We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A Must-Visit: Love and Care for Rescued Animals

I absolutely loved it! This experience was the highlight of our trip to Thailand. The animals are... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
nina659
,
Jackson, Mississippi
Wonderful creatures

Nestled into the distant wooded hills beyond Chiang Mai, the Elephant Nature Park offers a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Owain B
,
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Read all 11,502 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
Reviews (11,502)
Filter reviews
11,502 results
Traveler rating
10,190
899
275
69
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,190
899
275
69
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats vegetarian buffet water buffalo rescued elephants day trip ride elephants these beautiful creatures their lives rice balls amazing experience overnight stay watermelon life changing experience asian elephants these gentle giants elephant experience small group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 11,502 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2022

One of the absolute highlights of our family holiday to Thailand. The tour was really good and you could tell the elephants were well cared for - the whole ethos is about elephant wellbeing and many of the elephants have been rescued from terrible conditions. Our guide clearly loves the animals and shared her enthusiasm with us. A fantastic lunch was included and the opportunity to go into the enclosure near the elephants was an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank Connector762671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 29, 2022 via mobile

I joined one of Elephant Nature Park’s projects called “Sunshine for Elephants” and it was an amazing experience. This tour included feeding, hiking and bathing 2 elephants - we left around 7am and i was back in my hotel around 5:30pm. The Tour was ethical; there was no forcing, no riding and the tour guides were so friendly and knowledgeable. Worth to note though that I’m 5ft and the river was chest deep for me already so it was a struggle fighting the current when we were bathing the elephants lol. Also, if you do the hike+bathe tour, you WILL GET DIRTY. Choose clothes/footwear accordingly. I recommend joining ANY of the projects affiliated by ENP to ensure that you go on an ethical tour. There are MANY of them so make sure to read the descriptions on in the ENP site and choose the one that best fits your preference. Some tours just go to ENP center with no bathing, while other tours include all activities. This was the highlight of my Chiang Mai trip, highly recommended. :)

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank janellipulido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2022

“ Elephant highlands “Wow what an amazing memorable day we had with 3 lovely gentle ladies up in the mountains. It was so calm and relaxed and magical.
Our guide prom was excellent and the buffet probably some of the best food I had in Thailand .
Thank you to all that care for these beautiful creatures .The day will stay in my heart for ever.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank leesadorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 20, 2022

We are a family of three. We didn't visit the actual sanctuary. We visited one of their projects, titled "Elephant Delight". We visited on 9th August, 2022.

Pickup was timely. Our host was professional and jovial. After a 90 minute drive we arrived at their project, inside a national park.

A small home/farm took care of three rescued elephants. An elderly grandma Miguel and her two kids/grandkids (don't remember).

It was a fascinating journey that really endeared us to these gentle giants. They seemed content and in their element. The elephants spent the day being .. elephants. We joined the elephants in their daily routine rather than them doing anything special for us. We first washed and fed them some food (mainly plantains and bamboo). Then we went on their morning walk in the forest while they socialised with each other and grazed on vegetation and wild bamboo. They were a hungry lot ... as elephants tend to be.

As you walk amongst these giants, you gain a deep respect and are in awe of them as you realise their size, strength and intelligence. The special bond that exists between these elephants and their mahoots is a sight to behold.

After this walk (about an hour or more), we head back to the camp house where we settle in for a vegan buffet lunch. Great selection and really tasty local food. There is always water, coffee, tea, juices and fruits on offer. There are also lockers to store your valuables. Lunch is served on the upstairs terrace which offers a great view of the valley and surrounding hills.

After lunch we set out for another walk and join the elephants. We then make herbal food balls for the elephants and then proceed to feed them those. The elephants lap them up in seconds. We then walk back with them to camp.

Once at camp, we are technically supposed to bathe them in a river. However, since it had been raining quite a bit during the previous days, the waters were rough and the rivers was overflowing so we went instead to a small stream where we will out buckets with water and bathed the elephants. They seemed to enjoy it all at times and at other times they were looking to their mahoots for more food :)

After that we were supposed to have a small session of rafting across the river to get back to our ride. However, as explained earlier, it was deemed unsafe and we all were given a chance to sit back and have some tea after which we all hopped into our rides and went back to the hotel.

Overall a very positive experience. The rescued elephants did seem happy and lived as a family with the mahoots, etc. They lived and ate well, and were allowed to be elephants.

Date of experience: August 2022
1  Thank nkhianey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2022 via mobile

We went with a small tour to Hope for Elephants Chiang Mai. There are 4 rescued elephants in the wild. We were able to feed them, follow them as they were eating, give them a mud bath and feed them again. It was a great day including making elephant snacks and our own lunch. Which was delicious. The trip took us from 8:00 to around 16:00 from door to door. We paid about 8,000 Baht for two adults and three kids.

It was a very special experience, one we will not soon forget!

Tip: wear water shoes or old shoes and old clothes. The mud does not get out of your clothes!

Date of experience: August 2022
2  Thank 369henrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews