned for us were superior to other tours we have taken.

Thank Robinson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Robinson Family for your kind review.

Happy to hear you had a wonderful experience. If we can be of assistance in the future regarding a trip to Thailand please let us know.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing