We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different perspective of Thailand”

All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours
Ranked #96 of 321 Tours in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Culture and nature friendly tours, treks and adventures from day trips to full holiday packages away from the normal tourist crowds. Every tour can be custom designed to meet your needs. We can also provide air, train and ferry tickets along with the accommodation of your choice from home stay to luxury.
Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife and I, along with another three adults and one child recently used All Thailand Experiences. We had taken some tours before and some after the two that we did with all Thailand ,and I must say All Thailand really stands out.
We were fortunate enough to have the owner along for our trips (which isn't the norm), it was easy to see where the direction and care comes from. Randy Gaudet, the owner, is an expat American who has been showing tourists another side of Thailand for over 20 years. The tours reflect Randy's love for Thailand and the Thai people. To give a few examples, many tour companies take people to see elephant 'shows' . In some of these shows the elephants are not treated particularly well. All Thailand on the other hand takes you to the FAE (Friends of the Asian Elephant) hospital. There you can see firsthand the rehabilitation of these majestic animals (in some cases they have lost a leg to land mines).
Another trip we did was to a REAL hill tribe village where we trekked through the jungle and were able to eat lunch in the village and meet the villagers in a tribe run coffee house (yes the villagers grow, roast, grind and brew a delicious coffee!)
Through the two tours that we did, two things were evident 1) All Thailand cares about the Thai people, Thailand in general, and the sustainability of their tours.
2) we did two, six person tours and never felt rushed or like we were in a cookie cutter 'bus tour'. In fact we made several changes on the fly and the guide and driver were absolutely fine with it.

Three side points, if you have children and can get Jackie as a driver, try to. He makes wonderful little origami for the children (and also for the envious adults)
Also, we were not serious birders but understand that All Thailand has some very knowledgeable birding guides.
Finally, the lunches that were arraigned for us were superior to other tours we have taken.

Thank Robinson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Robinson Family for your kind review.

Happy to hear you had a wonderful experience. If we can be of assistance in the future regarding a trip to Thailand please let us know.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bird guide"
in 7 reviews
"birding trip"
in 6 reviews
"doi inthanon"
in 15 reviews
"bird watching"
in 3 reviews
"tea plantation"
in 3 reviews
"national park"
in 6 reviews
"hill tribe village"
in 4 reviews
"safe driver"
in 3 reviews
"great birding"
in 2 reviews
"species of birds"
in 2 reviews
"memorable trip"
in 2 reviews
"highest mountain"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"tour company"
in 3 reviews
"thai lunch"
in 2 reviews
"spoke good english"
in 2 reviews
"khao soi"
in 2 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2015

Randy, the owner, was referred to us as we had expressed an interest in visiting the Friends of Asian Elephants Hospital, and doing some light hiking through Doi Inthanon National Park. Randy was quite agreeable, and allowed us to fully customize our two days with him. Having visited FAE before, my wife and I knew what to expect, however, our 7 year old daughter and three other adult companions did not. Randy has a real passion for the elephants, and it shows. We had a very personalized visit to the hospital, an not all tour operators would be able to offer this with the same level of passion that Randy does. After the hospital visit we returned to our accommodation, but not before a stop at a local jungle market and a taste of some rice whiskey. Delicious!

Day two was just as successful as the first. Randy and his driver Jackie collected us again in their clean, and air conditioned van and whisked us quite efficiently to Doi Inthanon National Park. Jackie proved to be a terrific driver, knowing the right routes, driving safely, and keeping my daughter amused with his origami animals he makes from the leaves off the trees. We met with our guide, a local Karen tribes person who took us on a great hike through the park and back to his village. It was a beautiful day, and we arrived back for some local coffee and a wonderful lunch. Randy has a special relationship with these people, too, allowing for a nice relaxed visit that felt less like a tour and more like an invitation into their world. the trek could have been longer, or shorter, but again, Randy is open to levels of customization that suits your abilities/ group dynamic.

In short Randy is the guy to connect with for exploring parts of Northern Thailand you might not on your own, as his passion, knowledge of the people and area, and willingness to customize makes for a terrific excursion.

We'll be sure to look him up upon our return.

Thank PeteJulieGabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Pate, Julie and Gaby for your wonderful review.

Your donations and purchases of souvenirs at Friends of the Asian Elephant Hospital Foundation will help the elephants there and greatly appreciated by Soraida Salawa the founder of FAE.

Glad you had a good time and we will have Jackie for your driver again and Amber, our hill tribe and Lanna Thai culture expert, go with you on your return tour.

Thanks again,
Randy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2015

My wife and I booked a short-notice, Christmas-day birding trip in Doi Inthanon while staying in Chiang Mai. Randy and his local bird guide picked us up promptly in the early AM and we reached the park by sunrise. We then birded a very full day across many sites and saw about 70 species, which they said was about average for that time of year, and was plenty satisfying to us. Going later in the winter could net you another 20-30 species. Having never birded Thailand before, we very much enjoyed seeing so many new/lifer birds. We also had a tasty Thai lunch at a small outdoor restaurant on a break. Randy's local hill tribe guide was excellent, clearly very knowledgeable about the birds in the region, and he did an excellent job of finding most of the expected species at each site. He didn't speak a lot of English beyond the bird names, but it was no matter, and Randy kept the conversations flowing throughout the day. They also do a nice job of visiting sites that aren't commonly visited by other tours. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you Scott for the great review. Being a birdwatcher myself I thank you for letting me tag along. A few of the birds we spotted I haven't seen in a few years so it was very rewarding for me. Because our guide lives in the park and very passionate about birding we were able to see some nice birds that are difficult to spot. Glad to hear you enjoyed your birdwatching tour with us.

Sincerely,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

We booked a private 2D-1N birdwatching tour to Doi Inthanon with All Thailand Experiences during the peak birding season in December 2014. It was overall a good and satisfying experience. The bird guide was a local who was knowledgeable and could speak enough English for interaction. The accommodation for our group of two families was a mountain hut (called bungalow) with two family rooms linked by a common open living space. It was basic but clean. Food was cooked by the local Karen villagers and was tasty. We would highly recommend this tour to groups looking to arrange a private birding tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank HTPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2015

Thank you HTPT for your kind review. We are glad you had a wonderful time with our local birdwatching guide. We hope the hill tribe experience added to the birding trip. Please keep in touch to find out new bird sightings at Doi Inthanon National Park on our web site along with bird photos and videos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Visited FAE today totally amazing to see Dante , Marshalla and of course the worlds favourite Mosha - great tour we were the only ones and had plenty of time to discuss the well-being of the Elephants , no tricks , no rides , no Elephants playing football , it is a haven for mistreated and sick Elephants some who have been the victims of land mines. The staff are fantastic and have the best interests of the Elephants only at heart. They have nothing to do the Elephant Conservation camp next door - avoid at all costs if you love Elephants it's an awful experience and the Elephants are totally exploited.

Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

HI Kevin,
Thank you for visiting Friends of the Asian Elephant Hospital Foundation. We have taken elephant riding and shows off our itineraries. Sad to say because of this we have lost 70% of booking as most want to include elephant riding and shows included in their visit to Thailand. We thank you for your support of us and FAE.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing