We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours
Open today: 6:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A great birdwatching day

Jackie and Grace make a great team. Jackie's eye for spotting and identification, plus Grace's... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed January 7, 2020
Dick W
,
York, United Kingdom
Bird watching at Doi Lang

Really enjoyed the company of Grace and Jackee during the 4 day trip to Doi Lang. Besides... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed December 11, 2019
DNfromAus2019
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 56 reviews
  
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
43
10
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
10
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birding tour doi inthanon bird watching life list day trip real thailand thai culture amazing experience jackie birds driver forest drongos interests relationship itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 56 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2015

Randy, the owner, was referred to us as we had expressed an interest in visiting the Friends of Asian Elephants Hospital, and doing some light hiking through Doi Inthanon National Park. Randy was quite agreeable, and allowed us to fully customize our two days with him. Having visited FAE before, my wife and I knew what to expect, however, our 7 year old daughter and three other adult companions did not. Randy has a real passion for the elephants, and it shows. We had a very personalized visit to the hospital, an not all tour operators would be able to offer this with the same level of passion that Randy does. After the hospital visit we returned to our accommodation, but not before a stop at a local jungle market and a taste of some rice whiskey. Delicious!

Day two was just as successful as the first. Randy and his driver Jackie collected us again in their clean, and air conditioned van and whisked us quite efficiently to Doi Inthanon National Park. Jackie proved to be a terrific driver, knowing the right routes, driving safely, and keeping my daughter amused with his origami animals he makes from the leaves off the trees. We met with our guide, a local Karen tribes person who took us on a great hike through the park and back to his village. It was a beautiful day, and we arrived back for some local coffee and a wonderful lunch. Randy has a special relationship with these people, too, allowing for a nice relaxed visit that felt less like a tour and more like an invitation into their world. the trek could have been longer, or shorter, but again, Randy is open to levels of customization that suits your abilities/ group dynamic.

In short Randy is the guy to connect with for exploring parts of Northern Thailand you might not on your own, as his passion, knowledge of the people and area, and willingness to customize makes for a terrific excursion.

We'll be sure to look him up upon our return.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank PeteJulieGabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2015

Thank you Pate, Julie and Gaby for your wonderful review.

Your donations and purchases of souvenirs at Friends of the Asian Elephant Hospital Foundation will help the elephants there and greatly appreciated by Soraida Salawa the founder of FAE.

Glad you had a good time and we will have Jackie for your driver again and Amber, our hill tribe and Lanna Thai culture expert, go with you on your return tour.

Thanks again,
Randy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2015

My wife and I booked a short-notice, Christmas-day birding trip in Doi Inthanon while staying in Chiang Mai. Randy and his local bird guide picked us up promptly in the early AM and we reached the park by sunrise. We then birded a very full day across many sites and saw about 70 species, which they said was about average for that time of year, and was plenty satisfying to us. Going later in the winter could net you another 20-30 species. Having never birded Thailand before, we very much enjoyed seeing so many new/lifer birds. We also had a tasty Thai lunch at a small outdoor restaurant on a break. Randy's local hill tribe guide was excellent, clearly very knowledgeable about the birds in the region, and he did an excellent job of finding most of the expected species at each site. He didn't speak a lot of English beyond the bird names, but it was no matter, and Randy kept the conversations flowing throughout the day. They also do a nice job of visiting sites that aren't commonly visited by other tours. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: December 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you Scott for the great review. Being a birdwatcher myself I thank you for letting me tag along. A few of the birds we spotted I haven't seen in a few years so it was very rewarding for me. Because our guide lives in the park and very passionate about birding we were able to see some nice birds that are difficult to spot. Glad to hear you enjoyed your birdwatching tour with us.

Sincerely,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2015

We booked a private 2D-1N birdwatching tour to Doi Inthanon with All Thailand Experiences during the peak birding season in December 2014. It was overall a good and satisfying experience. The bird guide was a local who was knowledgeable and could speak enough English for interaction. The accommodation for our group of two families was a mountain hut (called bungalow) with two family rooms linked by a common open living space. It was basic but clean. Food was cooked by the local Karen villagers and was tasty. We would highly recommend this tour to groups looking to arrange a private birding tour.

Date of experience: December 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank HTPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2015

Thank you HTPT for your kind review. We are glad you had a wonderful time with our local birdwatching guide. We hope the hill tribe experience added to the birding trip. Please keep in touch to find out new bird sightings at Doi Inthanon National Park on our web site along with bird photos and videos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2014

Visited FAE today totally amazing to see Dante , Marshalla and of course the worlds favourite Mosha - great tour we were the only ones and had plenty of time to discuss the well-being of the Elephants , no tricks , no rides , no Elephants playing football , it is a haven for mistreated and sick Elephants some who have been the victims of land mines. The staff are fantastic and have the best interests of the Elephants only at heart. They have nothing to do the Elephant Conservation camp next door - avoid at all costs if you love Elephants it's an awful experience and the Elephants are totally exploited.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank KevinL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

HI Kevin,
Thank you for visiting Friends of the Asian Elephant Hospital Foundation. We have taken elephant riding and shows off our itineraries. Sad to say because of this we have lost 70% of booking as most want to include elephant riding and shows included in their visit to Thailand. We thank you for your support of us and FAE.

Kind regards,
Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

When we planned our holiday to thailand we were looking for a jungle trip in chiang mai. Everything seemed so fake an really like a tourist bus "hop on hop off tour".
Then we found Allthai experiences and we got in touch with Randy by email. We told him what we were looking for (long journeys trekking through the jungle and very basic accomodation far away from the tourist routes) and after a few emails we had our 3 days trip planned.
Finally it was even better than we expected.we went to a national park and Randy avoided the touristic routes and also the restaurants made up for western , he told us a lot about thai kitchen and the culture. For the trekking we had such a nice guide(Jo) from an hill tribe village who helped us to discover the jungle, the plants and his culture and we did long routes for example to the tiger mountain. Jo was learning spanish with us and we learned thai with him:-)What I really liked is that they showed us the results from the royal project that helped the hill tribe villages to change from their occupation to grow opium to agriculture. So this is like it really is nowadays and not how tourists expect it to be.
So we really want to thank Randy and Jo for this unforgettable "all thai experience".
Hope to see you soon
Christine and Alberto from Spain

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Christine_madrid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allthai, Owner at All Thailand Experiences - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you Christine and Alberto for your kind review. I purchased a Thai - Spanish language book with DVD for your guide Jo to study so he can learn more Spanish. This should help him on getting more trekkers from Spanish speaking countries. Hope to see you again soon for your bird watching trip in the winter when the migratory birds are here like we discussed. Cheers, Randy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews