We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours
Open today: 6:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A great birdwatching day

Jackie and Grace make a great team. Jackie's eye for spotting and identification, plus Grace's... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed January 7, 2020
Dick W
,
York, United Kingdom
Bird watching at Doi Lang

Really enjoyed the company of Grace and Jackee during the 4 day trip to Doi Lang. Besides... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed December 11, 2019
DNfromAus2019
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
43
10
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doi inthanon bird watching day trip real thailand thai culture amazing experience jackie birds driver forest drongos interests relationship
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 56 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2015

Had a wonderfully fulfilling day birding Doi Inthanon. The local guide Boon was amazing - I was so impressed with how he found and identified birds I never would have noticed walking on my own. We saw well over 60 species- including beautiful sunbirds, a well hidden Eurasian Woodcock, blue-throated barbet, several drongos, bulbuls and much more. We were picked up promptly and early as requested in a clean and well stocked (with water) van. The driver, Jackie was very kind and friendly. Stopped for a nice lunch and rest midday in uncrowded and shaded peaceful area. Overall, I was very satisfied and came away with a much expanded life list and some great photos!

Date of experience: February 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2015

HI Jen,

Thank you for your kind words. Wow 60 species all in 1 day, very impressive. Glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. I will show your comment to Boon and Jackie.

Cheers,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband and I went with All Thailand Experiences on a private day tour to Doi Inthanon National Park, containing the highest mountain in Thailand. We were picked up by a van at our hotel at 8:30 and drove to the Karen hill tribe village, where we met Randy, who introduced us to Loti, a local Karen hill tribe guide. The 3 of us hiked for about 2 and 1/2 hours through the forest, with Loti pointing out different trees and edible plants, went to gorgeous waterfalls, and looped back to the village. Then we had lunch (at a non-tourist but good restaurant), drove to the summit, and took a short walk through a cloud forest. It was an absolutely wonderful day. Randy, Loti, and the driver were all efficient, friendly, and well-informed. Randy responded to all emails promptly, provided water, and even jackets (since we didn't have any and the mountain was chilly). Randy's itinerary was better than that of another tour company we had checked out (which had suggested visiting both Doi Inthanon and Doi Suthep on the same day), but it was overly ambitious. We had to eliminate the last planned event of the day: a 3-hour hike on another nature trail that supposedly led to beautiful vistas. Frankly, I can't imagine how anyone could fit it all in. But even without that last hike, we had a great day and really enjoyed our time.

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Thank you Carol for your fine review.

Some people hike faster than others so we have the hike to the vista included if there is time.

Happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch away from the normal tourist crowds. Tour operators to the park always seem to go to the same restaurant (food court like in a shopping mall) in the park. We Love taking our clients to the peaceful little family run restaurant next to a stream.

I was at the park to help with setting up the waffle and coffee shop for the Karen people at Baan Mae Klang Luang village bungalows where they keep the profits from sales.

Glad you had a great time with your guide, Loti, enjoying the park.

All the best,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2015

We did a two day birding tour at the Doi Inthanon Park, which was excellent! Our guide, Boomtheng, knows every bird, and was very eager in finding special species for us. It was a wonderful experience. We slept in a clean bungalow in the park. Our email contact with Randy, the owner of All Thailand Experiences, was very good, he always answered our questions.
We recommend this tour for birdwatchers!

Date of experience: January 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ineke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2015

Thank you Ineke for you kind review. Happy to hear our birding guide Boon found the special birds for you to view.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife and I, along with another three adults and one child recently used All Thailand Experiences. We had taken some tours before and some after the two that we did with all Thailand ,and I must say All Thailand really stands out.
We were fortunate enough to have the owner along for our trips (which isn't the norm), it was easy to see where the direction and care comes from. Randy Gaudet, the owner, is an expat American who has been showing tourists another side of Thailand for over 20 years. The tours reflect Randy's love for Thailand and the Thai people. To give a few examples, many tour companies take people to see elephant 'shows' . In some of these shows the elephants are not treated particularly well. All Thailand on the other hand takes you to the FAE (Friends of the Asian Elephant) hospital. There you can see firsthand the rehabilitation of these majestic animals (in some cases they have lost a leg to land mines).
Another trip we did was to a REAL hill tribe village where we trekked through the jungle and were able to eat lunch in the village and meet the villagers in a tribe run coffee house (yes the villagers grow, roast, grind and brew a delicious coffee!)
Through the two tours that we did, two things were evident 1) All Thailand cares about the Thai people, Thailand in general, and the sustainability of their tours.
2) we did two, six person tours and never felt rushed or like we were in a cookie cutter 'bus tour'. In fact we made several changes on the fly and the guide and driver were absolutely fine with it.

Three side points, if you have children and can get Jackie as a driver, try to. He makes wonderful little origami for the children (and also for the envious adults)
Also, we were not serious birders but understand that All Thailand has some very knowledgeable birding guides.
Finally, the lunches that were arraigned for us were superior to other tours we have taken.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank Robinson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Robinson Family for your kind review.

Happy to hear you had a wonderful experience. If we can be of assistance in the future regarding a trip to Thailand please let us know.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015

Randy, the owner, was referred to us as we had expressed an interest in visiting the Friends of Asian Elephants Hospital, and doing some light hiking through Doi Inthanon National Park. Randy was quite agreeable, and allowed us to fully customize our two days with him. Having visited FAE before, my wife and I knew what to expect, however, our 7 year old daughter and three other adult companions did not. Randy has a real passion for the elephants, and it shows. We had a very personalized visit to the hospital, an not all tour operators would be able to offer this with the same level of passion that Randy does. After the hospital visit we returned to our accommodation, but not before a stop at a local jungle market and a taste of some rice whiskey. Delicious!

Day two was just as successful as the first. Randy and his driver Jackie collected us again in their clean, and air conditioned van and whisked us quite efficiently to Doi Inthanon National Park. Jackie proved to be a terrific driver, knowing the right routes, driving safely, and keeping my daughter amused with his origami animals he makes from the leaves off the trees. We met with our guide, a local Karen tribes person who took us on a great hike through the park and back to his village. It was a beautiful day, and we arrived back for some local coffee and a wonderful lunch. Randy has a special relationship with these people, too, allowing for a nice relaxed visit that felt less like a tour and more like an invitation into their world. the trek could have been longer, or shorter, but again, Randy is open to levels of customization that suits your abilities/ group dynamic.

In short Randy is the guy to connect with for exploring parts of Northern Thailand you might not on your own, as his passion, knowledge of the people and area, and willingness to customize makes for a terrific excursion.

We'll be sure to look him up upon our return.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank PeteJulieGabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Pate, Julie and Gaby for your wonderful review.

Your donations and purchases of souvenirs at Friends of the Asian Elephant Hospital Foundation will help the elephants there and greatly appreciated by Soraida Salawa the founder of FAE.

Glad you had a good time and we will have Jackie for your driver again and Amber, our hill tribe and Lanna Thai culture expert, go with you on your return tour.

Thanks again,
Randy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews