We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chiang Mai
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Don't Miss This Experience

We visited the Elephant Nature Park on a Short Day visit. If you're going to Thailand and want an... read more

Reviewed yesterday
KristenL12886
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Elephant Habitat

A wonderful day out with the elephants in their natural habitat. Totally cruelty-free and well... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mactavs1
via mobile
Read all 10,892 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $57.64
More Info
from $88.15
More Info
from $64.42
More Info
from $47.47
More Info
Reviews (10,892)
Filter reviews
10,892 results
Traveler rating
9,647
861
260
61
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9,647
861
260
61
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats vegetarian buffet water buffalo street begging rescued elephants day trip ride elephants their lives amazing experience these beautiful creatures watermelon overnight stay life changing experience these gentle giants asian elephants eye opening elephant experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 10,892 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2019 via mobile

The name of the camp where we went is ‘Sunshine for elephants.’ It was a bucket list experience. As many reviews point out, it can be a life changing experience to feed, bathe, and walk with elephants. These are animals rescued from abusive situations such as being trained to carry people on their backs (painful and stressful), perform or beg and do tricks, haul logs, and do other hard labor. They are learning to trust humans. We were with 3 very sweet females. Don’t miss this.
NOTES: you will get in the river up to chest level so be sure to empty pockets and bring a full set of dry clothes including underwear.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank lorir604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Picked up at our hostel in an air conditioned van. 12 people in our group, all very friendly and fun to get to know. Our guide, Bobby Jay, knew so much about the elephants and was very willing to take lots of pictures. You started with a hike with the elephants while feeding them bananas and sugar cane, then had a vegetarian lunch on a cliff side patio, then make the elephants rice balls and chopped watermelons and jackfruit. You then feed the elephants (again) and take them bathing in the river (we got so wet! but it felt great). Then you raft back to the main camp. It was a lovely experience with 3 female elephants, and they were committed to very ethical treatment. This trip is for people who are able to hike without issue.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank mjfpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

We chose this trip because I liked the idea of supporting people through ethical tourism so that they wouldn’t have to make money with elephants in other ways. We did not go to ENP but rather a plot of land in the forest owned by a local Karen and lived on by the mahout. The trip exceeded my expectations! It was intimate with only about 12 of us, our guide Meow, the mahout, and the caretaker of the elephants (I don’t remember his name). The most fantastic part was spending all day with the four month old elephants Heng Heng who was a spunky little lady who could be a little naughty at times. Also there was her mom and her “nanny.” It was beautiful to see the love and connection between the three. Nothing the elephants did seemed pressured. They were coaxed to the water area by some treats, but then seemed to be in heaven splashing around in the water and later in the mud. Meow was a phenomenal tour guide and was always able to answer any question she was asked and provide lots of interesting details. You can tell that all who were involved truly love the elephants. I wasn’t feeling very well due to some adventurous eating the night before and both Meow and the caretaker took time to check in with me and offered me an electrolyte drink to help me feel better. Book this trip! You will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank amandaaP5732ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

We booked a Elephant Trails course, one of their saddle off programs, through ENP and the entire experience was breathtaking.

We were lucky to feed, walk, mud bath and regular bath with four beautiful elephant ladies ranging from 5 years to 45 years of age. Despite having a life of difficulty the elephants were so cheeky, gentle and absolutely adorable; it is so nice to support a program that encourages former riding experience to embrace more natural way of tending to their elephants.

We left muddy and so content to have shared such a special day with such magnificent creatures it was definitely an experience we would recommend.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank tamsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

I really enjoyed my visit here. The park is a little over an hours drive from Chiang Mai (depending on traffic) and is well worth the trip. It is really heart warming to see how they have helped not only elephants but also dogs and cats. It was a fantastic experience to be out near the elephants, we were brought out twice into the park once in the morning just after we arrived and then after lunch. You get to see the elephants been feed (and you get the opportunity to do this when you first arrive) and then see them play in the mud and in the local steam. There are also buffalo wandering around the park, they are from local villages and help keep the grass under control. The majority of the elephants are rescued and you can see what a toll their hard life before arriving at the park has taken on their bodies and for a few also the physiological impact. The one that impacted me the most was the elephant that had stepped on a land mine. The staff there were excellent and brief you very well in what to do and not to do and each elephant had a guide as well so they can give you extra instructions. Overall a fantastic experience and definitely a highlight of my visit to Chiang Mai

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews