We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Elephant Nature Park tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from $65.60
More Info
from $65.60
More Info
from $60.68
More Info
from $26.24
More Info
Reviews (10,219)
Filter reviews
10,219 results
Traveler rating
9,046
822
244
56
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,046
822
244
56
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dogs and cats vegetarian buffet water buffalo street begging rescued elephants day trip heart breaking ride elephants their lives amazing experience these beautiful creatures overnight stay life changing experience watermelon these gentle giants asian elephants eye opening
Filter
Updating list...
6,069 - 6,074 of 10,219 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Can't recommend this enough. We loved getting up close and personal with elephants in a relaxed and ethical setting. The elephants seemed truly peaceful and happy here, despite their often horrific histories. Broken legs, broken backs, human-caused blindness, landmine injuries...it's hard to hear how these elephants once lived.

Kudos to the staff at the Elephant Nature Park for the exceptional care they provide these animals, and for the unique education this park provides for tourists.

Date of experience: January 2014
4  Thank CinnamonBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Another satisfied customer. It really lives up to expectations and more. We were collected at our Hotel and escorted to the camp, by the wonderful Bee Bee who really had the briefing down to a fine art. Funny and informative she was always on hand to explain an Elephants history, mostly harrowing stories of abuse by the previous owners, and ready with a smile or even to take a photograph for you. The camp is nestled amongst some of the most wonderful scenery and the day is very well orchestrated to ensure that you feel part of a small group, rather than being amongst one large one. Although there were over a 100 visitors on the day we arrived, we never really saw everyone together except for lunch which was excellent. There is a screening of a documentary after lunch, which sadly was only attended by about 25-30 of the group, you really have to see this, as it shows how the locals break the spririt of the Elephant. Its cruel beyond words, but each and everyone of the Elephants that are taking tourists around on their backs has had to go through that. If you really want to ride on an Elephant, nothing I write will stop you, but I bet that there are not many who would do so, after visiting this wonderful Park.

Date of experience: February 2014
3  Thank AdrianinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Premise: if you don't care about elephants and if you are only looking for a good time, then grow a conscience and try again.
If, on the other hand you do love elephants and care for their well-being, then read on.
I have read the reviews about the ENP before and after visiting it.
Traveling in SE Asia, I was looking for an opportunity to come close to these beautiful animals in a "sanctuary" and not in a amusement park: a place where elephants are rescued, protected, respected and cared for.
After a lot of research I found ENP to be the only place in the Chiang Mai area that met my requirements, at least on paper.
After my visit at ENP, I can say that this place IS a sanctuary and that they DO rescue elephants from a life of exploitation and abuse, and they give them a good life.
Obviously to finance the park they have to "use" the elephants to attract tourists, visitors and volunteers and generate revenues.
The park has 2 parts: the inner, sanctuary part, where you have full and part time residents (carers, volunteers, vets etc), and then you have the touristic part, made of guides, drivers, vans, trips from Chiang Mai, website, bookings, the gift shop and hoards of tourists being shuffled around and taking turns following a set routine.
If you love these beautiful gentle giants, if you care for them, if you want to learn about them, meet them, caress them, etc, then ENP is the right place for you, but you have to be understanding, patient and have realistic expectations from your visit at the park. You have to accept being part of the hoard of tourists that is visiting the park during the same day. The ENP people, based on my experience, make sure that everybody gets his or her chance to get close to the elephants, touch them, feed them and wash them. But everything must happen following a routine.
I strongly recommend the ENP and I think very highly of what they do there.
If you would like to know more, search for the documentary "the elephant whisperer".

Date of experience: January 2014
2  Thank logube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

You get to frolic with Elephants all day, relax in a 200 acre nature preserve, eat good vegetarian food, and support elephant rescue and rehabilitation. Nothing not to like. Make sure you plan in advance because they fill up quickly as they have the best reputation in elephant care in Chiang Mai.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Jellawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the ENP for 1 week as volunteers and enjoyed every moment of it! We felt like we really got to know the elephants and had a great experience while knowing that they were not being mistreated. The jobs we were asked to help with varied, but included picking up elephant poop, cutting grass, collecting bamboo, potting plants, chopping fruit, building saftey barriers, etc. We also got to help wash the elephants in the river if we wanted to. There is no way that I would ever want to ride an elephant or buy an elephant painting or see an elephant in a circus after this - for many reasons, but also because nothing could beat this elephant experience.
Be prepared to get dirty and eat vegetarian food for a week though! Also if you are interested in helping with the dog shelter that operates at the same sight you would stay at the park for cheaper and still get to see the elephants every day - they are walking around with you as you take the puppies for walks!

Date of experience: January 2014
2  Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews