We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The best ethical elephant sanctuary in Thailand! 🇹🇭🐘

We did the overnight experience at Elephant Nature Park and it was the best thing we did in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
OliverBarnes2001
via mobile
Highlight of My Trip - Elephants, Dogs, Cats and More - 1 Week Volunteer Experience

I enjoyed my time at Elephant Nature Park. Compared to other sanctuaries, ENP seems to care for the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Uriel A
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 11,493 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $83.79
More Info
from $37.90
More Info
from $42.91
More Info
from $67.03
More Info
Reviews (11,493)
Filter reviews
11,493 results
Traveler rating
10,182
898
275
69
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,182
898
275
69
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats vegetarian buffet water buffalo rescued elephants day trip ride elephants these beautiful creatures their lives rice balls amazing experience overnight stay watermelon life changing experience asian elephants these gentle giants elephant experience small group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 11,493 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2022 via mobile

I did the sunshine for elephants day, which means that the elephants do not belong to the park but they kind of loan them from locals to avoid them being ridden so they can still make money! We started by giving the elephants bananas and then we took them on a trek up a mountain which was amazing as we saw them in a natural environment! We had an amazing lunch in the forest, with loads of dishes to choose from and we were even taught how to make our papaya salad! After this we made the elephants rice balls and our guide James explained all the health benefits of the ingredients! Finally we finished with a swim in the river with the elephants which was amazing! James was kind and informative and I’d recommend this to anyone who wants to see elephants ethically!

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank LaurASmitH1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2022

One of the absolute highlights of our family holiday to Thailand. The tour was really good and you could tell the elephants were well cared for - the whole ethos is about elephant wellbeing and many of the elephants have been rescued from terrible conditions. Our guide clearly loves the animals and shared her enthusiasm with us. A fantastic lunch was included and the opportunity to go into the enclosure near the elephants was an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank Connector762671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 29, 2022 via mobile

I joined one of Elephant Nature Park’s projects called “Sunshine for Elephants” and it was an amazing experience. This tour included feeding, hiking and bathing 2 elephants - we left around 7am and i was back in my hotel around 5:30pm. The Tour was ethical; there was no forcing, no riding and the tour guides were so friendly and knowledgeable. Worth to note though that I’m 5ft and the river was chest deep for me already so it was a struggle fighting the current when we were bathing the elephants lol. Also, if you do the hike+bathe tour, you WILL GET DIRTY. Choose clothes/footwear accordingly. I recommend joining ANY of the projects affiliated by ENP to ensure that you go on an ethical tour. There are MANY of them so make sure to read the descriptions on in the ENP site and choose the one that best fits your preference. Some tours just go to ENP center with no bathing, while other tours include all activities. This was the highlight of my Chiang Mai trip, highly recommended. :)

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank janellipulido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2022

“ Elephant highlands “Wow what an amazing memorable day we had with 3 lovely gentle ladies up in the mountains. It was so calm and relaxed and magical.
Our guide prom was excellent and the buffet probably some of the best food I had in Thailand .
Thank you to all that care for these beautiful creatures .The day will stay in my heart for ever.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank leesadorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2022

We are a family of three. We didn't visit the actual sanctuary. We visited one of their projects, titled "Elephant Delight". We visited on 9th August, 2022.

Pickup was timely. Our host was professional and jovial. After a 90 minute drive we arrived at their project, inside a national park.

A small home/farm took care of three rescued elephants. An elderly grandma Miguel and her two kids/grandkids (don't remember).

It was a fascinating journey that really endeared us to these gentle giants. They seemed content and in their element. The elephants spent the day being .. elephants. We joined the elephants in their daily routine rather than them doing anything special for us. We first washed and fed them some food (mainly plantains and bamboo). Then we went on their morning walk in the forest while they socialised with each other and grazed on vegetation and wild bamboo. They were a hungry lot ... as elephants tend to be.

As you walk amongst these giants, you gain a deep respect and are in awe of them as you realise their size, strength and intelligence. The special bond that exists between these elephants and their mahoots is a sight to behold.

After this walk (about an hour or more), we head back to the camp house where we settle in for a vegan buffet lunch. Great selection and really tasty local food. There is always water, coffee, tea, juices and fruits on offer. There are also lockers to store your valuables. Lunch is served on the upstairs terrace which offers a great view of the valley and surrounding hills.

After lunch we set out for another walk and join the elephants. We then make herbal food balls for the elephants and then proceed to feed them those. The elephants lap them up in seconds. We then walk back with them to camp.

Once at camp, we are technically supposed to bathe them in a river. However, since it had been raining quite a bit during the previous days, the waters were rough and the rivers was overflowing so we went instead to a small stream where we will out buckets with water and bathed the elephants. They seemed to enjoy it all at times and at other times they were looking to their mahoots for more food :)

After that we were supposed to have a small session of rafting across the river to get back to our ride. However, as explained earlier, it was deemed unsafe and we all were given a chance to sit back and have some tea after which we all hopped into our rides and went back to the hotel.

Overall a very positive experience. The rescued elephants did seem happy and lived as a family with the mahoots, etc. They lived and ate well, and were allowed to be elephants.

Date of experience: August 2022
1  Thank nkhianey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews